We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
NoCal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“rip”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Went with friends for drinks after dinner at a neighboring establishment. Server didn't know what the "well" scotch was. I bought the first round anyway and was surprised by a $7 charge per drink. Fair enough, it may be expensive scotch.... What was bad was the $8 charge for the second, SAME scotch! Manager's reply to my objections was"Noted". Trying to find someone with authority to whom to complain was an exercise in futility. No interest whatsoever in trying to write the obvious wrongs...

I live here in Sonoma and this is not typical. Obviously these people are only concerned with getting what they can from whomever walks through the door, not providing a good value or experience.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroNoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    124
    33
    27
    13
See reviews for
30
184
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife and i had stayed here in 2010 and loved the location and really enjoyed the small bar and the restaurant. We brought back 4 friends in 2011. Two out of the three nights the hotel had rented out the restaurant and bar for private functions. We felt like 2nd class citizens in our own hotel. Our compensation was one round of drinks in the outside seating area because we weren't allowed in the bar. In our room, a/c quit twice and we lost hot water once. These problems were fixed quickly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My wife and I were given a gift certificate for the El Dorado Hotel and Kitchen, and used it on a mid-week mini-vacation. As indicted on a separate TripAdvisor review of El Dorado Kitchen, the restaurant is very, very good. The hotel: not so much. In fact, the room was Hotel Six quality at best, even without the horrible interference of a private party in the restaurant that blared bad seventies and eighties music at six billion decibels, until late in the night.

The ED staff are wonderful, but if I had to do it all over, I'd stay somewhere else and eat here. The location is good, but I'm pretty sure there are better lodging options available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Very small room, & very very thin walls. I could hear TV's in the rooms around me, and could hear footsteps of the people walking outside.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackieuab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed at the El Dorado Hotel and Kitchen for a week with family members for a wedding. It is located on the square in Sonoma and close to everything. The receptionists were all very helpful with maps and directions-especially Kenny. The bungalows were quiet and had a nice patio. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a nice coffee bar for breakfast. We ate at the restaurant once and the food was good and original ( seafood was fresh and delicious).
I would stay there again and recommend the location and the wonderful friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The hotel is in a great location tuck in the corner of the Square. The staff were excellent and the room was of a high quality. We had a room overlooking the pool which was very quiet however, my parent had a room overlooking the street and said at times it was noisy. The restaurant within the hotel was excellent, although personally I would have preferred slightly larger portions. We went on a wine tasting trip using Platypus Tours which was excellent (see separate view).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2010

El Dorado is like staying with your very best friends. You unpack and then pad around the place like it's your own home. The location is ideal with so many fabulous restaurants in walking distance, as well as a decent hiking trail with lovely views. Sonoma is laid back to begin with, and El Dorado fits well in that vibe. The rooms are very comfortable, and the lobby so welcoming. The restaurant is very good, but it's the coffee shop that is the real standout. Excellent coffee, and a genuine meeting place. In the evenings, curl up in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine or tea and relax. Perfect from sunrise to sunset.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing