We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just returned from our one year anniversary trip to Napa/ Sonoma. This was undoubtedly one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The check in process was seamless. There was wine tasting every night that we were there in the library...yum! The room was spacious and very comfortable. We loved the bed and pillows. The service was impeccable; we had to turn housekeeping away a couple of times. The property is quiet and has a sense of seclusion (at least #42 does) We only heard our neighbors one time when they were out on the patio at the same time as us. There is an outdoor shower and soaking tub that we used daily. Heaven!! Nothing like a brisk morning air in combination with a hot outdoor shower. I was also in love with the hotel's signature scent (bath wash) We would have been content eating at the on-site restaurant every night (Saddles). The location is within walking distance of the square. Also, this is one of the few hotels that the wine tours will stop to pick up. Nothing negative to say at all.

Room Tip: We loved # 42!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellydfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Where do I start. It's difficult to pick out one thing because everyting was wonderful. The Staff, friendly, so helpfull and attentive. The rooms, spacious and so relaxing. The grounds, beautiful and full of adventure with all the paths and the outdoor chess game. The pool, restaruant and afternoon events are so...well they just make you smile. And the Martini's and Burgers are just wonderful. And you can have them while you are enjoying the pool too. Don't forget to try the steam room then jump in the pool to cool yourself off. FUN!

Room Tip: just give them your dream list and they will find the room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel, within walking distance of Sonoma Plaza and restaurants, shopping and wine tasting. We received a great welcome. The hotel is a series of buildings around walkways and beautiful grounds. Our room was comfortable - - although there were some issues with poor drainage in the shower, which led to some flooding of the bathroom floor. Bed was comfy. there were a few things that would have improved the room - - a magnifying mirror, some complimentary water. We loved the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon, which featured local wineries and an olive oil tasting. complimentary continental breakfast was adequate - - the basics of yogourt, fruit, bagels, toast, cereal, etc.
We adored Sonoma City, and wish we had had more time there. Overall, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachesmesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Excellent service and beautiful grounds. Would defiantly go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The concierge was extremely help. Wine and cheese and breakfast is nice touch.

I highly recommend staying here when in Sonoma.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JeremyFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our stay was delightful in every way. Each room is filled with charm The pool was so relaxing and a great place for our family to spend time together. The pool staff brought us food and drinks all day long and was so accomodating.

The Breakfast in the morning was part of our package and was truly a welcoming gift to start the day.

i would certainly come back because it appealed to our whole family from ages 5 months to 93.

Room Tip: pick a room with a balcony or the suites on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed at approximately 10 hotels in Sonoma and Napa...MacArthur Place is by far the best hotel we have stayed at...by far. We spent three nights there in a beautiful room...#47. Everything was perfect...beautiful...spacious...extremely well appointed. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The pool uncrowded with plenty of lounge chairs, water, and lunch can also be ordered. Rooms are perfectly maintained...turn down at night...rooms cleaned early in the morning after we left. The continental breakfast in the morning was very good...high quality pastries...fresh squeezed oj...lovely setting. The wine hour was also nice...good wine and snacks. Every single person from the front desk to the concierge to the housekeeping staff went out of their way to ensure we had the perfect stay. I cannot wait for my next trip to Sonoma.

Room Tip: We loved room 47 but I am sure there are many lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Second trip to MP. This time was even better than the first. Once inside the property, it is tranquil and luxurious. Spa was nice - food was good - pool was a great escape from the heat. Clean and comfortable. Place makes you feel like a wanted guest. Service and staff were top notch. Easy walk to Sonoma Square for dinner and drinks without the worry and risk of driving. I highly recommend MP.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £177 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing