We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but doesn't deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Elegant lobby and wine bar. Nice pool but likely would get very crowded on a busy, warm day as it is quite small for the size of the place. Rooms small but comfortable. Bathroom clean and OK. One of our rooms on the 2nd floor at the top of the stairs from the lobby. Noise from bar & lobby made it impossible to sleep before midnight. Other room quiet. Rooms are amazingly small for what is billed as a top line hotel & spa. For the price that they charge there is a marked disconnect between $ and quality of the experience. Service excellent. I would imagine they only reason this hotel is able to charge the price that it does is because there is little competition for "luxury" housing.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room above the lobby and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doubleeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Doubleeagle, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you found the service to be excellent, but so sorry that we did not achieve the exceptional standards that we aim for in all areas during your stay. We do try to create great value for our guests with many complimentary inclusions for our guests such as complimentary daily wine tasting, yoga & fitness classes and guided hikes. We also have a variety of rooms and suite types to choose from that may better suit your needs in the future. Thank you again for choosing our resort for your visit and for your post. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We only stay at Fairmonts. The Sonoma Mission Inn is one of the best ones we have stayed in and we have stayed in all over the world, only in Fairmonts if we can help it. This place is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Thomas E, Thank you so much for your post. We are delighted we continue to remain on your “best” list. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very Clean and Well Appointed Spa/Hotel With Great Amenities And An Accommodating Staff. The Hotel Rooms Are Well Equipped With A Fully Stack Mini Bar, Luxury Robes, Sufficient Towels And All the Bells And Whistles Of An Elegant Spa/ Hotel. The Spa And Warm Mineral Spring Pools Are Outstanding!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank LaMarise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Arriving at the hotel comes in steps. First the valet takes luggage, while one goes in to register. Then one returns to the drive to be walked to the room. Our junior suite was just a large room, and quite dark - just one window that should open to a deck, but the doors hit the furniture on that deck - preventing access. The "bag" designed for the fireplace would not light, and one is advised nothing else may be burned in the fireplace. Bedding is very nice but the towels are not.
Internet is free for members of their loyalty program, but others must pay.
Beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Suenglish, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry that we did not quite hit the mark for you this stay. We certainly aim to make a seamless, beautiful stay for every guest. I am glad you did have a comfortable stay and enjoyed the grounds. Thank you for bringing to our attention the other items so we may look into them. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I want to start by saying that every staff member we encountered was amazing. Sadly, I can't say the same about the rest of the hotel. It was old and needed work, the carpet looked and smelled disgusting and there was so much noise outside of our room that were were unable to sleep (not that the paper thin pillows would have allowed us to anyway).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Laurie A, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you found our team so amazing. I do apologize for the disappointment with your room. We have recently replaced all of the main building carpeting and we regularly deep clean the carpets as well. We also have different types of pillows and are always happy to switch them out to suit our guests’ preferences. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Property and room are very dated, we were "upgraded" to "Suite experience".
Tile floors dirty, towel & linens worn, fixtures very old, TV screen fuzzy, internet slow. Will go back to Auberge du soleil instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ds M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont S, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Ds M, Thank you for your post. We do read all reviews and use this valuable guest feedback to ensure that we correct any area that needs attention. I apologize for the areas where we clearly missed the mark. We certainly aim to for excellence in all areas and I regret that we did not achieve that for you this stay. Thank you again for bringing these items to our attention. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hikes and water yoga are the special things to do at this property.
Try to take a hike with Sally Stone. She is energetic, fun, and really knows her plants. The hikes are in lovely locations of historical significance, special flora, or with views.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
666 reviews
2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £180 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing