We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Beautiful. Lovely Room Decor!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2007

This hotel has just completed renovations on the rooms. The rooms are great! The rooms are French Provencial theme with black/white decor and nice extras like fireplaces/flatscreens T.V.'s/nice shampoo, etc. The rooms are just beautiful and simply breathtaking..... however, the outside looks like a normal hotel. I would suspect that they are going to do outside hotel renovations next. Do not be fooled by the normal outside decor that looks like a Motel 6; the inside decor is awesome like a 4 star hotel. This hotel is one of the first ones as you drive into Solvang and is within walking distance to downtown. A great location to all! There is also a great store about 5 feet away for any extras that you forget (like water or snacks).

The staff is friendly and i will stay here again. No more Chumash Casino!!!

Great job Hadsten House!

p.s. my ONLY complaint is that is this hotel is stated as a spa. I emailed the hotel several times to inquire about spa services and no one responded. We ended up booking a different hotel for the 2nd night in the area b/c we really wanted a massage. So, check your emails Hadsten House! Overall, great though.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Venturagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2007

the hotel was newly remodeled and my room looked like a makeover bedroom of a HGTV show! it was fabulous. it didn't feel like a hotel at all but like the beautiful master suite w/ bathroom i always wanted. the staff was very nice.
breakfast was served a block away at a bakery. while the staff there lacked any interest in their customers, the food was very good.

i was on a business trip, but i will come back w/ my husband to enjoy this beautiful place.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank sonoma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Somewhat plain (but VERY clean) from the outside we were very surprised when we opened our door to see the brand new room decorated with upscale appointments, bedding and decor. The room was decorated with much thought and was full of upgraded items such as the granite counter top in the bathroom, cherry armoire to store all our luggage, fireplace, large flat-screen plasma tv, high-quality bedding & custom-made bedspread (we found that out when we asked where we could purchase one). The room also included a comfy couch, coffee table and desk. The front-desk staff was very accommodating and friendly. Located on the main street in Solvang, we were only 1/2 block from all the shopping. If we every go to Solvang again the Hadsten House will be the only hotel we will stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SmilinMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Stayed: November 2007
Thank fox7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank CBGirlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brinie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

I am in total agreement with the last two reviews, although I think they were generous. Photos and text on this hotel's website would lead you to believe that this is a luxury hotel with spa. The website indicated that their refurbishing would be complete mid-Sept (later modified to say mid-Oct), but when we arrived on 10/20 it was a shambles. Half the rooms are still at studs. There is no lobby, only a desk amid construction debris. No pool, no hot tub, no spa, no evening wine tasting. Nothing! We paid $265 per night for a small room with a fake fireplace - and they weren't very apologetic about it. Luckily they were not working on the construction during the weekend, but we were awoken Monday morning at 7 am by a cement mixer working right outside our window. Lovely!

In my opinion, this hotel is verging on fraud in their advertising. Don't go!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ltobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £89 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing