We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
O'Neals
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as we drove up the space seemed very crowded. The valet and bellman, however were very attentive and helpful. My husband had to move our vehicle so that other cars could get out.
The reception/check-in area is very small and crowded, staff again is very attentive and helpful.
The room was nice. Pretty view of the south lawn, but the bathroom is small with the toilet right in the middle of the room. I prefer a separate area or partition for the toilet area. The tile is green and from the fifties. The shower is spacious, but again, green tile is outdated.
Overall it was ok. May or May not come again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank boardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear boardlady, Thank you for choosing our resort for your getaway and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate the feedback and do hope you will visit again. We have different kinds of rooms and suites with varying layouts that you may enjoy more. Thank you again for your patronage and post. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    324
    187
    76
    29
See reviews for
159
636
26
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 3 days and nights at this classic resort. The staff was welcoming on and offered a discounted upgrade, which was well worth the cost. The room was very well appointed, spotless, with a great shower, jacuzzi tub and private veranda for morning coffee. We were directed to a local eatery with the best Mexican food I've had in a while. We almost missedout on the unique mineral springs spa on the grounds, the use of which is included in the charges. Would definitely revisit this gem!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the villa was worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear CeeBee34698, Thank you for your post. We are delighted you so enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Awesome place. Pricey but worth it. We loved the spa, the pools at the spa, and the gorgeous lush landscaping which was beautiful to look at and made us feel relaxed. Added bonus was the morning hike!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Ron S, Thank you for your “beautiful” post. I am thrilled to read how much you loved the resort and complimentary hike experience as well. We hope to be able to share more of what our resort, and Sonoma Valley, have to offer again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our second visit to Sonoma Mission Inn and would come again. Family friendly, elegant but not pretentious, and feels like a piece of historical Sonoma with its architecture. The main pool is standard but kept our youngest busy on a hot day, and pool side libations are tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank saspatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear saspatel, Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that your family so enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn is truley a gem. Make sure you sign for the moring hikes (free) guided by wonderful guides in the prestine Wine Country Parks. The pools and service is very relaxing and the food at the Watertower Cafe is healthy and delicious.The Service and Staff is very friendly,helpful and customer oriented, from the moment you step on their grounds. It is a trip to heaven in Sonoma.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 691GPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear 691GPM, Thank you for your post. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at our resort on beautiful Sonoma Wine Country. We hope to welcome you back to “heaven in Sonoma” again soon. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

this is a nice looking property, but located in the middle on nothing...
we were there April 2013, there was construction going on. Additionally, the wall must be thin, as we could hear sounds from adjoining rooms. Hopefully all construction is done (seeing from other reviews, it appears so), check first.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFSMI, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear John G, Thank you for your post. We have indeed completed a comprehensive renovation which includes a detailed update of our lobby, lobby bar (38° North), Santé fine dining room, main building rooms and hallways, meeting rooms and landscaping of our resort. We hope to be able to welcome you back to enjoy all the new enhancements we have to offer. Kind regards, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I love this hotel. Years ago before Fairmont branded it, the Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa was a landmark wine country destination. The spa was fabulous and the lobby bar, restaurant and grounds were lovely enough to offset somewhat smaller rooms. At some point, the hotel was renovated and outbuildings were added housing lovely suites. The suites make the hotel worth the trip and worth the $$.

Fairmont is a great hotel chain, but room categories vary in experience as much as you can imagine. This property is no exception. I always choose a Mission Suite and love the large jacuzzi tub, fireplace and privacy offered for a couple's romantic getaway. The layout is ideal for a couple wishing to enjoy each other and not the sights or sounds of other guests. Unfortunately, the experience is quite different if staying in a Fairmont room or even a deluxe or superior room. There is just no comparison.

The restaurant is nice, but nice restaurants are abundant in the wine country so I'd give it 4 stars, too. The spa has a wonderful layout and great menu of treatments, and you can make an entire trip just to spend time for a few days at this spa and not be sorry.

All in all a great destination for local Bay Area people who just want to get away and be pampered at the spa or taste wine on the weekend and lay their heads closer to their last winery. Visitors from other areas will be a fair distance from other San Francisco sights, but might enjoy a few days at this hotel while they experience the wines of Sonoma.

Just be certain you choose your room category carefully. Ask about upgrades and splurge if you think your occasion warrants paying the extra $$ to share a soaking tub with that special someone by the fire. You won't get that sort of experience in a room but the hotel and area both have much to offer in either case.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Mission Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
2.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
7.0 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa

Property: Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Boyes Blvd., Sonoma, CA 95476-3678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#2 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn And Spa
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Hotel Sonoma
Sonoma Mission Inn
Fairmont Inn Mission Sonoma Spa
Sonoma Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing