We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a personal feel”
Review of Sonoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonoma Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed at the Sonoma Hotel for three nights and found it comfortable, pleasant and welcoming. The staff were helpful in a friendly yet unintrusive manner, the room was charming and the location was fantastic - right on the main square and next door to the excellent Girl and the Fig restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline_Porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Sonoma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Sonoma Hotel's greatest attribute is it's location - right on the square. The rooms are small, and others walking around on the floor above us was quite obtrusive. Coffee and pastries in the morning were very good, but there were only 2 small tables for everyone to share/sit at. It's clean and safe, and that's about all I can say.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor, and be sure you ask about which rooms have a standing shower vs one inside a cla...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Right on the square in Sonoma so ideal and good price (from $175 depending on room), although remember that it is a good price for Sonoma where everything is overpriced and don't expect the room you'd get elsewhere for that price!
My room was in the cheapest band and tiny (just about room open open the case on the floor), other rooms looked far nicer so worth paying the extra for a better room.
Separate wash basin in the room (with dripping tap) and shower and toilet in a tiny bathroom.
No wi-fi but rooms on the front could get wi-fi from places across the street.
Just pastries for breakfast, good but no choice or fruit available - good breakfast at El Dorado Cafe across the road.
Biggest issues was the heating in my room, it was freezing when I checked in and no way to fix the temperate. Tried several times, asked various staff (morning staff very helpful and evening girl could not have cared less!) but had to sleep in sweater, facing away from air vent and with ear plugs in to avoid noisy from air vent and dripping tap!
Great meal at Cafe le haye - reserve far in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyjo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed, note not slept, at the Sonoma Hotel on 10/4 & 10/5 and while the hotel was nice, the service was nonexistent. After a rain storm passed at 3am on 10/4 all that could be heard was the sink dripping like Chinese water torture. They gave us another room the next day, but they should have fixed the sink before giving us the room. At 3am on 10/5 we were awoken by the loudest tv you've heard. Called the front desk at 3:30am to no answer. At 4am I had to walk around a find the room with the TV. Thankfully the drunk had left his room open, so I went in and turned the tv off and went back to my own bed. The next day, all the staff could say was, "I hope you sleep well tonight." I thought to myself, of course I will, because I won't be at your hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Quiet, great location just off the Sonoma Square. Good coffee and pastries in the lobby in the morning. Highly recommend the accomodations

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lewpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is an old hotel that has been refurbished. The rooms are small. We stayed in two different rooms on the third (top) floor (three nights in one room, one night in second room). One room faced the square, and one room faced the back, overlooking an outdoor dining area. WIndows in both rooms were double-paned to keep out noise. We heard minimum traffic noise in the room facing the square and no noise in the room facing the back. Both rooms were clean. The stall showers in both rooms worked well and were very clean; same for the toilets. The sink in the back room was in the room; the sink in the front room was in the bathroom. TVs were small, but all cable channels were available. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pastries and coffee in the morning were wonderful. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in a charming hotel that is centrally located.

Room Tip: See review re front and back rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tobyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Arrived in Sonoma without a reservation and my husband and I just stumbled upon the Sonoma Hotel. The staff was accomodating and helpful from the moment we stepped in the door until we checked out two days later. The rooms are somewhat small, but charming and very clean. The location is great, being right on the plaza, the rooms are reasonably priced and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Hotel

Address: 110 W Spain St, Sonoma, CA 95476-5696
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Price Range: £124 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing