We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the Santa Ynez Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the Santa Ynez Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked the Hadsten based on Trip Advisor reviews and they were definitely right on. It's a very nice place. The rooms have all been updated and have a hip feel to them. There is great wifi and a large HDTV in the room. Also, if you're in the Valley for wine tasting (as we were), the hotel will give you coupons for free and reduced tastings. The rooms come with a full buffet breakfast which is very hearty (eggs, bacon, potatoes etc - but no Danish pastries.) Only concern that we had was that there wasn't enough staff in the restaurant to handle the busy breakfast period and food wasn't replinished on the buffet very quickly leaving people with empty plates...but this was a minor point. We'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CACAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    303
    89
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
503
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here with my family, we were doing a Santa Barbara vacation but couldn't find a decent room there due to Fiesta so we decided to spend some time in Solvang to start our trip. We decided on the Hadsten House largely based on other TripAdvisor reviews.

First, to Solvang itself. It's a fun little Danish-themed community about 45 minutes outside Santa Barbara in the Santa Ynez mountains. Some things definitely come off as kitschy, but we spent 3 days there and loved the ambience, the cleanliness and how safe and pedestrian-friendly it was. Definitely a good place for a couples weekend, but also fun for families with smaller kids.

Next, to The Hadsten House itself. The Hadsten House is an updated two story motel right on the edge of Solvang. They've done a really nice job with the landscaping and the room decoe, but at the end of the day it's still a motel facility. With that in mind, we really enjoyed our stay. We were on the ground floor and heard a bit of movement from the room above us, but the whole hotel seemed pretty quiet by 10 p.m. or so and we slept well every night. Parking can get tight with full (or close to) occupancy, but we always managed to get a space near our room.

The breakfast wasn't amazing, and seating can be tough when you get there later and the hotel is full, but we usually ended up at one of the local Danish bakeries instead of or in addition to the Hadsten House breakfast. The staff was incredible, they accommodated all our requests and even gave us a couple free stamps for postcards we were mailing. Internet access was spotty, but they do have free wi-fi when it was working.

I highly recommend Solvang, and if you're staying there I highly recommend the Hadsten House. It is what it is, but they make the most out of what it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Counterweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This Hotel is at 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 . You are 2 Blocks from the Town Square. We checked in under "The Management Special" which was 100.00
a night. Stayed in room 102. Nice, clean, pretty dated, Beds were Queens, but they should have flipped the Mattresses, lots of comfortable Pillows. We ate at the Hotel one Night. Good food , Wife and I shared the Steak , the Staff seamed lost, had a time getting service, went back for Breakfast the next Morning and that was a Fiasco, they were really understaffed then. when we go back in the Fall we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book Online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnE435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Since our first visit to Solvang on our honeymoon 40+ years ago, we've returned many times. However, this was our first time staying at the Hadsten House. From that vantage, we are able to compare it to what else the town has to offer. Everything about the place is top notch from the front desk lounge area to the large dining room to the indoor pool to the immaculate room. The staff was friendly and efficient. The full breakfast was very satisfying. It was nice not having to jockey for a free table in a crowded little room which is the case most other places. Absentmindedly we left a couple items behind. After getting our call, the items were located in their lost & found & FedExed to our home. We will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilburCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I just returned from my second stay at the Hadsten House and it was quite disappointing. The front desk staff appeared highly inexperienced and struggled with basic questions (i.e which direction is Los Olivos?) This, however, pales in comparison to the rude woman in the breakfast room. That place is a joke - don't bother trying to have breakfast there. Its poorly run and understaffed with dirty dishes occupying many of the tables. Gross! We ended up going to Solvang Restaurant for aebleskivers (Danish specialty) instead. And they were yummy!

This was my second stay at Hadsten and most certainly the last. Between the bad customer service and sketchy stains on the carpet, you could not pay me to stay here. I had much better experience at Hotel Corque. It's pricier but the old adage is true - you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestsideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

For our one-night stay lots was great: the cleanliness, the lovely decor, the delicious breakfast, the quietness. Also good: though the bathroom window did not operate correctly, the maintenance man was there to fix it within 2 hours -- timely and friendly response. One big negative: the internet connection did not work and we really needed it. Though the ladies at the front desk seemed surprised at this, a gentleman that works at Hadsten (behind the front desk, but I don't know his name) told us this happens a lot: "here in our valley, we are Comcast step-children." So if internet connection is important to you be careful. Interestingly, the end result was that we tapped into the unprotected WiFi connection from the Holiday Inn Express just across the street! So the statement about "the valley," well, we just don't know. If internet connection isn't important to you, this sweet little motel will be great for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a nice motel in Solvang. We spent a weekend winetasting in the Santa Ynez Valley, so this was a perfect jumping off point. This property is essentially a motel layout- 2 story, park right in front of your room. The location is more on the edge of town, but it is an easy, flat stroll to the center of town.

Despite the "motel" layout, the rooms are nicely furnished and the property does offer a nice restaurant, indoor pool and spa. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast- eggs/bacon/potatoes/fruit, although there were no danishes? (Solvang is full of great Danish bakeries!!)

Another nice amenity for gamblers is that they have a free hourly shuttle to the nearby Chumash Casino.

All in all, a clean, nice property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing