We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couple and family with 2 young kids”
Review of El Pueblo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pueblo Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We -- a senior couple (Room 132) -- stayed one night in the El Pueblo Inn, along with our daughter's family of four -- a couple with a 2 and 5 year-old (The suite, room 235). This was January 29, 2012. We all enjoyed it very much. The rooms were very clean, with coffee pots and dorm refrigerators. The suite had a trundle bed in the living area, and its bedroom had a microwave in addition to the other appliances.

Our single room, a "Sonoma King" was a large corner room very close to the fountain so we could enjoy the sound, with a gas fireplace and small patio. The bathroom had been updated with tile and a nice shower curtain. Our bed was comfortable, although the furniture was somewhat outdated but still clean. There was no traffic noise for these rooms and since it was in January, the hotel was not crowded, with very little noise from other patrons. The breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast - several different types of pastries which were pretty fresh, including decent croissants, about 5 types of cereal, yogurt, about 5 types of fruit, etc. One nice touch was large complimentary bars of the local olive oil soap at the reception desk.

We enjoyed the beautiful courtyard garden, and some of us took advantage of the hot tub. We would stay there again and my husband thought it a good deal. It is about less than a mile from the central City Hall Plaza, and did not seem too far from anything.

Room Tip: If the weather will be in the 50's like in January, having a patio room is not particularly usef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanJaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

This property was perfect for our January stay in Sonoma! Clean, large room, comfortable bed and one of the better breakfasts we've had. Desk staff helpful with menus, dining suggestions, even borrowed a corkscrew! Our stay was extended due to snow at home (sweet home, Chicago!) and we certainly enjoyed that extra day of sunshine! A "thank you" postcard arrived soon after we returned home, nice touch! We would certainly stay here again, hopefully in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOYCE633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I were spending Christmas Day with my oldest son who lives in Sonoma. All the family was going to be there, so we decided instead of driving home late that night, to stay at a Hotel. Well, after looking online everything was so expensive, so I went thru Orbitz and booked a room. Then the next day I called and upgraded our room from the Adobe King to the Sonoma King which had a fireplace, and a balcony overlooking their beautiful gardens. Because I had triple A , their was not much difference in price. Well, when we arrived and saw our room we couldn't believe it. Very large, wonderful bed, two recliners in front of the fireplace, nice TV, refrigerator, and really nice bathroom with beautiful large tiles. The toiletries were very nice. We couldn't believe it was this nice at such a low price. They had a swimming pool, hot tub, and a fitness room there also. The breakfast the next day was exceptional. And it too was included in the price. It was a buffet and they had lots of pastries, waffles, toast, cereals, fruits, juices, yogurt's. And in the room was hot chocolate, teas, coffee. Also, two packages of biscotti was near the coffee maker. It was quiet, and very beautiful. The gardens were very lush. But, out room was exceptional. The people working there were friendly and helpful. We definitely will be staying there again. Just a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the Sonoma or California room instead of the Adobe. And if you can get it, a view of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetraveling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have been meaning to review this inn for a long time. I was on a business/personal trip and stayed here for our business part in Sonoma. Very nice, clean, and comfy inn. Really beautiful gardens.

It is a bit older, but there is charm here. Good price considering some of the other places I looked at staying were much more than this inn.

Only several blocks to the town square. Also convienient to heading out to wineries!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were guided here by the tourist information after being worried that wine country would be expensive. The brief we gave was comfortable, clean and value for money. Our expectations were surpassed. Due to the appalling weather - torrential rain we weren't able to fully appreciate the grounds and external facilities.
Room was a bit dark - but the weather won't have helped but was comfortable and spacious.
Good buffet breakfast included.
Staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly.
Can't fault this place and would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

What a quaint little stay we had at the El Pueblo. Close to everything wine related in Sonoma! Pluses include the great little outdoor jacuzzi and pool, and the beautifully tended garden as well as free in room wifi and a continental breakfast. However it is an older hotel and thus you do hear your neighbors, and the room was very dark (perhaps this was intentional for mood). A great place to stay if you plan to spend very little time in the hotel...but if you are going for a romantic, lush, getaway - a nice VRBO or more expensive hotel may be more your pace.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, but I expect a second floor room may be better in terms of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilhigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Our first visit to El Pueblo we got a ground-floor room that was dark & not welcoming. Ick.
Most recent visit we asked for better higher-level room. Upper floor room was lighter and brighter (and more expensive than ground floor).
One key advantage to this hotel is that it does not require a 2-night minumum stay. During certain times of the year, many central Sonoma hotels and inns require 2-night minimum weekend stay, which is not always convenient for Bay Area folks who are looking for a single-night stay. Since we visit Sonoma often, this hotel has mostly been just a place to sleep for us. This time, we spent some time in the pool and spa area, and relaxed on the balcony.
The room was nice, upgraded/updated, (not very) private balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens etc.. They ask you to sign and swear you'll be quiet in the evening (Thank you!)
The pool and spa area are great & relaxing, but be aware there will be traffic noise.The breakfast is only continental; cereals, breads, fruit etc.. we have always taken things back to the room. The motel is about a mile from Sonoma town centre and is easly walk-able from town, or you can call Vern's Taxi, the local taxi service, for a short ride back.

Wish I could give them a 3 1/2-dot rating

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aginsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.8 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Inn

Address: 896 W Napa St, Sonoma, CA 95476-6415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £93 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pueblo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pueblo Inn sits at the very heart of Wine Country, flanked by lush fields of grapes and filled with an ambience that blends Tuscan beauty with Adobe serenity. We're just a short drive from the famous city of San Francisco. From our door, day-trippers enjoy excursions to Sonoma Raceway, Jack London State Park, plaza wine tastings, shopping venues, fine dining eateries, pastry shops, biplane rides, hot air ballooning, and a whole host of delightful activities and sights. Guests delight in our ample amenities, including an interior garden for relaxing, 24-hour pool for swimming, and free Wi-Fi for web surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Pueblo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Sonoma
El Pueblo Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing