We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation site!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somes Bar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marble Mountain Ranch - Family Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We had a blast at Marble Mountain Ranch. It was such a refreshing change from the same old boring cruises. There was plenty to do and the food was absolutely awesome! Heidi and Doug have a great set up there. Our cabin was very comfortable and there was just enough activity to keep us busy. We also had quiet time so that we could relax. My teen aged kids had so much fun. We rode horses, kayaked, shot clay pigeons on the shooting range and went fishing on the top of a mountain! The scenery is beautiful and the weather in June was perfect. Couple of hints....don't expect your cell phone to work but bring your laptop. Be sure to buy one of Heidi's cookbooks and try her Awesome Cookies, they are delicious! Bring your camera on the river, we saw 3 bald eagles on the only day I didn't bring my camera!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bets45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2009

I am not much of a ranch gal, but wanted to join in on some fun with some friends, so I packed up my Prada and made my way north. The ranch was a blast, easy and very laid back. Lots of activities-- you could participate or just sit by a tree and read. Food was to die for and the family group dining was fun. Water rafting, horseback riding and clay shooting all were well organized, safe and fun. The owners made you feel at home and made sure you were getting your needs met. Rooms are clean, basic and comfortable.
This place is great for a solo retreat, company motivation retreat, romantic getaway or family fun. A bit of a drive from the airport, is the only negative, but easily forgiven after a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveM2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

10/26/09
Marble Mountain Ranch
Somes Bar, CA

Dear Heidi and Doug,

Just wanted to drop you a line to pass along our gratitude for what can only be described as an outstanding trip. It certainly is quite a transition back to the grind of Southern California from a place of such tremendous beauty and solitude. Ron and I had a superlative visit to your place that we will not soon forget.

My event company is based on the premise of customer service beyond the clients’ expectations. It was great to witness an operation that obviously remains dedicated to a similar mission and it was evident in every facet of our experience. We appreciate your airport shuttle assistance and our stop in town for additional beverage selections. You are both magnificent to say the least with everything you have to take care of each and every day. Such efficient and friendly customer service is difficult to find and never gets the recognition it so richly deserves. Our guiding was great and a pleasure to spend time with Doug on a personal level as well.

From someone who prepares food for large groups on a regular basis, Heidi did herself proud on all of the terrific cuisine. The consistent quality, flavors and presentation were beyond belief. Taking into consideration that you have to plan it all out so far from town (not to mention everything else she has to do), it was an organizational masterpiece. Such amazing attention to detail is something that is not seen all that often and certainly deserves kudos to you and your family. I would love to get a copy of the secret Cole Family cookbook and will continue to remind you about it until it arrives.

Thanks again to you both for your personal attention on the trip and we look forward to returning at some time in the not too distant future.

Peace, Health and Good Spirits to you and your entire family always,

Duane

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dhonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Doug and Heidi Cole provide a special warmth and friendly atmosphere to this family oriented guest ranch. Every activity is well planned and professionally supervised. Heidi is an outstanding cook and we were well fed three times a day. Peter, their son, is an excellent river rafting guide with so much knowledge of the river that you never feel it is too challenging or unsafe. We would definitely recommend this as a outdoor/adventure destination.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aparkford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We have stayed at a dude ranch once before and really enjoyed it, but this was something different and better. This is a guest ranch with loads more to do than just ride horses, making it an ideal family vacation with family members with different interests. Even better than a vacation, this was like visiting our favorite relatives who lived in the country. It was a long drive to get there, but worth every mile! There was riding, rafting, inflatable kayaking, fishing, hiking, swimming, and target and skeet shooting(complete with safety lessons). Safety was a high priority during all activities. Children were encouraged to participate in any activity they showed sufficient maturity and ability to safely do. My kids were age 8 and 12 and I believe this was their favorite vacation; they did absolutely everything. Doug and Heidi were wonderful hosts and treat each guest like family or close friends.

The other unexpected highlight of the trip was the food. Most guest/dude ranches serve "western food". The food at Marble Mountain is a big cut above, more like a cross between restaurant fare and excellent home cooking; there were tons of fresh fruits and vegetables. The ultimate compliment to the food, is that my son, who only likes "plain food," was happily eating veggies and food with "sauces" by the end of the week.

Cabins are basic but very clean and comfortable. Although they have kitchens, you will never use them. Also, when they state that the price is "all inclusive," they mean it. It covered EVERY activity, drinks like lemonade, bottled water, and soda, as well as beer and table wine at dinner. If you need "really fancy wine," you can bring your own. The only thing not included was a gratuity, which we gave with true gratitude at the end of our stay.

Any active family or couple would love this vacation. Active, athletic kids and adults of all ages will have a blast. Don't go on this vacation if you need a 5 star hotel, room service, a spa, chocolates on your pillow, or if you don't enjoy lots of activity and getting a bit dirty and wet. Also families with children younger than 6 or 7, may find that they cannot fully participate in activities, and you may wish to wait till your kids are a bit older.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greekeyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Wonderful, cozy cabins for a family vacation at a family run dude ranch in the beautiful Marble Mountains of Northern California to get away from all the hustle and bustle of a busy life. No TV or cell phone coverage which we enjoyed. Primary activities include horseback riding on the mountain trails or fly fishing (drift boat) and white water rafting in the Klamath River. My wife and I enjoyed the fly fishing experience. Our guide was the ranch owner, . He was outstanding in his knowledge of the river and a skillfull oarsman that put us on the fish. We enjoyed wonderful home-cooked meals prepared daily by the family and served to their guests in a lodge type setting. If you are looking for an outdoor adventure for the family with those type of activities, I highly reccommend the Marble Mountain Ranch. We had a memorable time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jstans26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This family-run guest ranch in the Klamath National Forest features horseback riding, river rafting, kayaking, skeet and target shooting, fly fishing, and unbelievably delicious meals in a five-day all-inclusive package. Activities for children, teens and adults. For down time there are games and videos and cider making plus more. Ours was a family gathering for a birthday celebration; the youngest was 2 and the oldest was 91. The Cole family was attentive to the little kids as well as the adults and instructed about riding, shooting and rafting safety. In three days of rafting, we saw three different segments of the river. Beautiful trail rides. Housekeeping cabins are rustic but comfortable; they are not serviced daily but plenty of towels are provided and laundry facility is available. Everything is included (even wine and beer for adults and soft drinks and juice for the kids); there were no extras. It was a great experience that far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SeamomInSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somes Bar
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
20.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
20.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
470 reviews
19.7 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
20.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Mountain Ranch - Family Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Mountain Ranch - Family Guest Ranch

Address: 92520 State Highway 96, Somes Bar, CA 95568-9713
Region: United States > California > Somes Bar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Somes Bar
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California family dude ranch / guest ranch - the Western riding holiday with a signature raft & ride family vacation. California's best family quest ranch mixes daily horse riding, rafting, shooting sports and fly fishing. All inclusive packages cover lodging, meals, taxes, riding, rafting, fishing, sporting clays and more. Our cuisine and activity offerings are one-of-a kind and our hospitality is legend. Local resources to visit en-route to Marble Mountain Ranch include the Napa Valley Vineyards, Mount Shasta, Redwood National Forest, Crater Lake National Park, Ashland Shakespearian Festival, Burney Falls, and Mount Lassen. Join us for California's only saddle/paddle family vacation and visit the undiscovered Northern California and Southern Oregon attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marble Mountain Ranch - Family Guest Ranch Hotel Somes Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing