We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great....”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Nice decor, indoor pool, attractive town in beautiful location. So far, so good. Unfortunately the service we received from the young staff was sullen and grudging at best. Considering that the hotel is surrounded by Danish bakeries what a shame breakfast was not elevated by inclusion of some pastries.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow you to park directly outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I visited Solvang as a child many years ago, and always remembered the town and its many bakeries. I thought this would be a nice place for an overnight stay after leaving the Hearst Castle, on our way to LA. I booked Hadsten House based on location, price, and Tripadvisor recommendations. The property acceded our expectations. Although this was an older, exterior-door motel property, the rooms were decorated with a surprising amount of style, and included a gas fireplace, which was a welcome touch. We were at the edge of downtown, making it very convenient to walk around that evening and the following morning. After looking at pretty much every restaurant in town, we ended up having dinner at the hotel estuarine, which had a nice selection and very friendly service. All of the staff were exceedingly pleasant, and the room was impeccable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here one night on our way to Monterey. The place was unique. The room was extremely clean and very updated. Very quiet and close to the old town attractions. The place was very charming and comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was very good. Service was excellent. Great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked the Hadsten based on Trip Advisor reviews and they were definitely right on. It's a very nice place. The rooms have all been updated and have a hip feel to them. There is great wifi and a large HDTV in the room. Also, if you're in the Valley for wine tasting (as we were), the hotel will give you coupons for free and reduced tastings. The rooms come with a full buffet breakfast which is very hearty (eggs, bacon, potatoes etc - but no Danish pastries.) Only concern that we had was that there wasn't enough staff in the restaurant to handle the busy breakfast period and food wasn't replinished on the buffet very quickly leaving people with empty plates...but this was a minor point. We'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CACAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here with my family, we were doing a Santa Barbara vacation but couldn't find a decent room there due to Fiesta so we decided to spend some time in Solvang to start our trip. We decided on the Hadsten House largely based on other TripAdvisor reviews.

First, to Solvang itself. It's a fun little Danish-themed community about 45 minutes outside Santa Barbara in the Santa Ynez mountains. Some things definitely come off as kitschy, but we spent 3 days there and loved the ambience, the cleanliness and how safe and pedestrian-friendly it was. Definitely a good place for a couples weekend, but also fun for families with smaller kids.

Next, to The Hadsten House itself. The Hadsten House is an updated two story motel right on the edge of Solvang. They've done a really nice job with the landscaping and the room decoe, but at the end of the day it's still a motel facility. With that in mind, we really enjoyed our stay. We were on the ground floor and heard a bit of movement from the room above us, but the whole hotel seemed pretty quiet by 10 p.m. or so and we slept well every night. Parking can get tight with full (or close to) occupancy, but we always managed to get a space near our room.

The breakfast wasn't amazing, and seating can be tough when you get there later and the hotel is full, but we usually ended up at one of the local Danish bakeries instead of or in addition to the Hadsten House breakfast. The staff was incredible, they accommodated all our requests and even gave us a couple free stamps for postcards we were mailing. Internet access was spotty, but they do have free wi-fi when it was working.

I highly recommend Solvang, and if you're staying there I highly recommend the Hadsten House. It is what it is, but they make the most out of what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Counterweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This Hotel is at 1450 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93436 . You are 2 Blocks from the Town Square. We checked in under "The Management Special" which was 100.00
a night. Stayed in room 102. Nice, clean, pretty dated, Beds were Queens, but they should have flipped the Mattresses, lots of comfortable Pillows. We ate at the Hotel one Night. Good food , Wife and I shared the Steak , the Staff seamed lost, had a time getting service, went back for Breakfast the next Morning and that was a Fiasco, they were really understaffed then. when we go back in the Fall we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book Online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnE435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Since our first visit to Solvang on our honeymoon 40+ years ago, we've returned many times. However, this was our first time staying at the Hadsten House. From that vantage, we are able to compare it to what else the town has to offer. Everything about the place is top notch from the front desk lounge area to the large dining room to the indoor pool to the immaculate room. The staff was friendly and efficient. The full breakfast was very satisfying. It was nice not having to jockey for a free table in a crowded little room which is the case most other places. Absentmindedly we left a couple items behind. After getting our call, the items were located in their lost & found & FedExed to our home. We will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilburCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#5 of 11 in Solvang
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £93 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing