We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aloof and sloppy”
Review of Ledson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ledson Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2005

We just returned from our annual weekend to the wine country. We stayed at the Ledson for the 2nd year in a row and were not thrilled. Last year they were a little "green ' having just been opened a year so we let a few things slide. This year we were expecting them to have it together. It started with Michelle the owner. I had booked my reservation 6 months prior and called 1 month in advance to find out if any new restaurants had opened in the last year. She was very vague and said she didn't venture outside of Sonoma much(I was actaully asking about the Sonoma area) and said a friend had been talking about a new place that had opened in Napa that was a kin to the French laundry. I asked if she could get a reserv. Two weeks went by and no phone call. I called again to refresh her memory. She said she tried to call her friend but couldn"t get a hold of her. YEEAAA,...could you maybe go the extra mile and either call me back with that info or possibly try again? She also offered to help with any spa resev. I told her I would call back to let her know if Sat. or Sun would work out better. Called back, left a message and still no word. Being a concierge is not what she as an owner(or her staff) are about so don't trouble her. I never heard back about the restaurant either
As for the room. Beautiful but not without some wear in the last year. There was visible "chunk" of plaster fallen from the wall on the way to the bathroom that needed repair. As for service in basic room keeping and ameneties it was sorely lacking. After our first night we had an early appt. and asked if we could get some toast or a bagel earlier(20) min or so than the usua 9-10:30 breakfast time. We were told no.
also the coffe in the upper hallway was to be ready at 7:30am. No coffee! There were 4 pots out and none of them were marked as to Regular, Decaff, Hot water etc. Also on the little deck outside the room overlooking the square...tons of pidgeon poop that had not been cleaned in a whileGROSS! Do you know what that does to a person!
When we came back from a long day we arrived to dirty wine glasses that had not been removed. dirty drinking glasses that had not been replenished and no new toiletries! Even the Best Western does that!
I was very dissappointed and we won't be back. I think a small hotel of that price range should bend over backwards! I mean they only have 6 rooms! If aloof and sloppy are what you want GO FOR IT!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank cmhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 207 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2005

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Ledson Hotel and can't wait to return! The property is perfectly located (right on the Sonoma Square) and the rooms are beautifuly furnished. I have attached a few photos the Whitby Room (since no photos are posted on their website). The attention to detail (such as a dozen roses in the room upon our arrival in celebration of my birthday as well as a bottle of wine and fruit plate) and level of service are unmatched. The best feature by far is the small and attentive staff. Gregg, Holly and Angel truly made us feel like royalty for the weekend... we'll see you all next year!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank crzyred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2004

After doing quite a bit of research to find a hotel in Napa I took a chance with the Ledson as it is right on the square in Sonoma - what a find! The hotel exceeded our expectations - beautifully furnished - luxurious, and very personal ( only 6 rooms). Service was excellent and they helped us arrange some tours and made restaurant reservations plus an excellent, unforgettable tasting at the Ledson winery. I would highly recommend the hotel and also their restaurant below - we tried another restaurant on the square - Cafe Le haye which was very disappointing.

12  Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scarborough, NY
221
Reviewed 19 November 2004

What a great experience! We had researched hotels in the Sonoma area and found the Ledson to be the best choice since it was right on the square. The staff was terrific and could not have been more helpful. Prior to our trip, they contacted us to see if we had any specific wineries we were interested in visiting and built an itinerary with arranged tours for each day of our stay. The life entertainment of piano music in the restaurant & bar made for a very enjoyable atmosphere and the food was terrific -- breakfast certainly wasn't your typical "continental-style" but rather a full meal!

Each of the six rooms are beautifully appointed and staying at the Ledson was one of the highlights of our trip to the wine country -- can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2004

Pure and utter indulgence.

This being a small place and us arriving mid week, gave us a very personal feeling with the staff. We actually felt as is we just got home from a long journey.
The room (Winslow) was absolutely gorgeous, all very plush furnishings from the heavy drapes to the damast sheets. Ambient music throughout, added to the feeling of relaxation. The jacuzzi bath in the room, was sadly neglected by us but time was a precious commodity which we prefered to spend in the wonderful restaurant below us. Getting back to the room, the 2 sink washroom and the black marble shower, all added supremley to our well being. A cheese platter and complimentary bottle of wine help to get you into the right spirits, supported by the absolutely magnificent truffles waiting for you on your return to your room, sitting on a wedgwood plate, nestled in a pillow on top of your downturned bed. The complimentary breakfast, which gets served from 9-10:30, just adds to the indulgence. In other places breakfast finishes at 9:00. At the Ledson, your day starts at your convenience. Breakfast was a treat as well of course and served us well for the rest of the day.
Do we have any complaints, yes, why did we have to leave.

10  Thank ursirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bordigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
6.5 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledson Hotel

Address: 480 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £233 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ledson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ledson Hotel features six individually decorated guest rooms that are named after the legendary Ledson family members: William, Noble, Whitby, Winslow, Barker, and Edna. Appointed with antique grandeur, and paired with modern amenities, each room reflects a different personality with almost 400 square feet of luxury and comfort for your convenience. All rooms are equipped with king-sized beds, whirlpool tubs with a separate standing shower, marble sink vanity, complimentary Internet access, refrigerator, fireplace and balcony. One guestroom is equipped with wheelchair accessible facilities. The rooms boast views of the historic and bustling Sonoma Plaza or overlook the rustic backstreets that make Sonoma quaint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ledson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledson Hotel And Centre Du Vin
Ledson Hotel Sonoma
Ledson Hotel Harmony Lounge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing