We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our stay at the Fairmont was incredible. The day we arrived, we booked a couples massage and took in the entire 40,000 square foot spa experience. From 5 different hot tubs, exfoliating showers, sauna's, and more, how could you not spend hours here! If you do a massage, ask for Glenn-phenomenal! If you can finish your experience in the Watsu pool at night, it is so relaxing to look up at the stars and listen to the music in the warm pool.
Dinner at the hotel restaurant is a must if you are looking to splurge. Great food and great service.
Our room was more than comfortable! From the bed to the closet space to the bathroom. We could have stayed there all day. The beds were very comfortable and the curtains really blocked out any light unwanted. The house cleaning was super nice and very quick!
The lobby was such a fun place to be. Either relaxing by the fire, or enjoying afternoon cookies, wine, or cheese, there is always something to do at this hotel. We weren't able to do a hike, but it seemed like people enjoyed them.
I felt it was a perfect distance from the square in Sonoma and more wineries up North of Sonoma. Getting to Napa was super easy, about a 40 minute drive.
The breakfast was very good.. great big portions. Enough to fill you up for wine tastings.
The property is just gorgeous and very serene. Each staff member made you feel at home! I am typically a fan of bed and breakfasts, but I would stay here again at any chance I could get!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent a romantic anniversary weekend here. Staff is so nice, not stuffy. Felt very comfortable here. We stayed in the main building. Decor was really nice. Modern but with an old world style to it. Spa was great, very relaxing. I can't recommend Sante enough. A must eat if you go there! The food is flawless, waiter was very nice, funny, and again, for being a Michelin restaurant the service wasn't snooty at all. Even the valets were so nice and helpful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsscoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your post and recommendations. We are delighted that you so enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Third time staying at Sonoma Mission and always have great time here. I like staying at the rooms attached to the main building as they just did major renovation to the bar/restaurant/lobby and the carpet in the hallway. It is super nice now. Classy yet contemporary. I remembered last time when I stayed here I was thinking the carpet really needed to go, and they did finally replaced the carpet. We got the room overlooking the pool in the main building, which was really nice. Originally we paid the $40 upgrade to a bigger room in the other building but was not happy with the outside corridors. That building actually looked older and the outside corridor looked like motel 6. Bottom line is, get a room in the main building. Pool view is nice.

We are at Cafe La Haye, Hot Box Grill, La Sallete, all great meals!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmond_ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The SMI is only about a 1/2 hour from our home but it sure is a lovely respite location to stay while traveling around Sonoma.

The Service was excellent! Truly professional and what you would expect from a Fairmont. The property is quite beautiful and well maintained. And yes.....a great spa. It's good enough to be it's own destination.

Some of the rooms that are attached to the main building are quite small. Ours was a bit larger, apparently newly renovated and immaculate but it had "old bones". The water took absolutely forever to turn hot in the shower (extreme waste of water) and the heat was so loud as it kicked on and off that we had to shut it off at night on a cold December night. Different room categories might mean newer buildings so I would do a little research.

We traveled with a group of friends to celebrate the holidays and found the bar and fire-pit to be shut down on the early side for a weekend but we made the best of it.

All in all....a lovely visit that I would be thrilled to duplicate in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Sonoma is such a cool, little town, and the Fairmont Sonoma is perfect for getting unwound and settled into the right "speed". Love the little bar with the ipad mini's for menus. Hadn't seen that before. We got tired of drinking wine after a couple days, and was nice to be able to have other cocktails. I had such a good time, I broke a full glass of wine in the bar, and the nice bartender cleaned up and replaced my glass for free! Apparently you can have too good a time...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have stayed with a number of Fairmont Hotels and decided to make a trip to Sonoma to try their hotel there.

I am glad I did. The good stuff includes:
a. High end beds, linens, pillows etc. so had an excellent sleep every night
b. The rooms are large and well fitted
c. The staff are very professional and helpful, on the front desk and in the spa
d. The spa facilities are first rate
e. We did yoga every day in the gym - the instructor was excellent

The less good stuff:
a. In-room dinning plates and glasses are left in the corridor overnight and most of the next day
b. The bathrooms don't have heating which means they are icy cold in winter
c. The crowd by the fire-pit outside can be rowdy at night and keep you awake with their merriment!

One other thing to know is that the hotel is a preserved building (which is great) but means there are no elevators so you need help with your bags and you might have problems if you have restricted mobility.

I loved the hotel and would definitely stay again. And another big bonus is that Sonoma Plaza is a real must see - so many town stores and restaurants - it is great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear BertBantham, Thank you for choosing our resort and for posting your comments. I am glad there were so many excellent aspects to your stay. I sincerely apologize that the In-room dining plates were left overnight and for any noise disturbance from other guests. We do try to create a wonderful environment for all guests. Please know that we do have elevators in some of our newer buildings and we are always pleased to accommodate any specific guest needs. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Everything at this lovely resort has changed for the better, and it was excellent to begin with! The Fairmont never fails to disappoint, yet this particular property pleases with grace and ease. The staff here are superb, and all go out of the way to make sure every tiny detail is to your satisfaction. The restaurant off the lobby, Sante, is the finest I have been to in this region. And no, I have not been to French Laundry for a comparison, because it is impossible to secure a reservation!
Thanks to all at the Sonoma Mission Inn. See you next year,

Room Tip: The Mission Suites are spacious and well laid out. Otherwise, the basic deluxe rooms are gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear sci, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you so enjoyed our renovations and the same “superb” service we have always strived for. We look forward to seeing you next year! Just let us know if there is anything we can do to assist with your future visit. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
10.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £178 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing