We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Stay in Sonoma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We spent three nights here and we thought the inn was superb. Our experience began when we had to change our reservations and dealt with the reservations manager, Valerie Brown. She went out of her way to help us, way beyond what we would normally expect. We stayed in a suite and it has ample room for two and had an extra sleeping area should there be a third person in your group. For us the high point was the landscaping. It is magical. No effort has been spared and we would sit on our terrace admiring the profusion of flowers and shrubs. Other positives included the concierge, the breakfast buffet staff and the pleasant afternoon wine social. We never experienced the pool or spa due to our busy schedule touring local wineries. They both looked lovely. It is about a ten minute walk to Sonoma Plaza so it is quite convenient to the Plaza's restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    158
    46
    17
    2
See reviews for
96
542
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed at the hotel for one night as we explored coastal Northern California and the Sonoma valley. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the property was (especially the gardens) and the layout, which gave the feel of a much larger area than it actually was. We were given a warm welcome upon arrival and found the staff we met sincere and warm. We had booked a standard King guestroom and were given an upgrade to a King Suite when we checked in. The room was especially spacious, but the best feature was the balcony (we were on the second floor) overlooking the gardens. It was a comfortable space for sitting and for watching birds. The room had all the amenities expected of a spa hotel and was very pleasantly decorated (no still lifes of grapes and wine bottles -- instead, pleasant artwork). The hotel offers wine tasting every afternoon in the library (with munchies) and also provides a complimentary continental breakfast. Both were nicely done (nothing impressive, but not disappointing either). Though out stay was brief, the hotel gave us a feel that it would be worth returning for a longer stay. There were no downsides.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We enjoyed the grounds with many places to sit and relax and listen to the birds. It is a short walk to the Sonoma Square so the location is perfect. We requested a room facing the courtyard which made it more peaceful. The room was comfortable and had the perfect heating and cooling system that was quiet and enabled you to set the perfect temperature. The wine and cheese tasting, which was offered at MacArthur Place, was a nice way to try wines from local wineries. The staff was very helpful and recommended places to eat and things to do in the area. I think this is the best place to stay when visiting Sonoma.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Life44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

WONDERFUL. That is about all I can say. I want to go back. NOW.

Room was luxurious, breakfast wonderful, gardens tranquil, massage blissfull, pool refreshing, and bed gave me the best sleep I think I've ever had. First rate!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeeteratredhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

I do not get on often to write a review--in fact this is only the second time I have reviewed a hotel but WOW was it great. Let me start by saying the staff is wonderful. Low key, helpful, kind and very accommodating. Check in was breeze and we arrived just in time for wine and cheese in the library.

The grounds are outstanding. Beautifully maintained--flowers everywhere. Many winding paths that are very interesting at every turn. We took a lot of pictures!

We stayed in one of the suites and it was worth every penny. The outdoor shower and tub were a real treat. The room was nicely appointed; very comfortable and very relaxing.

The breakfast in the restaurant Saddles is really quite good. They have a full menu available but my husband and I were both satisfied with the complimentary buffet.

One night we went for dinner at the bar of Saddles. The bartender was great--again very pleasant and low key. We really enjoyed talking with the locals seated near us who were also very friendly and entertaining!

If you find yourselves in the Sonoma area, give this place a chance. You will not be disappointed!

PS we each had a massage at the Spa. I had Victoria as my therapist and she was great!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momdoc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

My husband and I just got back from the most wonderful stay at MacArthur Place! We were there for two nights but we are as relaxed as if we were lucky enough to stay for a week. What a beautiful place! The grounds are truly magical with whimsical garden sculptures and wonderfully fragrant flowers and herbs. The pool and spa area is large with comfy loungers, fresh towels and a refreshing lemon water station. ~And then there was our room! It was perfect! The decor was rustic wine country elegance and the bed was super comfortable. My favorite thing in the big luxurious bathroom was the fabulous grape seed spa soaps and lotions...Super yummy! The room comes with a top-notch continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon. I had the best massage of my life by Cynthia at their spa and we rented their bikes for a super fun day seeing the sights of Sonoma and visiting a few wineries. The hotel is actually within walking distance to many wineries and to the square with great restaurants and shopping, but it was really fun to bike around town. We would give MacArthur Place TEN stars if we could and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire33059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

I usually am an observer on TA, but wanted to write a review for what I felt was a truly exceptional stay at MacArthur Place. First, it is a beautiful location very convenient to either Sonoma or Napa Valleys (we did some of each). The grounds are gorgeous -- there are gardens everywhere, and at the time that we arrived in March there were tons of flowers in bloom. From the moment we arrived, we felt completely taken care of. I think that the hotel was sold out at the time that we were there, but it nonetheless seemed like we were the only guests. We had so much fun getting to know Bunky at the front desk, who really went out of her way to make us comfortable and to take care of us - even staying late to help us with something. It was so impressive to me, given that I'm sure she had her hands full with a large group staying there -- unlike most other places I've stayed, I really felt like MacArthur Place made their guests a priority.
Also, our room was amazing! We had a suite with a jetted whirlpool tub and fireplace, and it was incredibly comfortable. We enjoyed a couple quiet, romantic evenings of fireside Scrabble (which we borrowed from the game room/library) with wine and cheese from the local market; I especially enjoyed taking baths with their great smelling bath products. The hotel also has a wine and cheese reception in the library during the afternoon, and yummy pastries in the morning -- which we thoroughly enjoyed when running off to our first winery visits of the day!
In sum, we found this to be the perfect place to relax, unwind, and enjoy some romance... definitely the highlight of our 10-day vacation in California!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCtraveler1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing