We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the girl & the fig

the girl & the fig
Ranked #4 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st St.
Description: Wine Country Destination restaurant in the heart of Sonoma Valley. Country Food with a French Passion. Seasonal local products, award winning Rhone-Alone winelist, full bar with aperitifs and unique cocktails. Enjoy seasonal garden patio dining.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All around great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The waitress was SOOOO knowledgeable about the wine selection - amazing to someone like me who is still a wine novice. My friend and I shared an arugula and fig salad - more than enough to feed both of us. I had the local king salmon, and my friend the wild flounder meunière - excellent choices. We were pleasantly full, so we did pass on the dessert.

The night was a bit cool so the portable heat lamps were brought out - well appreciated. I noticed one customer was even given a blanket to cover her legs - unusual, but showed the restaurant's willingness to please their customer.

HIGHLY recommend - would definitely visit again, especially since it was attached to our hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris34411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    693
    257
    82
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ask for Geoffrey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our waiter made this lunch experience delightful and delicious. His suggestion for a flight of whites to taste was perfect and the food was excellent. Book early!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La cuisine est fantastique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went here based on a recommendation from some of the local wine tasting hosts. The food, wine, service, and ambiance were all wonderful. The salads were creative and thoughtfully composed, the produce was tremendously fresh, the beef was juicy and cooked exactly as I ordered. My wife's mussels were perfumed with anise, and the waiter's suggested wine pairings were perfect. Don't miss out on the cheese - they carry an extensive collection of locally produced artisan cheeses selected and served by a specialty cheese-chef (or cheese-sommalier?). We sat outside, and except for a few bugs (that can't be helped), the experience was pretty much perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyboy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must when you are in Sonoma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The meal here was fabulous!! We came early and got a drink in the beautiful bar and ordered the cheese plate. Our table was ready before the cheese plate, so we had it brought to us outside at our table. the full meal was delicious! I had the chef's selected menu and my husband ordered a la carte. everything was great and we would definitely eat here again. Service was excellent and everyone was so friendly. Server gave great winery suggestions!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fsbillet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice patio for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had lunch at the girl & the fig today and had a nice meal. We were quite happy with the patio ... why eat inside on a day like today ... and the server, Brie, was outstanding.

There were 4 of us and we enjoyed the sirloin burger, fig/arugula salad and the baked eggs but the pork belly sandwich left something to be desired ... meat. The pork was three chunks of inedible fat with two or three tiny bits of meat attached ... very disappointing.

We're looking forward to another visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank two_cachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the girl & the fig also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to the girl & the fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing