We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location and helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Mena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the location and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Perfect location and great value. The staff gave us great "wine country" tips. Enjoyable stay all around.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    121
    31
    27
    13
See reviews for
27
180
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is a great hotel with a fab location right in the heart of Sonoma. We booked a room overlooking the square and were not disappointed. Unlike other reviewers we did not have a problem with noise (we stayed just one night, Thursday). Standard of cleanliness is high and although basic the room was very attractive and comfortable - excellent shower.

We eat in El Dorado Kitchen and the food was lovely but not exceptional. There is a very comprehensive wine list and our only mistake was not choosing the wine ourselves - worst bottle of wine on our trip chosen by the Sommelier.

All the staff were very friendly and professional. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Sonoma.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the square and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avatarsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The El Dorado is a great find. In the heart of Sonoma, close to everything. The restaurant is fabulous, rooms are charming and very clean. And the young man at the front desk for the hotel, Kenny, is all the advertisement this place needs. So helpful, so knowledgeable, and so willing to go above and beyond. We had an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace facing inward to courtyard are a little noisy until around 10:00, then things cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llanza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The ED Kitchen is fabulous (great food, wonderful service) and it was such a pleasure to walk upstairs to our room afterward and not have to deal with driving, parking, etc. Our room was spacious but the bath was tiny (two people could not be in it at the same time). Worse, it was on the street side and the traffic noise was brutal starting about 5:00 a.m. Worse yet there was a street lamp directly in front of the window and the light came through the shutters all night long. Between the light and the noise, we had a terrible night's sleep. We would consider staying here again, because of the restaurant and location on the square, but certainly not on the street side.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street side are an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is a great place to stay; it's quiet and in a great location. It's clean too. The only bad thing is there is no elevator to take your bags up. I stayed there in 1994, and then in September 2011. It is up to par and updated. For a less expensive alternative in a great location, this option is one that you should consider!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simbathebigpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at El Dorado and we liked it. The room is nice and clean. It is right in Sonoma plaza and easiy accessible to some wineries. We arrived on Tuesday and much to our surprise, the community has a farmer's market from 5:30 till around 8:30 in the park across the hotel. You can bring some bottles of wine, buy some delicious food that locals are selling and have a picnic. The food in the restaurant are good and so as the breakfast special in their cafe. You can hear people's foosteps in the hallway but we didn't have a hard time sleeping. What do you expect from an old building turned hotel. All the hotels i saw in Sonoma plaza are just renovated old buildings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lve2trvlanywhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Small hotel in historic building right on town square. Great location, great service with an excellent bar and restaurant and a small cafe. Our room was pretty small but we were told it was one of the biggest they had. Small closet, no drawers to speak of, outdated bathroom, old fashioned CRT tv. Free wifi though. Would recommend based on location and bar/cafe/restaurant but not for rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Property: El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing