We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small place big flavor”
Review of Cafe La Haye

Cafe La Haye
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe La Haye is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Street East
Description: Cafe La Haye is a 34 seat American Bistro in the town of Sonoma serving locally sourced cuisine.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small place big flavor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So glad we made recommendations. Fresh ingredients & delish entrees. Before or after dinner you can walk around the town center and shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    96
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, unique, relaxed”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a special surprise in an area that does not lack for good food. A welcoming host, great service, and fresh, tasty food. Fish, pasta, sauces, dessert were all so creative but not over done. One of the best meals in California! Would recommend and will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soxfan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
“Very nice.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After reading the reviews I booked this well in advance of our trip to Sonoma to celebrate my husbands birthday. The menu is limited to start with, and when we arrived for our 8:30 reservation several of the menu items were sold out, which meant we ordered things we would not have tried otherwise tried. The artichoke soup and the pork chop were perfectly prepared and presented. My husbands steak was fine - but not special. He opted out of the poached egg and hollandaise topping (just could not imagine that on the filet and mashed potatoes) so we did fully experience the chef's intention. We ended up preferring some of the other restaurants we wandered into on Sonoma Square. The service at La Haye was friendly and attentive. Nothing bad to report, but we left mildly disappointed. Maybe we expected too much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thank you for the decadent chocolate birthday desert!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The menu is fresh and unique. The owner and service were so gracious. Very highly recommend this for dinning in Sonoma.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelingon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in the Carneros region? Best kept secret in the wine country - make reservations!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great food and great service - a casual yet elegant dining experience with flawless food and service to match. The locals line up here for dinner so be sure to get a reservation a day or two before you go. I had the Fresh tagliarini pasta, lamb meatballs, spring vegetables, roasted garlic ricotta and spouse had the Duck confit & frisée salad, haricot vert, quail egg, radish, mustard-sherry vinaigrette, which is actually a starter but was enough to call it dinner.
My pasta portion was very generous and really good. Spouse loved the duck confit. I highly recommend this place but be sure to get a reservation as it is tiny and a local favorite, unless you want to wait on the sidewalk for a table to open up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SactoDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe La Haye also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Cafe La Haye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing