We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this little place!”
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Pueblo Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just needed a room for one night, traveling with my husband and two teenaged sons. Picked up a travel brochure in Sonoma and called around a few places. Found a vacancy here that met our needs at a decent rate considering the area. The hotel is a short drive from the cental town square. When we arrived, I was a little unsure b/c it didn't look very special from the outside. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and we were very pleased with our room. We had a two queen on the second (top) floor. We had a balcony that overlooked a bubbling fountain in the lush central garden. It was so peaceful to sit out on the balcony and sip my coffee in the morning. Room was basic but comfy. Bedding was nice, things were clean. Some rooms have fireplaces. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast, and I noticed that had bikes available....it would be easy to ride into town. The pool area seemed nice but didn't use it. Not a lot to do right around the hotel but if you wanted a comfy, reasonable place to base your Sonomoa trip, I would return here. There was a Whole Foods and a Safeway just down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatorGirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

We spent two nights here in May 2011. The hotel is a 15 minute minute walk from the centre of Sonoma. The room was large and ours had a nice fireplace. That said, given the price we paid, the facilities in the room (such as the old CRT television) were a little dated. The hotel's pool and hot tub were very good though and the premises were well maintained. There was free wireless internet and a good continental breakfast. We were slightly disappointed by the hotel's reception staff, who could hav been more helpful at times. Overall, this is a decent motel and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

If you're looking for a very basic, clean, no-frills motel with a pool, then this is the place. The grounds are kept very nice and the rooms are clean, however, don't expect any service. We just stayed there during the 113th Annual Sonoma Vintage Festival, yet the woman at the front desk had no knowledge of any of the aspects of the event when we asked some basic questions. Their continental breakfast had basic bread and pastries with the same old, dried up fruit for the 3 days we were there (we had coffee there, but ate at a lovely diner in town). The front desk was also very surly when we asked if we could possibly check out 1 hour later than normal as we were in a grape stomping contest, responding that 15 minutes was all they could do as they were booked. Their bill was also very confusing and didn't match the rate we got on-line when we booked the room -- when questioned, she said that we had to take it up with the on-line service as they were a separate company -- so, even though the booking was through the El Pueblo website, they offered no help!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Travel494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Enjoyed our extended weekend at this quaint hotel. I think we stayed in the newer section of the motel, although it was hard to tell. I was in another room in the other part and they looked exactly the same. All the bathrooms have dated tile?!?!

Our king room was small but it did the trick; we weren't in our room much anyway.

They do rent rooms for one night (as that's what I had reserved originally).

Great continental breakfast, although the staff isn't very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimeeT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I was a bit worried when we pulled up outside; it didn't look much. But the room, although a little dark, was wonderful - big, cosy armchairs, a very comfortable bed, a proper table, a lovely vuew onto the garden, and little touches too, like a nightlight in the bathroom. How sensible!
The breakfast wasn't necessarily exciting but it was more than adequate; the staff were helpful and very willing to suggest ideas and places to go. They even have a little dish of mini-chocolate bars at check-in! I didn't try the pool, but it seemed very hospitable to us. It would be a long walk into the main square, but it isn't THAT far is the weather's not too hot.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duettist96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

A lot of people have written about charm here, well if you consider old furnishings charming then you will love it. For $249 a night you would expect a little more than 2 fabric covered lazy boy recliners next to a bed. Sure I'd pay $139 for this room that is on a main street across the street from a muffler shop and strip malls.

The also charged me $25 after I check out for taxes... huh? I called and asked about the charge and they said it is their policy and it is for accounting purposes. The didn't tell me they were going to do that when I booked the room... They also charged my card for $224 as a hold against any possible room charges for one night... what - i mean how many bottles of water can I drink in 24 hours? 7 days later and the charge is still on my credit card.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan_613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed at El Pueblo Inn for three nights while visiting Sonoma area. It was great for our family of five. We stayed in the Adobe Suite. Very clean, cozy and comfortable. The pool and lush garden-ified courtyard was serene and beautiful! Also, was quiet on the side of the hotel we were on. The front of this inn is on the main drag in Sonoma, so you may want to ask for a room on the back side. Great orange juice at the breakfast too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goinwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.0 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
1.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
5.8 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Family Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £113 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pueblo Inn sits at the very heart of Wine Country, flanked by lush fields of grapes and filled with an ambience that blends Tuscan beauty with Adobe serenity. We're just a short drive from the famous city of San Francisco. From our door, day-trippers enjoy excursions to Sonoma Raceway, Jack London State Park, plaza wine tastings, shopping venues, fine dining eateries, pastry shops, biplane rides, hot air ballooning, and a whole host of delightful activities and sights. Guests delight in our ample amenities, including an interior garden for relaxing, 24-hour pool for swimming, and free Wi-Fi for web surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing