We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

General M.G. Vallejo Home
Ranked #30 of 101 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic home built by General Vallejo in 1850.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped here during a day of bike riding. Paid $3 entrance fee to the guard and we proceeded to see the rest of the property. The historic possessions are in good condition. At the house we met Ms Pat who was very knowledgable of the history of the property and family. She did a fine job testing us on the vocal war influence on the General's trade success. Great koi pond on the site. Watch out for mountain lions and rattlesnakes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We stopped here on our Segway tour.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old house in a picture perfect setting. Great spot to use the restroom at the start of the Segway tour - clean with flush toilets and runnung water.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank City_Girls_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First rate house museum and estate grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The video in the ticket barn kept both my grand-teens interest (much to my surprise). They especially liked the pond with turtles and huge koi up the hill just behind the house. The artifacts in the house are of course originals, but are in pristine condition. The piano in the house was one of the FIRST three pianos in all of California (shipped around the Horn). We almost had the grounds to ourselves. Quiet, peaceful, and good mix of indoor and outdoor things to see.

Stairs in house have a very low railing. No elevator of course. Steps up to the pond area. The upper cabin was closed for repairs. Bathroom pavilion to right of property off parking lot. Naturally cold drinking fountains (let run about a minute). Bike path goes direct from house to the rest of Sonoma SHP. Cars have to drive out and around through town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Little bit of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were out for a walk and found this. It is very well maintained, low key kind of attraction.. Beautiful grounds.. Admission is also good for the mission, and the barracks. It's only $3, so certainly worth the price of admission. And it is nice to learn some history of the area. I'd recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellen
Level Contributor
161 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Slice of Life in the 19th Century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Lovely old Victorian home (Carpenter Gothic) which was Mariano Vallejo's home. The dining room table is set as though the family was planning to dine. The living room has the musical instruments placed as though the family was going to hear some fine music after dinner. One interesting fact is that the exterior came from the East Coast around the Horn. But Vallejo liked the insulating qualities of adobe, so the inner walls are composed of adobe. It is a charming old home with lovely grounds. The Parks ranger came give you more details if you visit there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank corkiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General M.G. Vallejo Home also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to General M.G. Vallejo Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing