We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price, clean room”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fair price, clean room”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Reasonably priced, large clean hotel room with free wifi. Comfortable, but somewhat dark rooms (the only window faces the walkway, so if you want privacy you need to keep the blinds closed). Included a standard eggs and potatoes breakfast in the morning, though I suspect you could find nice pastries and better coffee at one of the local bakeries. All in all I'd be happy to stay here again on our next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Seemed that all rooms face the parking lot. Its just the design of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petunia189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    309
    93
    28
    17
See reviews for
152
521
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious. Location is convenient, yet quiet. Staff is friendly. Parking is somewhat limited but fine. Only complaint: breakfast was exactly the same 3 mornings in a row, including Saturday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlininwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Solvang-- what to say... Beautiful little town north of Santa Barbara that is a total tourist trap in the summer time. We stayed in Solvang for two nights and booked Hadsten House for both nights based on reviews. Hadsten was a little more expensive that the other options but we were glad we went with this hotel. Other people in our group went with some of the cheaper accommodations in Solvang and those hotels were some of the most run down and pathetic places I have ever seen.

Hadsten feel like a luxury hotel once in the rooms-- the linens were clean and higher end and the rooms have been remodeled to look very upscale. The bathroom had a granite top and there was very unique and decorative furniture that finished the look of the room.

They also provide a very nice breakfast every day-- a hot breakfast with bacon, eggs, potatoes and other foods. This is very nice as Solvang's breakfast lines can be in the hour+ wait category.

The pool was inside but there is a hot tub and lounge area that is outside.

Nothing bad to say about Hadsten House-- I'd stay again!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms away from the road were the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinzCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel room was tastefully decorated with a comfortable enough bed and sitting area. There is an indoor pool, and a sitting area beside outdoor fireplaces in the spa area. We had a room upstairs, in the back so it was away from traffic noise. It came with a tasty breakfast that offered bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, toast, fruit, cereals and coffee. I was disappointed that they did not offer the famous Solvang pastries. It was fine for the price. Used AAA for a good discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne22725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was comfortable. The bed was great. We liked that we had a bath tub. The window shutters allowed for morning sleeping in, as we were not overcome by the morning sun. We ate dinner one night at their. Restaurant. The food was good, well prepared and presented. We noticed some other people eating hamburgers that were large enough to challenge taking a bite. The room was dark and not fancy. We had tickets for the theater so it was perfect for us. This hotel is located on the main road at one of town. We walked to the outdoor theater. Took about 10 to 15 minutes. The touristy part of town started just after the next corner. For us it was perfect. Pleasant room and good location. Although the Inn sits on the main road which can get quite busy especially on weekends, our room was very quiet.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The rooms at the Hadsten house are tastefully decorated, the beds comfortable. We have enjoyed the pool and the jacuzzi area with outdoor fireplaces. The hotel is within walking distance of all shops and restaurants in Solvang. Breakfast is generous and very good. A great value, especially for families feeding a bunch of kids.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor rooms. Sound insulation not the best so second floor offers the best guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The Hadsten House is a great place to stay. The rooms were good sized and very comfortable. It's location is at the edge of town, but within walking distance of everything. Don't miss having dinner at their restarurant (great food). Clean, A/C worked well, quiet, and hotel staff was very friendly. During peak season I can see that parking could be tight.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
4.0 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Property: Hadsten House
Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing