We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, simple & unassuming”
Review of Sonoma Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonoma Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Not a cheap place considering SF and international hotel rates, but seems in line with Sonoma region. Stayed here for 2 nights for a friend's wedding. This is basically a renovated motel. Rooms are clean and cosy, albeit quite basic. Check in/out is simple and additional facilities are nonexistent. Easy to get in/out of the inn, although room safety/privacy is very minimal if you are used to major city hotels.

Room Tip: There are only ~10 rooms here, and most look the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LowboNBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

stayed here for a wedding in sonoma. was expecting a bit more given the price, but it is pretty basic all around. charming with a classic twist and helpful staff. rooms are pretty old, amenities need an upgrade and no real facilities to speak of, but i suppose thats what they advertise. i wasnt aware of the amenities as it was booked with a wedding party. if you want more facilities and willing to pay double, you can go up the street to the fairmont.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I know Sonoma is pricey, so through that lens this place is a deal. It is clean and fairly comfortable. There was a little patio off our room that was nice and private. The AC is quite noisy, but it could have just been the room we stayed in for the night. Staff was very friendly. It is quite a ways a way from the downtown area, but a 10 dollar taxi ride gets you there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbrazas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is clean, quiet, efficient and completely lackluster. If you're looking for nothing more than a roof and a bed, this place will be just fine. The shower water pressure was good; the rooms a decent size.

That said, I'm planning on looking for something else the next time I head to Sonoma. For the price of this place, I'm sure I could find something a bit better. The decor here is far from charming -- more like mismatched and a little maudlin. The bed had a thin, saggy mattress. I had minor electrical issues with the hair dryer and air conditioner (both promptly addressed by the management). The woman at the front desk during my check-in was not friendly at all.

Also, be warned that the upstairs rooms with a "shared balcony" are not quite as advertised on the Inn's website. The balcony is actually the common area of the 2nd floor landing, and it looks out over the parking lot. I was so disappointed! It feels much more open and communal than they'd suggest. We chose not to use it, and I never saw any other guests using it, either.

You're also about a 10-minute drive to the central Sonoma square. Wasn't a huge deal, but something to keep in mind. Not much to walk to from this spot.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a private outdoor seating area, go for the 1st floor patio queen rooms. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Accommodation in the wine country is never cheap and in that perspective this motel is probably good value, anywhere else I would call it very expensive. Our room (#2) was quite small with only a queen size bed, a chair and a very small table, but clean and well maintained. The private patio was nice, but on the street side of the hotel and Boyer Street is very busy so the value of the patio was limited due to the noise. The motel is not situated in Sonoma, but two miles north of downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights. It is not the Ritz but it is also not a cheap motel, the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom was much larger than expected. My only gripe was that the TV was not a new flatscreen, hardly worth registering here.

Be sure to ask for recommendations and coupons at the front desk. We got a few buy one get one free tasting cupons from them.

Also, the little diner on the property was really good. Cheap too!

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLPayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The inn is actually in Boyes Hot Springs, and it's about a 10-minute taxi ride to central Sonoma. Nevertheless, we found it a suitable base for exploring the wineries. We anticipated arriving after 7 p.m. and, as instructed on the confirmation email, phoned two days in advance to ask for late check-in instructions to be told they were open 'til 9 during the high season, which was a relief. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful on checking in and out. The rooms were fine, although the retro décor might not be to everyone's taste. The walls, furniture and bathroom were a little worn in places but the room was clean. Bonuses were the fridge and coffee maker.

The downsides were that the only place in the vicinity to get breakfast was the café attached to the motel. It was a great place but it wasn't ideal if you were in a hurry. We were, and we got fed up waiting for a table after 5 minutes so we left without breakfast. The only other places are in town or a 10-minute walk away (Big 3 Diner). The second minor mishap was when we requested to rent the bikes as advertised on the hotel's website. When they were presented to us, one was not in usable condition and the other had back-pedal breaks (which are not good if you're not used to them). The receptionist kindly offered to help us rent bikes from another outlet but we decided to get a taxi instead (this turned out cheaper than the bike rental in the end). Lastly, some of the residences across the road played loud music, but usually quietened down after 9 p.m.

These mishaps aside, this was a perfectly reasonable place to stay, certainly if you have a car. It was far cheaper than most of the overpriced places in central Sonoma.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room to avoid the worst of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
2.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Creek Inn

Address: 239 Boyes Blvd, Sonoma, CA 95476-3605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: £73 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonoma Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sonoma on Boyes Boulevard, just down the road from the world-renowned Sonoma Mission Inn, the Sonoma Creek Inn offers an affordable and casual alternative to pricey wine country Sonoma hotels - without sacrificing style and convenience. GUESTROOMSSonoma Creek Inn's 16 updated hotel rooms don't skimp on amenities. Many rooms have private outdoor patios or porches - just the ticket for relaxation after a busy day exploring the wine country. SPECIALSAvailable select times of the year, unbeatable specials, discounts and packages are offered. Check out our specials by clicking here and be sure to sign up on our email list to receive periodic offers. SONOMA LOCATIONThe neighborhood is close to wineries, parks and the downtown area of Sonoma is just a short drive away, with its historic Plaza, innovative restaurants and enticing shops. Our staff can assist you with arrangements for fun things to do in town such as tennis or golf at a nearby course in Sonoma, or an afternoon of pampering at the local spa while staying at our Sonoma hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sonoma Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Creek Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing