We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Tours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley

Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley
Ranked #4 of 39 Tours in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join us on a wine tasting tour through historic Sonoma Valley aboard a motorized San Francisco Cable Car! The open-air design of the California Street cars offer a scenic view unmatched by any other vehicle. As you meet fellow wine enthusiasts and wine curious guests, you will learn about the rich local history of early California, and what makes Sonoma Valley such a popular destination for wine lovers and foodies all over the world.
Johnston, Rhode Island
1 review
“Wine Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great experience! The vineyards they chose to visit were each unique in their own ways...the tour guides at the vineyards experienced and willing to share their love of wine and little known facts. The trolley driver was superb! Added great little tidbits along the way and was very accomodating to each passenger! Well worth it!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    62
    17
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Globo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very low value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The trolley ride itself is fine, and the driver was friendly... but there wasn't much history-telling and even if there was it would not justify the cost! Lunch was deli sandwiches! Not even a decent meal while you're in the vineyards, to compliment the wine experience. The price is basically for the ride - you must still pay a 15-20% tip to the driver and pay for the wine tastings ($15-20 each), so it actually comes closer to $200 per person and not just the advertised $99.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank GreenFrogGlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVWTGeneral_Manager, General Manager at Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on our Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley tour.

We are happy that you enjoyed our Wine Trolley ride or tour. As you can see from our TripAdvisor reviews, we take our job very seriously.

You indicated that you did receive much history. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the driver’s information and our audio track. The drivers have done their own research on the valley’s history as well as our voice over professional, George Webber. Between the two of them, they usually provide quite a bit of information; especially, right as we pull out of the Historic Sonoma Plaza.

Our website indicates that our lunches are “Catered picnic lunches, from The Girl and the Fig.” They consist of a “Gourmet Family Style” picnic lunch; with five varieties of gourmet sandwiches to choose from; two different types of salads and fresh baked dessert options. And, depending on which winery we are at the day of your tour, an optional glass of wine as well. (Wine included in your tasting fee- Historic Buena Vista tour.)

You also indicate that the winery tasting fees and drivers gratuity were not included. You are correct. We advertise this on our website, when you book your reservation, on your tickets and our drivers also indicate this when you begin the tour.

Please note that we have negotiated all the winery tasting fees with each of our winery partners. For example, if you were to drive into the Benziger Family Winery on your own, you would expect to paid $25.00 pp. For our guests, the fee is $20.00 pp. And $10.00 of that goes for the previous tasting at Imagery Estate. The entire days tasting fees on the Wine Trolley are between $45.00 and $55.00. These fee's vary on the tour day you select. On average, your looking to spend about $11.45 per stop, per winery.

If you check with our competitors, you will note that tasting fees and gratuity are not included in their tour pricing either. For a full inclusive experience, you are looking to spend upwards of $250.00 pp plus; which makes our $99.00 look about the same as the competition.

Thank you again for taking the time to write us. We will note your comments and make sure that our employees continue to advise our guests of the additional fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Way To Tour Sonoma Wineries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were looking for a good way to tour a bunch of Sonoma wineries in one day and ran across the Wine Trolley. We thought it might be a bit hokey, but it turned out to be great way to sample a range of offerings around the town. We toured four wineries in and around Sonoma, including a couple of larger more well known brands and a couple of smaller more esoteric ones. The whole tour took most of the day (10:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.), and included a pretty good lunch.
The trolley was reasonably comfortable, and the driver was friendly and knowledgable. The group on the trolley was not so large as to be unwieldy, and the staff at each winery was ready for us. The tour was also quite educational, including some history of the town of Sonoma and the wine industry surrounding it, and a truly informative tour of the vineyards at one winery.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“More than I expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I happened to be in Sonoma by myself for 2 days, as part of a larger trip. Being there, it felt like it would be a shame to NOT try out some wineries! On the suggestion of my hotel front desk I signed up for the Wine Trolley. Being on my own, the trolley was a great way to meet new people & share the day's experiences. We hit up 4 different wineries. And they were all very different from each other - seeing that variety was interesting. Yes, it's true, the tastings are not included in the cost of the tour. However, each winery was incredibly generous. Then there's a catered lunch from Girl & the Fig! I was very happy with the wine tour & would definitely recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our FAVORITE part of our trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you are in Sonoma, you HAVE to take the wine trolley! It was, hands down, the best part of our trip! Will, our guide, was so fun, and the entire day was perfect!
Lunch was phenomenal and the wine tastings were great!
If you are in Sonoma, you do not want to miss this experience.
We will most certainly be doing this again for sure!!!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Valley Wine Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing