We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend Hadsten House, Solvang”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
anahiem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Hadsten House, Solvang”
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We had a great experience at our recent stay at the Hadsten House, in Solvang. From the time of booking the room, to check-in /check out, we had a completely positive experience. The Inn is new & the guest room was decorated quite nicely. The restaurant was lovely & I we had the best dinner of our entire vacation which also included Monterey & Carmel. The Staff was friendly & helpful.

The facility & experience exceeded our expectations & we will not hesitate to recommend it to others. We give the Hadsten House a 10 rating for one of the best. Thank you.

  • Liked — Guest rooms were attractive & well appointed. Food terrific.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything we did not like.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dravath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    309
    93
    28
    17
See reviews for
149
519
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here Oct. 24-26th for a wine country weekend, and we were very pleased with Hadsten House. From the moment we stepped into the room, we thought we were in a luxery hotel in Europe! It had a beautiful armoire for a closet that also had robes, a small fridge, Ironing board and iron. A lovely desk with a charming old world phone, a fleur-de-lis chair, flat screen tv, dvd player, romantic fireplace, and a beautiful bathroom with pampering amenities. The bed and linens were comfy and we enjoyed the whole atmosphere. The wine and cheese reception in the evening was great, as well as the wonderful breakfast in the morning. I would also recommend eating at the Los Olivos Cafe in Los Olivos and Brother's Restaurant at Mattei's Tavern in Los Olivos. Mattei's Tavern was built in the 1800's and use to be an old stage coach stop. The trout was to die for! It was a wonderful weekend and I highly recommend Hadsten House to all.

  • Liked — Luxury accomadations
  • Disliked — Looks like a motel on the outside but is amazing inside
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We stayed at the Hadsten House Inn in October of 2008. What a find! The property is recently completely renovated, and is wonderful. The rooms were clean, modern (fireplace, large LCD TV, wonderful bathroom and great comfortable bed). The restaurant had a complimentary wine and cheese offering each day. We booked the dinner package with our room, and had a wonderful meal in their restaurant. The next morning we discovered the hotel also offered free, delicious, hot breakfast. This place was a bargain with the room alone. Throw in happy hour, free breakfast and an affordable dinner package-- we will be back for sure. Hotel also had a large hot-tub and pool, but we did not try them out.

  • Liked — Value, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Check in was smooth and easy and were in our room within a couple of minutes. The room was quite modern and had a great TV, comfortable beds and plenty of space throughout. The room was clean and tidy. There was no issue with noise from adjoining rooms or from the road at all.

Be aware that everything closes early in Solvang, so if you’re wanting to eat after 9pm, the only thing we were told that was open and that we could find, was one Chinese restaurant which did really nice food at a reasonable price.

In conclusion, a nice hotel that had plenty of space and everything we needed, with a good free breakfast and wi-fi access from the room – if anything, we spent one too many nights here as we did everything Solvang had to offer and got quite bored.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsDinkyDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a night to celebrate our 25th anniversary. From the first communication I had with Michael to check out today the whole experience was what you always hope for when booking a hotel you've never been to before. The hotel is exactly as pictured on the website (how rare is that?) We booked the one night stay with dinner for the off-season price of $178. What a deal that turned out to be with the fabulous 3 course dinner, wine and cheese in the afternoon and the hot breakfast in the morning. I even felt comfortable enough to walk around barefoot in the room! I would definitely refer this hotel to my best friend and even to my mother-in-law! If you're visiting Solvang.....THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!

  • Liked — The quality of the furnishings, the restaurant, the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed here during a week-long autumn drive up the coast from LA area to SF. Our stay at was perfect in every way. Newly renovated, and my compliments to whomever designed the rooms. Every possible details was considered and implemented, from the layout of the bathroom, to the coffee/tea in room, to the TV, fireplace, bottled water, etc. We arrived in time for the complimentary wine and cheese/fruit snacks at the bar, then walked around in town and did some wine tasting. Then we returned and I lounged by the pool with a book, and took a dip in the hot-tub when the sun went down and it got cool. We had a wonderful seafood dinner at the on-site restaurant, which is excellent, and then my husband and I enjoyed the hot-tub again, as well as the ambiance of the outdoor patio and gas fireplaces. The included breakfast is extremely substantial and we left wishing we hadn't have eaten so much! The staff is friendly and professional. The night we were there, a Monday, a bus tour of senior citizens was also there - and their large motorcoach idled quite loudly outside our room where it was parked for over an hour in the morning as they loaded up and departed. That was really unpleasant to listen to - management, can you ask the coach to park elsewhere in the future? Besides that, it was perfect.

  • Liked — Price, details in rooms, newness, cleanliness, friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — Tour bus parked outside our room.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VAbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Picked the hotel, because it was #1 on the Tripadvisor Index.
We had a fantastic stay, great room, great staff. On returning home our 18 year old daugther voted it Best Hotel This Vacation and we agreed even the competition was tough.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing