We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely find”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as an early valentines trip with my husband! The outside of the building was very unassuming but we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the lobby and rooms were! Nice and spacious with a romantic fireplace ! Very clean and decorated very tasteful! The restaurant was amazing we ended up eating tHere two of the three nights we stayed there! Overall a great experience and would definatly recommend this place to anyone! We will most definatly be staying there again on our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    306
    90
    27
    17
See reviews for
142
508
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during a Road Scholar Wine Tasting Tour...my room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was perfect for me, not a lot of variety, but hot and tasty! We had 2 dinners for our group at the Bistro, and they were very good!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyKMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Loved the location; no need to get in the car as you can walk to anywhere in the center of Solvang. Hotel was modern and nicely decorated. Bed was very comfortable and this is a big deal for me. Fireplace made it cozy and homey even though it is operated by a push of a button, it still lent to nice ambience. Rooms are large and easy to move around. Only one drawer each for two people so if you were staying longer than 1 or 2 days, it would be insufficient. Staff are professional, but could add in smiling. Check in and out was smooth. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVerne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stopped in Solvang for a 1 night stay over. Our plan was to break up the drive to Monterey. I found Hadsten House has a comfortable home feel. The rooms are decorated well with a modern flare. Our room had a nice looking fireplace that wasnt really, but gave a good ambiance. You are in walking distant to all the stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadieLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here half way through January of 2013 and it is a very cute Hotel. It is really nicely decorated and the room was pretty big! The bathroom was very new and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the fireplace, even though it isn't real, it was pretty nice to have one considering how cold and rainy it was that weekend!
Our only problem we had here..... we think the walls may be a little too thin for comfort, I'll explain.
We got to our room on a Saturday evening at approximately 7 p.m. We hung out in the room and unpacked and relaxed for a bit before going out to dinner. We were watching Harry Potter on TV and playing Candy Crush on the phone (yeah we are so romantic..... lol). We left the room at approximately 8 p.m and didn't return till about 11 to 11:30. We had a note on the door from management advising us to keep the noise down or we'd have to leave. Talk about a romance killer.... it made the rest of the stay pretty uncomfortable.
The breakfast was very good, we ate bacon for days and we had no issues with that.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The room boasted an interestingly artistic decor consisting of a vintage modern blend. The bed was comfortable, albeit the pillows seemed stiff at first, but after a bit of use they warmed up to us. There is a couch in the room that looks as though it was picked up from a tag sale and sits out of place with the rest of the decor. The bathroom was clean and gave the feeling as though I was in my newly renovated master suite. There was also an electric faux fireplace that gave out a hint of heat through its small vent.

The front desk was a young crew, but very helpful. While waiting for our wine tour bus, one young lady offered some directions to a couple of hikes I asked about. They have a full sheet of local winery tasting room discounts and comps, but I had to ask for that, so make sure you do the same. There is a general store abutting the Inn (we got a foam cooler and ice for our leftovers for the road) and there's Paula's Pancake House, a 5 minute walk down the road (see that review.) The Inn is situated perfectly for walks throughout the town.

PROS: $99 mid week nightly rate ("Manager's Special'), wine tour package is a great value $290 for 2 people and includes room. Modern and comfortable, flat screen TV, very small fridge, historic rotary-like room phone (just have to try it out), complimentary breakfast, amazing bistro on site. The air conditioner was in the bathroom, but worked well throughout the night and the sound was calming and consistent without any real loud clicking when shutting on/off.

CONS: Electric fireplace made a loud buzzing sound so we couldn't use it. They sent maintenance out to troubleshoot, but when we returned later in the day it was still running and not fixed. They did not follow up with us about that issue. The carpet in the room was stained quite a bit.

Dine in the bistro at least one night, it was excellent (see that review).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The room was simple but nice. Good beds, ample pillows. Located at the end of the main road, but still close to everything. Unheated pool. Decent buffet but, there was no bread both times I went. Also, there is a corner store at the end of the parking lot for snacks, water, etc. I would consider renting here again if I return to Solvang.

Room Tip: The onsite restaurant was a little pricey for the type of food served but, it tasted good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing