We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paradise”
Review of Club Tara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Tara Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Socorro B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Almost Paradise”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms were as seen on Club Tara's website. They had quite beat up feel since I assume that wear and tear is more evident when a place is surrounded by sea water. The food was okay. Local cuisine. Generous servings. The staff was warm and helpful. The only setback is the part where you have to brave quite a loooong trip from Manila which includes a plane ride, van ride, and a boat ride which I think was about 2-3 hours. When you get the place is breathtaking but then you really dont have much to do lest you avail of their additional tours which cost around 3000 pesos and up. The place is pitch black at night and extremely quiet. And it is isolated which for me can be quite unseating. The local telecoms hardly have any reception. And also please note that weather! Mindanao can be quite rainy towards the end of the year. Our mistake was booking for December! But overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blametheweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    15
    15
    15
See reviews for
20
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Club Tara became our home 3 days ago as we explore the enchanting beauty of Bucas Grande.

Even though the location of the resort is far from Hayanggabon port, I can say that its still worth a visit. The magnificent rock formation walled the resort; such a picturesque view and very relaxing. Perfect for honeymooners!


Stress-free accommodation as they also provides sumptuous home-cooked meals during your stay. I must commend the friendly staff as well.

Also, have less expectation prior to visiting Club Tara so you can appreciate the view of nature that they have and not what they lack.

No TV in the cottage. (But who needs a TV having surrounded by crystal clear water and rock formations?!)

I didn't like the fact that the comfort room have an open toilet and shower, not an ideal comfort room if you have kids traveling with you.

Room Tip: Contact their reservations prior to visit. Since they only have 10 cottages, it can easily get fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tagum City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My family and I usually visit places in the Philippines where nature abounds. Club Tara Resort is a refreshing place that opens the door to the beauty of Bucas Grande Island in Surigao del Norte. It is located strategically between the glimmering Sohoton Cove and the powdery-white sand beaches going to Socorro town.

The resort’s rate may be a bit pricey compared to the other resorts in the island but we think it is worth every cent we paid. It only has ten cottages, offering a certain degree of privacy to its guests. At the time we were there, only three cottages were occupied, two by us and one by a young Korean couple with a 5 year-old son. They left a day ahead of us so we practically had the place to ourselves on the last of the 3 days and 2 nights we stayed there. That gave us the relaxing feeling of being in an exclusive resort all our own.

The place is magnificent with clear emerald waters. The rooms open up to a lagoon surrounded by lush green trees on limestone islets. It was like having a huge swimming pool right at our balcony’s edge. There was no need to use neither the room’s Jacuzzi nor the resort’s swimming pool. The kids had fun kayaking in it and around the resort. It does not face the sunrise but the sunset view at the end of the day was simply awesome!

The rooms were huge, clean and relaxing. The resort manager and staff were friendly, courteous and accommodating. The food was sufficient for the 6 meals that came with the cost. It reminded us of home-made cooking but much more delicious and does not have a commercial taste to it.

For those who want a summer getaway, Sohoton Cove in Bucas Grande Island, Surigao del Norte is the place to go to for jellyfish watching, cave exploring, diving, snorkelling and simply marvelling at the beauty of God’s handiwork in this part of northern Mindanao.

And for those who would like to have a relaxing and worry-free vacation, Club Tara Resort is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LakwatserangParuparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Fantastic surroundings, run down facilities. Everywhere you can see evidence of neglect or at least poor maintenance. Wasn't sure I'd bother to write a review but felt it was the least I could do to warn others and maybe wake up the resort management.

The food - barely acceptable quality, definitely not 5 stars. Coffee was 3-in-1 mix that tasted like it was split in half to make 2 cups! Breakfast was local canned corned beef of the lowest quality. No paper napkins! When I asked for napkins I was given a nearly empty roll of toilet paper! One guest asked for additional vinegar and was told no more was available. As for snacks, forget it. You'd better bring your own since the restaurant offers nothing in between the three set meals. You also can't choose what to eat. And beer is 150.00 each!

Transportation - a pain. The only van going to Hayangabon from Surigao airport was a dilapidated one that smelled of fish. The alternative we took was bound for Tandag. The driver switched off the aircon after about twenty minutes on the road. If it wasn't cloudy and lightly raining, the heat and stuffiness would have been unbearable. If you still want to go there, better arrange a van with the resort and hope they give you a good one. Of course you'll have to pay an arm and a leg for that!

The jacuzzi didn't work, the pool had no water, and you can't even brush your teeth with the water that came out of the faucet; it was that bad!

Just like one review said.. a lot of potential. But that's it.. just potential, not hard reality.

Stay away if you value your money!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Socorro hotels

manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Luckily found this resort on cash cash pinoy...Me and my friend's been searching for a place that we can feel the nature.The place where we can value their preserved nature.. This place was perfect.. great view, nice staff, and the peace and relaxation we've been searching for months due to our busy schedule...
Going there was like an adventure to us.. its all worth it... island hopping, snorkling, and my favorite part was the UNLIMITED KAYAKING... we will go back there for sure!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Been her for once only together with my friend who introduce this place. Together with my son and daughter, we stay here for 2nights and 3days. I really enjoy the ambiance of this place. Stress with my daily works and routine in Manila, Club Tara really helps and ease my stress. Also a great place to unwind and enjoy bonding with my children. Definitely, a great quality time!!! Surely, we'll be back here with my Mom! I could rate it with 5star more if not only some of the place were ruin after the typhoon. But according to one of the staff, it is because they let some of their neighborhood whose house was damage by flood to stay there for a few a days. Really a good samaritan huh! Two thumbs up for them!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Got to know this place from CashCash Pinoy group buying site. I was in awe looking at the picturesquely perfect resort's uploaded photos. We end up buying the deal for Php16000 for 4 pax, 3D/2N Jacuzzi room accommodation with full board meals. There was no problem booking at the resort. Just email or call the number stated on the voucher and Voila! Finally booked on our target travel date. Going there isn't as easy as 1-2-3. The resort's transfer rate cost Php3,000/way good for two person.( including Private Van service & Boat transfer arrange by us. If 4 persons, Php1,000/way per person). We decided not to arranged our transfer with them. From Surigao Airport, we take the 2-hour van ride going to Hayanggabon pier. Then, boat ride from the pier to resort takes 30-40 minutes. We were welcome with an artificially mixed juice drinks . Resort staffs are nice and accommodating. Food is not bad at all. True enough, the view is picturesquely perfect. The Jacuzzi room is spacious enough. The only problem is that there is no door separating the toilet, jacuzzi, and shower room. Towels are rugged and old. The Jacuzzi is not functioning (it serves as a bathtub only). Needs repair so that it would serve it's purpose. Toiletries (Shampoo, soap, toothpaste and toothbrush) aren't available. You have to bring your own. Thankful enough that they provide toilet paper. Oh the room! There were ants crawling on the walls. And they never bothered to change linens and clean the rooms (especially the bathroom). Never mind the swimming pool. It's not tiled and dirty, but very photogenic. We enjoyed kayaking around the resort (unlimited). We do Island hopping tour to Bucas Gande/Sohoton Islands but we arranged it not from the resort because they offer very expensive rates. Thankful that I find tour guides/boatmen with much affordable rate from a blog site. Bucas Grande/Sohoton Island hopping was a great experience. Breath-taking view, amazing caves, and wonderful white sand beaches were majestic. Finally, Club Tara Resort experience wasn't bad after all. Only needs proper maintenance, renovation and improvements to justify their expensive rates. Don't have regrets going there because we only got it on a promo in a group buying site. And one more thing, I can say that it's the Maldives of the Philippines.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tripaholicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Socorro
0.0 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hidden Island Resort
Hidden Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Socorro
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Resort
Bravo Beach Resort
#1 of 19 in General Luna
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tara Resort

Property: Club Tara Resort
Address: Bucas Grande Island, Socorro, Mindoro 847 00, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Socorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Socorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tara Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Club Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tara Hotel Surigao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing