We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Auberge Sonoma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge Sonoma
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My sister and took our mother to Sonoma for her 70th birthday. We really could not have stayed at a better place in terms of convenience and charm. A few doors from the main square in Sonoma, Auberge Sonoma is just steps away from great food and shops. The surrounding residential neighborhood is a beautiful enclave of perfectly scaled single family cottages, ranches, bungalows, etc, each with an impeccable garden. Auberge Sonma is also a perfect home base from which to explore wineries and the countryside.

One of the best things about the suites themselves is their attention to detail and convenience. From irons to corkscrews to hair dryers, everything has been thought about in terms of making your stay easier. The decor is sharp, contemporary, warm and inviting. But of all the good things about Auberge Sonoma, the top prize goes to the beds which can't be beat in terms of comfort. When you travel as much as I do, that is a luxury worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culottes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

If you are going to Sonoma, this is the place to stay! It is conveniently located 1/2 block from Sonoma square, and is surrounded by shops, restaurants and tasting rooms. This 1/2 block allows you to leave your car behind and enjoy a stroll throughout town, and also means that you don't hear the traffic noises from the square. If you have children, the square has 2 playgrounds that our kids loved. The impecccably designed apartment has a great kitchen for making your own gourmet meals at "home". The furnishings are modern chic and comfortable. The linens are luxurious, the bathrooms are large with double sinks and powerful showers. It felt instantly like home (only nicer!).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFamBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We just celebrated my 40th birthday in Sonoma (May 15-17). Having been a repeat customer with Byron's other property, Cottage Sonoma, I knew Auberge Sonoma would not disappoint! We traveled with 4 couples total and rented the upstairs suite and the downstairs (front porch suite) So FUN! Everything we needed was there and everything was BRAND NEW! I know Byron has great taste and Auberge Sonoma is every bit of that! All 8 of us slept so well in the amazingly comfortable beds! We spent quite a bit of time sipping wine on the front porch! It was so nice to walk to breakfast, dinner, and shops right from the house. We even went dancing at Maya on Saturday night! The house was quiet at night and it was nice to have A/C since it was in the 90's during our stay. We will definitely be back and hope that Auberge Sonoma will be available. We have no doubt that once word gets out, this property will book up fast! Thanks Byron - it was the perfect stay in wine country!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We recently spent two days/nights at Auberge Sonoma, and found it to be one of the nicest, most comfortable places we've ever stayed. The apartment was recently remodeled and the care to detail, and the expense in the remodel, was obvious. The decor is beautiful, from the comfortable, attractive furniture to the hardwood floors, to the luxurious bedding and amazingly fully stocked kitchen. The location is perfect - just a block away from the Sonoma Town Square. The apartment is surrounded by great restaurants, shops and vineyards. Our goal was to go wine tasting at some of the smaller, "boutique" wineries in the area. We found many great ones within a short distance. The owner, Byron, was very helpful with tips on local restaurants and wineries to visit. We were very sad that we had to leave after two days. This place is beautiful enough that we wanted to stay a couple of weeks instead. I searched a long time on the Internet to find a two-bedroom place to stay, and this was by far the nicest of all available. And, the cost was very competitive to other properties in the area. I highly recommend Auberge Sonoma for a totally comfortable, relaxed, and luxurious place to stay in this great wine country area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Auberge Sonoma was a great place for our annual Sister's Week. The four of us enjoyed the spacious top floor 2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage. The location was great for exploring the rich history of the area and wonderful shops without having to drive. Great restaurants and fun shops were just doors away. We received some wonderful suggestions from Auberge Sonoma before arriving and truly enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4SistersWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Perhaps a symptom of how nicely Auberge Sonoma has been furnished is that when we arrived and went looking for a corkscrew, we found a rabbit and a foil cutter. This is not anything like your usual motel! The location is perfect - one block off the plaza, but not much traffic. We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We were very impressed with Byron's commitment to our comfort; as a newly opened inn, we wanted a few items that had not been supplied, but Byron obtained them for us nearly immediately. The beds and bedding were extremely comfortable, lighting has been well thought out and finishes throughout are very high quality. Given the chance we'll be back, and we'll likely choose to stay in Sonoma again rather than somewhere else in wine country just to be at Auberge Sonoma.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We recently stayed at this newly opened accommodation with good friends. Lucky us, we were the first renters to snag this great condo. We had the 2 bedroom unit in front and really loved everything about it.

We are "porch monkeys" so we loved having wine and munchies on the porch where we could watch the world of Sonoma go by. We were *spitting distance* from a restaurant we have enjoyed a couple of times while visiting wine country, Cafe Le Haye. How nice is that? We had the chance to meet Byron, the owner, as he was visiting to check up on a few items for us.

We took advantage of the kitchen and ate in a couple of nights. Not only was that a pleasant change from restaurant food each night, it was a nice savings as well. The owner will also give you details about using the FREE wireless internet in the unit. (Bring your own notebook...)

Washer, dryer and small ironing board as well. Laundry soap included!

We would most definitely rent this condo again, and would love to be in the front unit with the terrific front porch!

Lu & Tim, Illinois

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruebrezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.3 mi away
The Cottage Inn & Spa
The Cottage Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Sonoma
799 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Inn 2 Remember
An Inn 2 Remember
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sonoma

Address: 151 E Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6709
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sonoma
Price Range: £245 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom luxury suites in the heart of Sonoma’s WineCountry – ½ block from Sonoma’s Historic Town Square. Historic building, newly renovated. Full kitchens, fireplace, private porch, and private entrances. Sonoma Valley Winery Pass, valid for free wine tasting at over 30 Sonoma Valley Wineries, included! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Sonoma Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing