We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cottage Inn & Spa Ranks Right at the Top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We booked this lovely Inn from an advertisement on line. We couldn't get the room we wanted but as I got to talking to Faye, the owner, she was more than accommodating about getting the room for us at a not too future date.

When we drove up to the Inn, we were greeted by Faye and the most friendly staff, Then we went up to our room but I would hardly call this fabulous suite a "room". The name of the room is the Vineyard View Room. You walk through a center court with a glass fire pit and lounging chairs, where you can go for wine and cheese on certain nights. Lots of candles and ambiance. We then went up the stairs to the suite. Our first site was the table between the couches, that had a bottle of Gloria Ferrer champagne waiting for us, as it was our anniversary, and two beautiful wine glasses. Behind the table is a fireplace and at the top there are large windows that view a vineyard. To the left was a set breakfast table, with fresh flowers. To the right was a coffee bar, breakfast items in the cupboard and a fridge stocked with milk, fresh orange juice, etc. On the opposite side of the room there is a king size bed and an open bath with a shower and jacuzzi for two. I was impressed!

They were having a wine and cheese that evening with a winemaker showing his wares. We didn't want more to drink, but I went downstairs and brought up a tray of cheeses and crackers (these were not cheeses from Safeway, either!). Faye had graciously made reservations at The Depot for dinner and we were able to walk over there. She knew that I am a food critic, so she was careful to pick a wonderful restaurant and it is.

The next day, we made coffee and went to the bottom of the stairs to find a basket full of pastries for our breakfast. These people know how to do it right! Then we took off for the Sonoma Square, which is only a few blocks away. It was later in the day, so we went to The Girl and The Fig for lunch and ate at the bar and then wandered around the square.

If you are looking for a really special place to share with someone, this is it. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Excellent place for a couple to spend some time alone - that's what why we were there.

Kind of a B & B but very secluded, and you don't have to share bathrooms or eat at a common breakfast room/table.

Really enjoyed the non-intrusiveness of the staff (and other guests), that allowed us to completely relax. Two person jacuzzi was actually large enough for both of us and we could face the wood burning fireplace while in there.

Great tip from the front desk about where to go in Sonoma Valley, they provide a card with complimentary wine tastings at the local wineries. We took their suggestion and went to a redwood forest near Santa Rosa, that's a perfect destination for nature lovers and a great drive to get there.

It's more expensive than a hotel but the amenities and privacy are definitely worth it. We're going to come back annually and enjoy this special inn.

Room Tip: We booked the cathedral room, don't know about other rooms. Really cool to wake up to daylight s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Recently enjoyed the most romantic vacation ever...and coming from an uncharacteristically, unromantic girl...thats saying a lot. The Cottage Inn & Spa is a special place. Somehow, the staff manages to be the most attentive, accommodating and helpful in the business, without ever interrupting or disrupting.

I stayed at 2 locations while traveling to Sonoma--that was my only mistake. I couldn't decide which hotel to pick based on all of the fabulous review (committment issues). If you are in the same perdicament...just stay here..stay here the whole time, you will not regret it. In fact, you will love it.

Every detail was accounted for...in our room: fresh fruit and flowers every day, music playing when we walked in, a ready to light fireplace (yes, we're probably the only people from the northeast who lit a fire in CA in March), jacuzzi, heated mattress pad, chaise lounge..and the list goes on. We stayed in the Chapel room, and despite all of these fabulous amenities...it is not even their version of a suite.

The experience was even better than the 'stuff.' Enjoyed fresh and delicious blueberry muffins, juice and cereal together, in our room each morning. For an early riser, like me, this was perfect to come back to after my early AM run. The location is walking distance, literally 1 block, from everything you'd want to eat, drink, or buy (well, everything you do not need a car for--ie: vineyard tours)...and ample street parking. In fact, several vineyards are only about 2 miles away, so, on foot or bike, also not bad. Relax, go out, drink wine, return to the open courtyard and serene fire pit. Go out, eat dinner, drink more wine. Repeat for several days.

In between there, GET A MASSAGE from Willow at the spa. Again, serene. Reasonably priced, especially with the current 'couples massage' special...and well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OverPackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A number of us took seperate rooms at the Cottage Inn. Each was decorated differently and had various design features. Ours had a fireplace and livingroom,microwave and sm. refrigerator; a seperate bedroom and full bath with a small private patio. We welcomed in the New Year with the owner and relished the peace and quiet of the location. Very well run, clean and with glamore. One of our best stays anywhere.

Room Tip: Since all the rooms are different check out their web page before booking to review all their offeri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarIam2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to Sonoma to visit wine country for the first time on our honeymoon. We loved our stay at Cottage Inn & Spa. Paula, Gloria and the rest of the staff were absolutely wonderful people and truly showed us great hospitality. When we arrived they had already warmed up our room for us as it was pretty chilly when we got there. We enjoyed the daily delivery of fresh baked goods and having our own private breakfast each day without the added expense. The Chapel Room was great - very relaxing tub and comfy bed. Our honeymoon stay was over Valentines day and I enjoyed a Cocoa Butter spa treatment with Gloria - never felt so relaxed during a spa treatment/massage. While I was enjoying the spa treatment, Paula set up a rose petal heart, red roses in a vase and chilled bottle of champagne with two Valentines champagne glasses for my new husband and I. We felt so special and well taken care of. The staff was very good about making recommendations during their busy day of where we should eat, shop, etc...and we found their suggestions were spot on.
The courtyard area is wonderful with a heated floor, soothing water fountain and rock fire on top to keep you warm and cozy, even during the colder winter months. We loved the special touches like the quotes included in our breakfast each day, the selection of novels and movies in the room, and most of all the privacy. We barely heard neighbors once during our 4 day stay, only because they were using the blow dryer and we had no heater or fans running in our room at the time. We truly enjoyed our stay at the inn and will absolutely recommend to our friends, family and we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chapel Room and would highly recommend it. I did not see the other rooms, but I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The quality of the room, the food provided from the beginning and basket of fresh baked goods hanging outside the door in the morning, the beautiful courtyard, the complete pass to all local wine tasting, and above all else - the wonderful staff who not only make you feel instantly welcome and relaxed - but are immediately helpful with any question. The net effect is complete relaxation and enjoyment - so relaxed that when we woke up in the morning, late for us, and had breakfast, we found ourselves napping again, which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here after a cruise docking in San Francisco...drove up for a couple of days prior to flight home. Owner Fay was very welcoming, room was comfortable and clean....tv was very small (especially for super bowl) and far from bed. Breakfast was plentiful and the fresh pastries at ones door a really nice touch. Best of all of was location...quiet street to stroll into town! Close to good restaurants, shops and free wine tastings.
We were even treated to fresh bake goods on the morning of our early checkout at 5:30 am!
( a much needed surprise for the drive back to the airport)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.1 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
An Inn 2 Remember
An Inn 2 Remember
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
546 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn & Spa

Address: 310 1st St E, Sonoma, CA 95476-5705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: £172 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A block from Sonoma’s quaint town square, step into The Cottage Inn &Spa and be transformed by its peaceful courtyards and award-winning Mediterranean architecture. Luxury private suites feature cathedral ceilings, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and king beds. A Zen Garden Spa offers therapeutic couples massage treatments in a calming atmosphere. Complimentary wine tasting passes to many Sonoma Valley wineries, WIFI and health club privileges are included. Experience romance and relaxation in one of the most charming areas of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Inn And Spa
The Cottage Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing