We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, comfortable, immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 June 2009

By far the most beautiful hotel/spa I have ever stayed at. Ammenities were fantastic- from the soaps/lotions and mini bar, to the dvd selection, the wine happy hour, the breakfast was great (for free). The room was gorgeous and comfortable, welcoming. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The entire place has gardens that are beautiful to walk around in. The pool & spa area are also gorgeous. WE had couples massages and then relaxed in the sun by the pool- what an ideal day!
Love the lay of land... lots of little house with a couple of rooms in each one, private entrance to each. very cool.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeldpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2009

Cannot say enough about this lovely Inn. From the nice sized rooms, the gorgeously lanscaped grounds, the wonderful spa and very nice Saddles restaurant, this Inn and spa was first class all the way. Though you are in the city of Sonoma, you are tucked away in your own little world. Within walking distance to the downtown, this location was great also to travel to any of the many wineries in Sonoma or Napa. You could even rent bikes right at the Inn to ride to some of the closest wineries. Though this was a "girls" trip, I cannot wait to go back with my husband. It is a very romantic place to stay. Room rates were moderate to high. Best rates were on website when you paid up front. Well worth it! Very nice continental breakfast each morning. Very good service by all those employed by the spa and Inn. Just be ready to ask for help with your luggage should you get one of the upstairs rooms. No elevators. All in all a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We spent 6 days here while in Wine Country. We were in room 15 &16 which were close to the pool/spa area and to the resturant. The grounds are wonderful,truly beautiful. Nice spa and pool area. We had little interaction with the hotel staff (we had no problems) but the resturant staff at breakfast were wonderful. It was nice to be able to have the free breakfast buffett and have the option of ordering off the menu.

If you walk into town go through the neighborhoods not on the highway. Much more pleasant. It's a long 4 blocks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuntNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at the hotel over Memorial Day weekend and it was just fantatstic.

Great location, great service and beautiful rooms. There is a very nice (and warm pool) and great hot tub too.

The front desk is fantastic and they have free tasting coupons for most of the great wineries in the area.

There is a very nice free continential breakfast for all guests and a one hour wine/cheese reception every night (not that after a day in wine country you need more wine!). In the library there are free DVDs for you to borrow, books, and board games you can play.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Macarthur Place is a 4-star hotel with beautiful grounds, impressive spa, nice looking restaurant (did not eat there for dinner), and comfortable rooms. Its located about half-a-mile from the Sonoma Plaza (downtown...I guess), which made for nice walks. The trip was short to a number of wineries in Sonoma and Carneros; a bit longer (~15 min) to Napa. Their free continental breakfast was SOLID considering how much things cost when you go on wine tastings and such. We used the name your own price on priceline method for scoring the room which was dramatically lower than the $350/night asked on the Macarthur website. Overall, we were very happy with Macarthur Place and will absolutely return if we can get the same low price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phluffy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We found this inn delightful. The grounds are incredible with gorgeous landscaping, sculpture, and water features. While I don't generally sit out at pools, it was a very nice pool and pool chairs. The room was well appointed. Check-in staff was delightful, including Chief Feline Officer, Arthur Junior. We've eaten in the onsite restaurant, which stands on its own. I am looking forward to another trip to Sonoma at MacArthur.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_HPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I read a few of the reviews online, and hesitated a little before booking here.

My hesitation vanished when I got some of the best customer service from Nancy the concierge that I have ever had at a hotel. I asked a few wine tasting based questions, and got a full page of A4 back with recommendations and places to visit. I was pretty surprised at the attention that I got from her. I know that it is her job to respond to guest questions, but most places would have responded with a few lines, rather than an essay.

I wrote to the GM to commend him on his staff, as people are often quick to complain but slow to praise, and got a fantastic reply back, thanking me for the time I took to email him, and that if there is anything that he or his team could do to make the stay more comfortable then I should get in touch. I knew then that the staff were going to be up to the expectations that I had.

On checking in, the reception staff were really friendly and courteous. They were not too full (the time of year I suppose) and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

On getting to the room, we were pretty blown away. The outside cedar tub was housed in a little hut with a small waterfall. The outside shower was fantastic, and the patio was private, and quaint.

The room was warm, thanks to the fireplace, and the oversized tub looked pretty fancy too. it did not get any use thanks to the cedar tub outside, but nonetheless the hydrotherapy jets looked pretty good.

Wine tasting aside, the hotel was the main attraction due to the rain and it did not disappoint. The two ladies in the Spa gave the best couples massage that I have ever had, and they were very sweet the whole time. The fitness center was small but stocked with all the equipment that you would need, and was clean too.

Ryan on the front desk was really accommodating too, from bringing champagne to the room on Sunday morning himself, to booking taxis on a busy Saturday night, he did it all with a smile. Asking for an extra hour on the check out time was met not with a $ fee, but with a smile and a flexibility that I do not get from many hotels that I stay in (and there have been a lot!)

Overall, the grounds were beautiful, the staff outstanding, and the quality of the room was WAY above my expectations.

This is a hotel that I will recommend to all my friends, colleagues, neighbors and everyone I meet that ever expresses an interest in Sonoma.

To Bill, Nancy, Ryan and everyone else that made this the best stay that I have had in a hotel for years, a heartfelt thank you. I will definitely be back.

Many, many thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank st_1982_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
207 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £220 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing