We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is an elegant place. It has a boutique hotel feel, is very well equipped (a mention here vfor the hot tub on the roof), and exudes comfort and invitation to relax. The setting is fine, just a short step to the centre of town. The reception staff were helpful and patient. The breakfast offered a good choice of hot and cold food and the complementary 'happy hour' (actually two), cheese and wine was a nice touch. We would certainly go back again if the opportunity arose (sadly unlikely as it's doubtful we'll ever be heading back to California again), and would heartily recommend it. One of the better hotels of its type we've stayed in over the years.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    201
    51
    9
    8
See reviews for
56
591
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Pros:
Easy check-in
Friendly staff at desk (though they were somewhat handcapped by problems out of their control, see below).
Nice lobby
Gas fireplace in room
Cute room design (though somewhat small for $$$ price)
Great location, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants.

CONS:
1) The sink in the bathroom does not drain. The staff informs me this is a "design flaw."
2) Second day our room has not been cleaned at all. The bed has not been made, bathroom not cleaned, trash not emptied, dirty dishes left in room. WHAT??? At this price? The reason given at the front desk is "Four Sisters is opening a new Inn soon" and they are very busy and stressed out with that so lots of things are "slipping through the cracks." Like customer service apparently. Nice.
3) Our room is in the back (#13). I don't recommend it unless you enjoy a view of a metal roof and a kids playground. This is not a Sonoma view, not even a wine country view. Certainly, not special (not at these prices $300/night).
4) We order breakfast in bed our first morning. It is only okay. Nothing special. The pancakes are not even cooked all the way (are raw and gooey in the middle). The fruit is a plate of cantelope. Again, not special. Not unique in anyway.
5) Computer in the lobby doesn't work when we try to use it. The software is outdated and won't let us open the attachment for our tour the next day. The staff stares at us blankly.
6) Bathroom had no counter/vanity space. There was no place for us to put out our personal items. There was extra toilet paper/tissues on shelves, leaving no place for us to put our items. Yet space under sink was unused (maybe left unused due to slow draining sink???).
7) Not impressed with small room, Teddy bear on bed (I'm a grown up), undercooked boring breakfast, and unserviced bathroom.
8) No HOT WATER (see below).
9) I left a fairly expensive pair of sandals in the room when we checked out. I remember within a couple of hours. I call back to the desk. They didn't find them. Have no record of them. This is the same folks that didn't clean the room AT ALL the day before, but today seem to have cleaned the room amazingly fast and my sandals have "poof!" disappeared into thin air! Nice.

When you think it can't get better, more special, we come back from dinner Saturday to discover there is no HOT WATER. NONE. No warm water even. So we have nothing but cold water from Saturday evening until the time we leave Sunday morning. Ridiculous is the kindest word I can use here. Again, the staff response is underwhelming. We are told they are "working on it" and it will be fixed by 8 a.m. Lovely, except we are leaving at 5 a.m. When we call back to the hotel at 10 a.m., we are told by the front desk it is still not fixed. I call later and am told it was finally fixed at 12:30 p.m.

No staff on duty early a.m or after 9 p.m. Am I in a boutique shop on the Sonoma Square or in the Twilight Zone?

Now to add insult to injury, the Inn has sent me a letter offering a discount to return. Seriously? I received nothing but ill-advised sorries while I was on the property and lots of excuses about how "Four Sisters is busy taking over and opening another property" and they think sending me a coupon for a discount on my next visit will make it all better.

The Inn at Sonoma should try getting it right the FIRST time. I would not return to the Inn at Sonoma and I cannot recommend it. If they can't get basic housekeeping and guest services right, sending a discount coupon AFTER my stay is much too little, much too late.

Room Tip: Room #13 is in the back with a great view of a metal roof and playground equipment. Enjoy. Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lulu_Pow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

A serene and beautiful place whilst in central Sonoma. We lOved this hotel. We booked online and we're greeted by truly warm and genuine staff. The staff member explained smartly and succinctly how the hotel operated, afternoon drinks, hotel layout etc - and you could tell he really did have a passion for the place. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and sonehow really fit with the Sonoma surroundings - contemporary, stylish but homely too.

Highlights for us were the afternoon drinks and nibbles, home made cookies! Late opening, peaceful hot tub and the fact that they have push bikes you can borrow (and after 30 miles around the wineries that hot tub feels even better).

Location couldn't be better in my view. It's easy to find when you come into town and a short 5 minute stroll into the central square - short enough to get into town and long enough to aid digestion after a beautiful meal at the girl and the fig!

I would stay there again in the blink of an eye. In fact I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sonoma!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Sonoma May 12-14th, 2012. The room was nice and cozy and we even used the fireplace on evening. The happy hour and the breakfast was a great touch. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - just 1.5 blocks from the square. There is ample parking and the Inn itself feels very private. The hot tub on the 2nd floor is a nice touch, too. I don't think there is a bad room - we were on the 2nd floor and faced the back. I just wish the rate were a bit lower as we paid almost $600 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Pictures and reviews are helpful but you never really know until you get there. Inn at Sonoma was just what we were hoping it would be. Quiet, relaxing, cozy, amazing location, best breakfast ever which is included with your stay. They have bikes you can borrow which we did several times and rode around the plaza, rode to dinner, wine tasted. We actually didn't think we would take advantage of the afternoon wine and cheese because we figured we would be wined out by then but actually it was really nice after wine tasting to come back and relax at the hotel and get some snacks, they had a great selection of not only cheeses and crackers but a vegetable tray and fruit etc. We did use the hot tub as well which they are refurbishing but was fine for our purposes.

I have to rave about the breakfast each morning because I really do not enjoy going out to breakfast, I do eat breakfast but I just don't enjoy eating a big hearty breakfast of pancakes and eggs. The breakfast we had each morning was so incredibly delicious I can see why they sell a cookbook. What a treat, everything from the fresh whole wheat pancakes with real maple syrup to the frittata to the yogurt with fresh coconut and pecans, it was so perfect.

The rooms were cozy, the beds were incredibly comfortable, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

We will for sure stay here the next time we come back!!!!!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the property are adjacent to a school so weekends shouldnt be an issue but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bulldogluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Walking distance to the town plaza and restaurants. Great room with a hearty and diverse breakfast served each morning. Afternoon wine & chees. Coffe, tea and cookies available all day. Great service in all areas. We stayed on the second floor which was a little more private. Inn is quiet with all conveniences. The Inn at Sonoma is more like a small hotel rather than a B&B. Great hot tub on the roof (2nd floor).

Room Tip: Any room would be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay here! Our room was so comfy with a fireplace and a fabulous bed! Breakfast was different and so good every morning!! Great coffee!! We looked forward to complimentary wine and an assortment of fresh veggies and cheese in the afternoon where it was so nice to talk to other guests from around the world.
The location was perfect for us. You can leave your car parked in the Inn's underground garage and walk 5 minutes to the square for restaurants and shopping!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
6.6 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 630 Broadway, Sonoma, CA 95476-7002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with the quiet pace, beautiful vistas and fabulous food and wine of the Sonoma Valley. Coupled with a year-round temperate climate, this is a wonderful place to explore - no matter what the season. Conveniently located just two blocks from the historic Sonoma Plaza, the Inn at Sonoma is the perfect destination for your Wine Country visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Sonoma - a Four Sisters Hotel Sonoma
Inn At Sonoma - a 4 Sisters Inn
Hotel Sonoma
Inn Sonoma
Sonoma Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing