We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lunch”
Review of Belgian Cafe

Belgian Cafe
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Solvang
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Sierra Vista
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here and was very pleasantly surprised. We both ordered tri tip sandwiches, tangy coleslaw, ranch beans and French fries for $9.99! What a deal. It was excellent, service was great and quick. This meal was a lot cheaper than most places. Give this place a try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jhurd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    72
    24
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The pastries were great.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We just had pastries here. They were very good and the atmosphere was great. I felt that the place was very clean and well worth visiting again if we go back to Solvang. We had the Ableskivers or should I say Danish Dougnuts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Belgian Cafe in Solvang has been our go to breakfast stop for years. The crepes and Belgian waffles are delicious. I dream about the cheese blinzes in between trips and we plan our travels to go through Solvang as often as possible just for a meal here. The staff is always attentive and the service fast. They fresh squeeze the orange juice and have excellent standard breakfast fare as well as their specialties.

The restaurant is clean, the prices and portions reasonable and the service and food excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyriccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, kitchy breakfast place in Solvang, CA”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived in Solvang early on a Saturday morning, and considered eating breakfast at the famous Paula's Pancake House. But when we queried a shopkeeper about breakfast, he actually ran after us out the door to let us know that The Belgian Cafe was just around the corner on Copenhagen Drive, and was owned by the same people that own Paula's. He said their menu was a little different, but wasn't nearly as crowded on the weekends as Paula's. So we were in.

The Belgian had some outdoor seating on the sidewalk, but we opted for eating inside the fun, kitchy restaurant dressed in blue and white umbrellas hanging from the ceiling, and the blue and white pottery plates on the walls. The place was not crowded at all and we were promptly seated on arrival. Drink order was taken and brought quickly.

They serve crepes and waffles all day. I asked our waitress her favorite and on her recommendation I ordered the Brunch Special that comes with Crepes Benedict -- two light and airy crepes filled with fluffy scrambled eggs and diced ham and lightly covered with hollandaise. Perfect! It also comes with a fruit cup and French bread and butter. The cost of this breakfast was $10.99. Maybe a little more than we usually spend on one breakfast per person, but it was a trip and a treat, so we weren't too put out by it.

My husband ordered scrambled eggs with hash browns and sausage. It was a normal breakfast for him and nothing exception, but good and hearty.

We also wanted to try their waffles, so we split the Olde Fashioned Waffle that comes with warm cinnamon apples and whipped cream. It was a very good Belgian waffle. I believe the waffle dish was around $8.00.

You have to understand that the prices are fairly high for breakfast. It's not IHOP. It is a touristy place, so you are going to pay tourist prices for some of these places, even though it's only breakfast. However, we enjoyed the meal and didn't stop for lunch after having such a big breakfast.

The place was clean and service was good. We might try another place next visit, but we were happy with what we ate and would go back another time when in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaustin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Blegain Cafe”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you don't want the wait of Paula's house of pancakes, but still want a good breakfast. Well the Belgian cafe is the place to go. The food was very good, the menu had a listing of waffles, pancakes, omelet's all the bells and whistles you would expect. At a reasonable expense too. The service was great, you can sit in the cafe or outside.
I would definitely recommend the Belgian cafe, for breakfast while visiting Solvang.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rxrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belgian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Belgian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing