We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Tara Resort
Nearby Hotels
Blue Harbor Inn(Calapan)(Great Value!)
US$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Oceana Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Crystal Beach Resort(Puerto Galera)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
12
21
15
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
21
15
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson trip advisorlow tidejellyfishdivingbeautybathtubsiargaoavailmomenvironment
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Club Tara should have been a great resort if it was well maintained. However, it was not. So don't expect to get what you paid for. Although I admit that this is probably the best looking resort in the island.

The service is good though. And the staff are very helpful and accommodating. However, i have to mention all the things I didn't like about the place.

First off, the water for taking a bath and brushing your teeth is salty. So you can take a bath but you will still feel sticky. And during our third day, there was an instance when there was no water at all. The toilet and bath was also not designed well. There are no dividers so when you take a bath all the water will flood the entire bathroom. What's worse is there is no doors. So I won't recommend friends to share a room because you will definitely be seen.
Also, the aircon that they have cannot keep the entire room cold. We requested for electric fans during our second night but they did not have any. So you will have to suffer through the heat. The food which costs 450/head/meal is just so so.
Although i have to commend the staff for accommodating our tour guides, they gave them food without asking us for additional charge.
You can snorkel and kayak around Club Tara but that's mostly the activities open to you as the water in the pool has algae.

The jaccuzi inside the room also do not work and is full of rust.

The island is beautiful too bad i cannot say the same for club tara.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Leighnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms were as seen on Club Tara's website. They had quite beat up feel since I assume that wear and tear is more evident when a place is surrounded by sea water. The food was okay. Local cuisine. Generous servings. The staff was warm and helpful. The only setback is the part where you have to brave quite a loooong trip from Manila which includes a plane ride, van ride, and a boat ride which I think was about 2-3 hours. When you get the place is breathtaking but then you really dont have much to do lest you avail of their additional tours which cost around 3000 pesos and up. The place is pitch black at night and extremely quiet. And it is isolated which for me can be quite unseating. The local telecoms hardly have any reception. And also please note that weather! Mindanao can be quite rainy towards the end of the year. Our mistake was booking for December! But overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blametheweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Club Tara became our home 3 days ago as we explore the enchanting beauty of Bucas Grande.

Even though the location of the resort is far from Hayanggabon port, I can say that its still worth a visit. The magnificent rock formation walled the resort; such a picturesque view and very relaxing. Perfect for honeymooners!


Stress-free accommodation as they also provides sumptuous home-cooked meals during your stay. I must commend the friendly staff as well.

Also, have less expectation prior to visiting Club Tara so you can appreciate the view of nature that they have and not what they lack.

No TV in the cottage. (But who needs a TV having surrounded by crystal clear water and rock formations?!)

I didn't like the fact that the comfort room have an open toilet and shower, not an ideal comfort room if you have kids traveling with you.

Room Tip: Contact their reservations prior to visit. Since they only have 10 cottages, it can easily get fully booked.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My family and I usually visit places in the Philippines where nature abounds. Club Tara Resort is a refreshing place that opens the door to the beauty of Bucas Grande Island in Surigao del Norte. It is located strategically between the glimmering Sohoton Cove and the powdery-white sand beaches going to Socorro town.

The resort’s rate may be a bit pricey compared to the other resorts in the island but we think it is worth every cent we paid. It only has ten cottages, offering a certain degree of privacy to its guests. At the time we were there, only three cottages were occupied, two by us and one by a young Korean couple with a 5 year-old son. They left a day ahead of us so we practically had the place to ourselves on the last of the 3 days and 2 nights we stayed there. That gave us the relaxing feeling of being in an exclusive resort all our own.

The place is magnificent with clear emerald waters. The rooms open up to a lagoon surrounded by lush green trees on limestone islets. It was like having a huge swimming pool right at our balcony’s edge. There was no need to use neither the room’s Jacuzzi nor the resort’s swimming pool. The kids had fun kayaking in it and around the resort. It does not face the sunrise but the sunset view at the end of the day was simply awesome!

The rooms were huge, clean and relaxing. The resort manager and staff were friendly, courteous and accommodating. The food was sufficient for the 6 meals that came with the cost. It reminded us of home-made cooking but much more delicious and does not have a commercial taste to it.

For those who want a summer getaway, Sohoton Cove in Bucas Grande Island, Surigao del Norte is the place to go to for jellyfish watching, cave exploring, diving, snorkelling and simply marvelling at the beauty of God’s handiwork in this part of northern Mindanao.

And for those who would like to have a relaxing and worry-free vacation, Club Tara Resort is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LakwatserangParuparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Fantastic surroundings, run down facilities. Everywhere you can see evidence of neglect or at least poor maintenance. Wasn't sure I'd bother to write a review but felt it was the least I could do to warn others and maybe wake up the resort management.

The food - barely acceptable quality, definitely not 5 stars. Coffee was 3-in-1 mix that tasted like it was split in half to make 2 cups! Breakfast was local canned corned beef of the lowest quality. No paper napkins! When I asked for napkins I was given a nearly empty roll of toilet paper! One guest asked for additional vinegar and was told no more was available. As for snacks, forget it. You'd better bring your own since the restaurant offers nothing in between the three set meals. You also can't choose what to eat. And beer is 150.00 each!

Transportation - a pain. The only van going to Hayangabon from Surigao airport was a dilapidated one that smelled of fish. The alternative we took was bound for Tandag. The driver switched off the aircon after about twenty minutes on the road. If it wasn't cloudy and lightly raining, the heat and stuffiness would have been unbearable. If you still want to go there, better arrange a van with the resort and hope they give you a good one. Of course you'll have to pay an arm and a leg for that!

The jacuzzi didn't work, the pool had no water, and you can't even brush your teeth with the water that came out of the faucet; it was that bad!

Just like one review said.. a lot of potential. But that's it.. just potential, not hard reality.

Stay away if you value your money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews