We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty Beyond Compare”

Sonoma Coast State Beach
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A state park and beach recommended for fishing, walking and picnicking.
california
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beauty Beyond Compare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A hidden gem, which just happens to be dog friendly, is Blind Beach on the southern side of Goat Rock. The road to the beach is narrow but worth the roller coaster ride to the bottom parking area. The headlands and high cliffs are strewn with wildflowers. Sea stacks and a natural arch are just off shore. Pelicans, gulls and smaller sea birds abound. Deer graze the headlands. Lucky visitors will spot seals and whales. Occasionally there are surfers here but be forewarned that the waters are icy cold and mornings often foggy. It is wise to bring a jacket or sweat shirt. This is a beach for strolling and enjoying nature rather than being part of the bikini and suntan crowd. Those who venture here in the early morning on a week day or off season might encounter only one or two other humans on the beach. Search for the seep where the seabirds come to rest and drink. If one approaches slowly, in a calm and silent manner, the birds remain at ease and continue their activities allowing for wonderful photographs! High tide dramatically narrows the beach however at lower tides the wide soft beach can be walked down for well over a mile.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mbisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    31
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views on the coast in Sonoma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Wow, I never get tired of the vipers on this stretch of highway. And dang it, if the camera doesn't capture the splendor. But still. There is so much to see. Be sure to pull off for the beach and look around. Depending on the area, you will see fields of succulents, or wind blown trees, beautiful secluded beaches, or wide expanse with a remarkable view of the headlands. Nothing at all like the flat east coast. I want to live here!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank guamgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches in wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I spent two afternoons cruising up and down Highway 1 from Bodega Bay to Jenner, stopping to enjoy the view at each of the beaches along the way. The views are fabulous, although the sun was not shining on either of the afternoons we visited. We were told that it is very rarely sunny along this stretch of the coast. We managed to get some good photographs even though it was foggy, and enjoyed the trip. Some of the pull-offs are rather small and come up on you suddenly when driving the curving road, so be aware of other cars pulling on and off the highway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DSullivan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Springs, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Beaches if You Can See Them!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have a 25 ft. RV. We took a drive up the coast from Bodega Bay to just above Jenner. There was no where to stop to just even look at the beach. Each spot had a large "No RV" sign. These were beaches we used to go to all the time. And now if we choose to visit them in our small RV, it is prohibited! Other than camping at Wright's Beach, nothing was open to us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne95619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The views are spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The views from Sonoma Coast State Beach are breathtaking. I love strolling in the ocean and I was bummed that I couldn't do that here. The surf is just too rough. We drove to several of the beaches and looked around and each is unique and interesting in it's own right. We enjoyed our visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank quinnlavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonoma Coast State Beach also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Coast State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing