We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Terrific Location, A Favorite New Hotel”
Review of Ledson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ledson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
tsigdinos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service, Terrific Location, A Favorite New Hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We made a last minute decision to go to Sonoma over Halloween weekend and remembered a lovely-looking hotel on Sonoma's Town Plaza. A quick check online and we discovered a Fall/Winter special at the Ledson Hotel that gave us not only a wonderful place to stay but a special, private tasting at the Ledson Winery. Tremendous service in both places and lots of happy memories. We'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsigdinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    22
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
142
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

When we walked through the doors of the Ledson we were immediately greeted by name and shown to our room. Classical music was playing throughout the very large and beautiful room. I opened the french doors and stood on the balcony breathing in the cool night air. The bed linens were so decadent...I wanted to steel their sheets off the bed! In the morning a knock on the door and there was Angel (the most appropriate name) delivering a breakfast tray of fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, mini quiche and french pastries. It was so lovely sitting on the balcony sipping coffee and and enjoying the town of Sonoma waking up

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spalmermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is right on Sonoma Plaza, i.e., very convenient for all locations in the city center, which is the main reason we chose it. The hotel also promises high-end accommodation. Overall, though, we were pretty disappointed given the high price.

Price-wise, this is a high-end hotel. Unfortunately, the furnishing is really the only high-end attribute. Many things about this hotel don't work well, and service is not in line with the price. There were many small annoyances: a shower head shooting needles; figuring out the use of a half-dozen light switches, but having no light for reading in bed; a loud AC that kept changing our settings and woke us up early in the morning; music and commotion at night from the pub nearby. The larger problem, though, is that management tries to run this small hotel with minimal staff by outsourcing most services. (For example, there's no staff on site at night. You call somebody who lives nearby instead.) A concrete example where this didn't work well is breakfast. A fixed menu of continental breakfast items is brought to the room in the morning. There is no choice as to what to eat or drink (e.g., we weren't asked if we wanted tea instead of coffee). At least in our room, there wasn't really enough room to eat, so we were juggling by putting plates on the tray, the bed, or the desk. (Eating on the balcony was nice, though.) A fixed menu is fine in a B&B, where it's home-made, but didn't work here. Altogether, instead of eating breakfast in a luxurious environment with comprehensive menu options, you're making do with a limited selection in a cramped setting. In my opinion, that just doesn't do for a $400 per night hotel.

As nice as the staff was, and as convenient as the setting is, the overall experience was a let-down for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here in 2008 and have just got around to reviewing the Ledson.

The Ledson is a small hotel consisting of six bedrooms and faces the square in Sonoma. Check in was smooth and simple and the hotel provides free ample parking for guests. Our room was lovely and provided old worldy charm but with all the comforts of a modern first class hotel. We had a rear facing room with balcony, jacuzzi bath and a large comfortable bed. The free wine tasting at the Ledson Harmony was excellent and added to the whole experience. The hotel bar is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day and the wines provided are delicious.

If i was ever staying in the area again i would without doubt stay at the Ledson again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soho_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We spent Thanksgiving weekend at this six room luxurious quaint hotel. From the moment I booked the room with the owner Michelle I had an instant liking to this place. I called Chenoa many times with many concerns, she addressed every issue and had the room exactly as we wanted it prior to checking in. Every morning Angel made us a very nutritious continental style breakfast left at our door. The hotel appears to be over 100 years old by the styling and decor, but hiddent gems throughout are modern convienences, such as wireless modems, surround sound and thermostat controlled fireplaces in each room. The only area I saw lacking in the hotel was no HD TV's in the rooms.

Each of the six rooms are individually decorated with a modern antique feel. The three front rooms overlook the historic Sonoma town square, park and store fronts along with Fort Sonoma. The hotel is ideally located among retail stores, restaurants, gift shops and a park around the center city hall. Each room has a jacuzzi tub with the ability to sit in and look out onto the center park and historic City Hall while relaxing in the bubbles.

The hotel bartenders Peter and Ken offer friendly and lively pouring of mixed drinks as well as the namesakes line of wines by the glass. The hotel has an added bonus of what the winery does not by pouring their second wine label of Zina Hyde selections which are equally as impressive as the Ledson varietals. The highlight of our time spent at the hotel was just sitting at the bar, chatting with the friendly employees, other guests and the locals who frequent the Harmony Lounge. The Lounge offered us anything we were in the mood for. An outstanding red and white wine selection, friendly conversation, a hide away TV for sporting events, great referrals around the county and a wonderful atmosphere that makes you feel like part of a family. The manager Sam proactively took care of our every need and treated us as if we were the only guests in the hotel.

We loved our time at this hotel and can't wait for a return trip, but it really was the people who work there that made our stay special, I think we will long after remember the people of this hotel just as much as the hotel itself.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARedWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My partner and i stayed here for 3 days in March and it was HORRIBLE!!!! Service was beyond bad and its completely over priced for such a small hotel. Its close to everything, but i'd rather be a little further off the plaza and get my money's worth. Deffinately not staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roberta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ledson Hotel for 4 days last March. We arrived during a photo shoot the hotel was doing for their new brochures. We were immediately greeted by both Michelle (hotel manager) and Steve (hotel owner) Ledson and shown to ours rooms. We were invited to come back down for a drink and to be part of the shoot if we wanted! After our long day of traveling we declined, but definitely spent quality time in the Harmony Lounge.

Our room was absolutely beautiful. The high ceilings, detailed floors, and marbled bathroom were all more than we expected. The complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch and we enjoyed it right away. Although confusing, the multiple channels on the tv were a nice addition if you had any time to watch it!

We loved the location of this hotel in the Sonoma Square. We were able to walk to a few wineries from the hotel. The furthest we walked was to Ravenswood Winery...but keep in mind we're both in our early twenties. It wasn't the shortest walk! You cannot, must not, miss your complimentary wine tasting at Ledson Winery. We felt like VIPs in our private tasting room. The small sample of food pairings was a great addition that really made the tasting unique from others we had done in the area. The market at the winery had great selections for lunch and the grounds of the winery were the perfect place to enjoy it. Steve Ledson has done an incredible job with both his winery and his hotel. The details and time taken to make these building so special did not go unnoticed. For another look at his work, you should take a drive through his subdivision he has developed in Sonoma.

The breakfast each morning was always ready before we were and always delicious. On the mornings when we were the only guests the breakfast was outside our door. When the hotel was full it was served in the Harmony Lounge. We didn't mind at all and loved going down to the quaint lounge for breakfast. The delicious cinnamon croissant thingys were my favourite and I discovered on a later trip you can buy them at the bakery two doors down!

Our stay at Ledson was, by far, one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. It feels so homey and yet so elegant. There is not a lot of staff/guest interaction in the later hours. But we enjoyed feeling like we were staying in our own little home at night without someone babysitting us!

Highly recommended for a romantic wine country getaway. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliebagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.0 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
6.5 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledson Hotel

Property: Ledson Hotel
Address: 480 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ledson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ledson Hotel features six individually decorated guest rooms that are named after the legendary Ledson family members: William, Noble, Whitby, Winslow, Barker, and Edna. Appointed with antique grandeur, and paired with modern amenities, each room reflects a different personality with almost 400 square feet of luxury and comfort for your convenience. All rooms are equipped with king-sized beds, whirlpool tubs with a separate standing shower, marble sink vanity, complimentary Internet access, refrigerator, fireplace and balcony. One guestroom is equipped with wheelchair accessible facilities. The rooms boast views of the historic and bustling Sonoma Plaza or overlook the rustic backstreets that make Sonoma quaint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ledson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledson Hotel And Centre Du Vin
Ledson Hotel Sonoma
Ledson Hotel Harmony Lounge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing