We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This Inn is located just a few blocks from the town square in Sonoma which is nice if you want to walk into town for lunch or dinner. The rooms are nice and well appointed, though the ground floor rooms do tend to hear the noise of upstairs neighbors. The included buffet breakfast is very generous, but be sure to get there early if you want the fresh scones. They were gone by the time we arrived! We did not go to the restaurant for dinner, but did have room service which was very good. The meal arrived quickly and was still fresh and hot. There is a nice spa and pool on the premises and some lovely little sitting areas around the property for just relaxing. The staff is VERY helpful with directions, suggestions and booking of wine tasting appointments when necessary. They also have coupons that get you discounts at many of the vineyards so be sure to ask. You can rent bikes at the hotel, but it was a little pricey. The other hotel we stayed in while visiting Napa had bikes available for guest use for free. We could just pop on for 30 minutes and return as opposed to planning a full outing. If you want a nice, clean, and quiet place to stay while visiting Sonoma, MacArthur place is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level can hear the footsteps of those upstairs so ask for an upstairs room if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healthspacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    160
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
96
550
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I vacation in Sonoma almost every year, and were looking for an alternative to the Fairmont. We decided to try MacArthur Place, and are glad we did! Unlike the Fairmont, parking is stress-free. It's an easy ten minute walk to the plaza (try Bump Wine Cellars tasting room), and also convenient to get to Santa Rosa and Healdsburg for great wine tasting. The room was spacious, spotless and very, very nice. The fitness room is a bit small, but worked fine for us The staff was very friendly, and the included breakfast was probably the best of it's type we've had. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at MacArthur Place for two nights during our Sonoma section of a west coast bicycle trip. Someone in a previous review said that it had a Bed and Breakfast feel to it.
I agree totally with that sentiment, only adding that we felt it enbodied a true "Sonoma Style" of relaxed, laid back, elegance.

MacArthur Place units are 3 or four to a building. Two stories high and each unit has a balcony or a porch. The our unit was set up as a "large" studio, with walk in closet and large modern bathroom. The rooms were well appointed and decorated in a elegant western/country style. To us, it felt more like home than any of the other hotels/resorts that we stayed at.

The location is close to downtown and all of shops and resturants while being far enough away to insure privacy and a quiet night. It is close to the highway access and more importantly it is close to some fun winerys.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful when we needed help or had questions. Otherwise, we did not see much of them - which was the point. The leave you alone. How refreshing. They were obviously well trained from the helpful conciege to the waiters and waitresses.

Saddles is the resturant on site and we found it to be an excellent. It is a country themed steakhouse resturant and it did not disappoint. The wine list was extensive and the food and service were top notch. Complimentry beakfast is also served at the Saddles resturant. It was much appreciated and a nice way to start our day before hitting the bicycles.

MacArthur Place and it's Sonoma Country Charm are not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

MacArthur Place is wonderful; a complete surprise. The rooms are exquisitely appointed, spacious and the grounds are beautiful. The breakfast buffet has nice options and dinner at Saddles is excellent. MacArthur Place is ideally located, just a short walk to the square in downtown Sonoma with many wonderful shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful room in the carriage house, #51
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoconnor1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yes, the location is superb. Yes, our room was great. Yes, the continental breakfast was really good. Now note the number of responses to Trip Advisor comments from Bill Blum, the hotel's general manager. It is an indication of how much this hotel cares about its guests. We loved Macarthur Place, and I think that it is attention to guest's needs sets it apart. Here is my story.

My car is a Tesla Model S. For those of you who don't know, the Tesla is a fully electric car. While the car has a range of over 200 miles I was going to need to recharge on my trip to the Wine Country. I was hoping to find a high power (240 volt) outlet at which to do this in Sonoma. When my internet search for charging stations came up empty I called Macarthur Place and Mr. Blum was happy to work with me to install one at the hotel in time for our visit. I had planned ahead and started working with Mr. Blum a month before our trip. Three days before the trip he e-mailed me to say that the installation was complete! This was not a small effort in terms or time or money on the part of Macarthur Place.

I travel a great deal, and I travel around the world. I've never before had such great personal attention from a hotel.

A note to electric car owners in general and Tesla Model S owners in particular: Macarthur Place installed two NEMA 14-50 outlets for your charging pleasure. This is THE place to stay in the Sonoma Valley area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonomabb, General Manager at MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Mr. Berman,
Thank you for your nice review! It was a real pleasure getting to meet you and your wife during your visit and seeing the green "fully charged" light on your Tesla in the morning after it was charged. As part of our green program here at MacArthur Place, putting in electric charging stations for our guests has been a goal of mine for a couple years now so I can't thank you enough for all of your advice and the advice and help from the people at Tesla on getting this done. Since your review two days ago we have already had two reservations from electric vehicle owners so again a BIG thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Best regards,
Bill Blum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My hubby and I stayed a night this past week, and were very impressed! We had a cozy room in the Manor area, and were really happy with everything. The best thing about this place are the little touches, starting with the turn down service, which is standard, I realize, but here includes the next day's weather forecast on a little card next to the chocolate and spa sample product. I'm sure this takes 2 seconds, but what a nice little touch! I used the work-out facilities and the machines are top-notch- fancier than I've seen at any other place I've stayed. The best little touch there was the chilled mint-scented washcloths to freshen up after your work out. Fancy! And breakfast is delightful too- great and bountiful buffet that technically qualifies as continental, but is truly delicious. My favorite part was the fruit salad with the vanilla syrup on top- like everything else, it just elevates MacArthur Place up a notch. I would definitely stay here again, and next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meanjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

From the moment you walk into the reception area you feel welcome at MacArthur Place. The library has a great fireplace and every evening there is a wine tasting whit cheeses. There is also a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. One can also order from the breakfast menu- the bacon is the best! Nice and crisp. Saddles restaurant is on site and easily assessable for dinner reservations. The Prime rib is rare and enough for two to share. The rooms are spacious with lounge chairs in front of the wood burning fireplaces. Great luxurious robes. The bed could benefit from a pillow top which would make it softer. We had a nice balcony overlooking the property. The pool is clean and well stocked with comfortable chairs- should have service though extended throughout the hours the pool is opened. Would be nice to have croquet on the lawn. The Inn is within walking distance to the town square. Streets are well lit and safe. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memphisbelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing