We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My girl friends and I stayed here for a wine country girls' weekend. The accommodations and setting were very relaxing and serene. It was a nice, quiet property, and the service and amenities were great. I would definitely stay here again. We also loved that we could walk 4 blocks to Sonoma Square for wine tasting and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen_B_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    157
    46
    17
    2
See reviews for
96
533
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a friend visiting from Bordeaux and since she's used to the best I knew that we needed to take her someplace special. Success! We all loved it and felt spoiled by the staff. There's a beautiful library with wine and apps at happy hour and great movies (with recommendations from the staff) to borrow. The grounds are impeccable, the rooms are tasteful and have everything you need. Sitting on the porch looking out on the gardens was the perfect beginning of our evening. The dinner at Saddles was amazing. The location is tucked away and feels very secluded, yet is within walking distance to Sonoma Square. It's the only place that I'd recommend to anyone coming to visit wine country.

Room Tip: We had a double room with a private porch right outside the door of the King bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artgirl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here briefly for only two nights after a business trip. I wish we were there just a bit longer. Check-in was a breeze and we even got a bottle of wine since we had just missed the wine and cheese hour. Upon entering our room, there were chocolate treats waiting for us on the bed. Great attention to detail.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with helping us select which vineyards to visit. They even gave us free passes to the vineyards, which is a savings since each place will charge a tasting fee. We managed to go to 4 places using the pass and called it a day. The rooms are very clean, grounds are well kept and walking distance to the town square, which had plenty of restaurants and other tasting rooms. Continental breakfast was complimentary and my room had a spa credit. Definitely take advantage of the spa after a day of wine tasting.

We would definitely stay here again for a long weekend.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a room with a fireplace, but it seems like all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I just spent a relaxed, comfortable weekend at this lovely inn. The room was very comfortable, the grounds were lovely, and we took advantage of the pool, hot tub and spa. We even got in a few games of ping pong. The breakfast included with the price of the room was good with fresh fruit, breads, cereal, no hot items (which could be ordered for an additional fee). I liked that the Sonoma square with shopping and good restaurants was within walking distance. The bulk of Sonoma Valley wineries are further north up the valley, but there are a number within a reasonable drive. The staff was very friendly, the wine and cheese in the evening was a nice treat in the library/patio area. We would definetly stay at this property again, the size was nice too, never felt crowded.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second story deluxe room that backed up to the school and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I took my wife for a night away for her birthday and we both enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Upon arriving you are met by a employee opening the door for you and welcoming you to the Inn. All the staff we interacted with were very friendly.
Check-in was a breeze and we were given a map that lays out the grounds.
The receptionist also noted areas where certain events would be taking place. One of the events is a free wine and cheese hour.

Our suite was spacious with a comfortable feel to the interior. Original art is hanging on the walls.
We used the in room DVD player to listen to CD's and to my surprise they have a full 5.1 surround sound speaker set up. DVD movies can also be borrowed from the front desk and they did have a nice assortment including recent film releases.

The fireplace is a welcoming touch and was utilized. The bed is large and comfy along with the pillows.
The room had great lighting with dimming switches for every one.
The bathroom is large with a walk in shower and a rain faucet. The shower is big enough for two people.
Coffee maker, Ihome dock and a IPod dock were in the room. As was a refrigerator, iron and ironing board, a safe for belongings and a hairdryer.

My wife had a aroma therapy massage which she really enjoyed at the Inn's spa.

We went to Saddles for dinner and the receptionist was very kind and gave us a few seating options.
The food was okay, not bad but also not great. The creme brulé was the most underwhelming thing we ate.
Dinner took about two and a half hours so you don't feel rushed. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive.

After dinner we took a nice stroll through the grounds and had a really nice time doing so. The Inn is very unique in that there are several detached buildings where guests stay. It almost gave me a plantation type of feel while walking along the pathways.
When we got up in the morning the Inn offers a free continental breakfast which was a nice perk. The breakfast included muffins, fruit, bagels, croissants and cereals.

Checkout is at noon which allows you to not feel rushed.
Checkout was also a breeze.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at MacArthur Place. It was comfortable, romantic and very relaxing. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have now been here 3 times. This is first time using spa, "GREAT", all staff was excellent, but special kudos to Bev. Thanks for tip on congestion, really works. The grounds, rooms and staff are one of the best! Can't say enough about how helpful they are. Want an excellent meal with no pretense, here's your place. Eat quickly or linger as long as you want, no pressure. Truly a place that understands customer service in this no service age. A great place I will again return to!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Pick what you want. Many on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

MacArthur Place is just a few blocks off the main square of Sonoma, on a side street so you are just far enough away from the route 12 traffic traffic. My GF and I were there in the fall for a business event that did not afford as much time as we would have liked at the hotel, but we will definitely be back. We had an upstairs room overlooking one of the garden courtyards. Room was spacious. Fireplace, wraparound balcony, roomy bathroom, and open stall shower. Shower not quite roomy enough for two. Parking at the front can be cramped, but check-in was pleasant. The gardens are beautiful, and there is a rambling feeling to the grounds; though there are actually quite a lot of rooms, one never has a feeling of being crowded. There is a sense of seclusion to the place that is ideal if you are trying to get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing