We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great by any means”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Let me start this review out by saying the Hadsten House is probably one of the best lodging options in Solvang. Unfortunately, that's not saying much because the lodging in Solvang is terrible. Most everything is old, run down, and way over priced. For whatever reason, demand is high and everybody can command a premium, regardless of the quality of their rooms. No one has much incentive to invest in their properties because they can bring in money hand over first, even with sub-par accommodations. Sooner or later, though, demand is going to fall as the baby boomers start traveling less and Solvang finds itself still catering to a declining clientele. But I digress...

Hadsten House is a solid place to stay in Solvang, but at it's heart, it's basically just a nicely renovated old motel. The rooms are small and uninspiring, and you can't quite escape the feeling that you're staying in... well, a glorified motel. On the plus side, it's clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was great. But that's about where it stops. When you think about the $200+ dollars per night it costs, I can't help but think of the many much much nicer hotels I've stayed at in NYC, San Diego, Chicago for a fraction of the cost. So for me, the value proposition just isn't there. Sadly, you will be hard pressed to find better in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smitty413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hadsten House for two nights and we absolutely loved it! It was very nice and clean. We loved everything about the room. We will definitely only stay here on our next visit.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Angelina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We bought their play package for a Thursday night which included two tix for the play at the outdoor theatre in Solvang, a night's stay, breakfast and a $50 credit toward dinner. The cost was $221, a really good deal. The play was great, the room was very satisfactory and quiet, the buffet breakfast was excellent. So what about dinner? The food was very good to excellent. However, we had a party of 12 and thyey just could not seem to get their act together insofar as getting the orders correct. The orders got really screwed up, the food did not come out at the same time, about 5-7 minutes between the first and last order coming out and we wsaited inordinately long before the orders started to arrive. Parties of 2 - 4 seemed to get their orders correctly and in many cases quite a bit before us even though we had our orders placed before they did. If they had gotten the orders correct and beeen able to get the orders out in a more timely fashion, I would give them a 5. They only have a beer and wine license, but that did not bother us, although some in our party would have liked to have had a cocktail before dinner. We were on the first floor and did not hear any noise from above. The hotel is about an 8-10 minute easy walk to the theatre and there is a convenience market next door that sells wine, beer and miscellaneous snacks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prsd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Ever since we first stayed here 4 years ago, this is the only place we book in Solvang. Yes it looks like a motel from the outside but once you see the property you'll be pleasantly surprised! The rooms are nicely decorated and there even is a pool and jacuzzi. They offer a complimentary breakfast that seems better than most of the restaurants nearby so save your money and stay here to eat. The food is very good and is buffet style. The restaurant is surprisingly good for dinner if you don't want to venture out. The local scallops are wonderful! The service at this hotel has always been excellent. The rooms are clean and for this area this is our favorite place to stay. The pool is indoor and the jacuzzi is just outside the pool area which also has a nice fireplace. This a great place to enjoy your wines from wine tasting and grab some cheese from the local cheese shop. The location is great for wine tasting as you have many options. A must stop is Rusack just up the road as well as Roblar. Rusack is great if you want to have a picnic while tasting some fine wine on their beautiful patio and enjoy the view of all the vines. Roblar has a beautiful property as well. Last time we were there they offered wine pairing meals if you call in advance. This hotel is right on the main street (Mission Dr.) for this small town so walking to the shops is right down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away form the street. Property is located on Mission which gets busy. The king room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1porterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I really enjoyed staying here. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was very helpful! THe hotel was walking distance to everything in the town. My only complaint would be that some guests seemed to forget that they were at a hotel and their voices could be heard by other guests. The front desk was very helpful in asking them to be quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAG1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I really appreciated Hadsten House Hotel, it was very affordable, nice clean room, and breakfast included (which was surprisingly good), we stayed Sunday night on a higher room and it was a good choice because the hotel wasn't very crowded and you don't want to listen footsteps in a lower room.The hotel is located just two blocks from Downtown Solvang, we walked to have dinner (as I said very close to the shops and restaurants) and if you want to visit the wineries you'll be there in 15 mins. There's also a market across the street from the hotel where you can find water and snacks. We would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octavio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Hadsten House. This was a spur of the moment trip for my husband's birthday. I actually tried to book a room at two other hotels in the area, but they were all booked up. So then I remembered Hadsten House and sure enough they had a room available and they even had a special rate for the night, so I booked it. Again, the stay was great and even came with a complimentary breakfast. The food was even better than our last stay. Overall it was a great bargain at $99.00! This is a great place to stay if visiting the Solvang area....conveniently located to all the wineries and restaurants and the Casino!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 490JanetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £89 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing