We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost great, but not quite there...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Meritage - CLOSED

Meritage
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Italian, French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St West
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Almost great, but not quite there...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked on december 30, by walking in, for new year's eve. They were able to accomodate us on such short notice, so we were a little skeptical. We arrived at the set time, and were seated within 10 minutes... Awesome! We ordered from the set new year's eve menu - very nice options... The food served was very good, up until desert... The taste of each of the first 4 courses was awesome! The desert fell far short of the rest of the meal. The staff was very friendly, but the chef-owner ignored just about everyone in the restaurant but a table of friends and a pretty long haired blonde at the bar... He circulated through the restaurant on at least 10 occasions through our 1.5 hours in the restaurant... He could have stopped at each table for a quick hello and how are you enjoying the food - opportunity lost! Despite the mix-ups in our dinner, would have given the place an excellent review, but given the chef-owners lack of attention ( he was aware of the significant mix-ups) we'll not give the place full marks. But the food was great as was the service staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colleens941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Its Crab Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

And this place knows how to do it!!

And Oysters and great service and great downtown walk to location.

ENJOY!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worse Than Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Went on a Friday night. The noise level was as bad as it gets, impossible to converse with your dinner guests. We were a party of six. One guests had to send her food back as it was raw, then it came back so overcooked she could not eat it. Another guests had his order dropped, so he sat there with no food for 15 minutes waiting for it to be prepared. The rest of us waited for 5 minutes, then he insisted that we eat. Our food was by then cold.
Adding insult to injury, an 18 percent tip was added to the bill.
Every place has an off night, but this is one place I'll never give a second chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I come here for the gnocchi. It's really tasty. I like the service too. They also have a good wine list and some tasty cocktails. Good prices during happy hour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silverhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed Meritage during a recent trip to Sonoma. We had a reservation and were promptly seated. Although the restaurant had a fairly extensive wine list we brought a couple of bottles to share among the party of three. The food was outstanding, the atmosphere relaxed, and the service very attentive. Prices for the area and the high quality were reasonable. It was definitely worth the trip and highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Foodwinegoofnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meritage also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing