We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramekins Culinary School & Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Hotel(Sonoma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen(Sonoma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Hotel(Sonoma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ledson Hotel(Sonoma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
20
11
0
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
11
0
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking schoolgreat wedding venuegreat amenitiesappetizerspinotfireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We are newlyweds and decided to try a bed and breakfast for a romantic getaway. The hotel was an average 3 star type of hotel, a disappointment for us, as we expected a 4 star for the price 225/night. The BB advertises a continental breakfast each morning which is more like free coffee and snack. They had 1 small fruit tray, 6 bite size multigrain muffins, 6 mini scones, minipitcher oj, coffee, and milk setup in a common area next to the elevator, this was for guests in 6 rooms. Our room was as small as a hotel room, however we did enjoy the balcony and were ecstatic that this BB has a private bathroom with each room. Being that the BB is in Sonoma I expected a great view, but not at this BB, our room advertises a garden view, but we actually could see the parking lot, a courtyard entrance and the balcony next door. I did not see a vineyard remotely close to the BB. From the kitchen we could see construction on a small empty lot. Be aware that the walls are paper thin and we were able to hear the tv on the news channel to the right and the entire conversation that one couple had to the left. We did take advantage of the culinary school on site and enjoyed the class. The classes are a bit pricey but I would say worth it considering you taste eveything cooked and we were served champagne and wine. We had a great time as we always do together but would not stay here again, there are better places to stay with better views and larger rooms for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

There are only 6 rooms at this lovely B&B above a cooking school, and they are all beautiful and designer-quality decorated. A real plus is the elevator (rare in B&Bs). There is a kitchen area for all to share in a morning continental breakfast, or to use the frig. to store anything. Wine glasses, dishes, and silverware are there too if you want to enjoy your wine and cheese purchases in your room, or your balcony (in 2 of the rooms) after a day of visiting wineries. Several of the other guests were repeat customers - once they found Ramekins they never stay anywhere else in the Sonoma Valley. There is only someone at the front desk until 6 PM, so you need to ask her any questions before she leaves (although she is a resident at the Inn in case of emergencies). They have a map of the Sonoma Square with locations of restaurants and phone numbers. They also have a book with menus for all to peruse. We ate at the General's Daughter, which is next door, and had an excellent meal. We had two rooms at Ramekins and absolutely LOVED this place.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

My husband and I stayed at Ramekins August 2006 and had a great experience. We stayed in room #1 and it was very comfortable and spacious! The inn was very quiet and the breakfast was nice and so convenient right down the hall. We did not have time for a cooking class... next time! The best part was being able to walk (4-5 blocks) to the Sonoma main square with great restaurants, etc.!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CattleDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

What a pleasant surprise our stay at Ramekins Bed and Breakfast was. It served as a good base for our Wine Country encounter August 20 – 23, 2006. Marilyn, the onsite manager, assisted us with determining the best of the valley as we only had two short days to explore this special part of California. Our stay included a complimentary wine tasting card for 22 wineries and stores that offer wine tasting. A good value when you are often charged $5.00 per tasting at the wineries.

The accommodations are pleasant and tastefully decorated in a Tuscan Country style. Since there are only six rooms and the inn is on a residential street not far from town’s square, you are both in a quiet but accessible section of town to where all is available to you. Breakfast is each morning and also included in your stay. We fell in love with the house granola and are hoping that the chef will part with the recipe!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovehawaiiansunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2005

A friend of mine and I spent a night at the B&B and attended one of Ramekin's cooking demo classes. The entire experience was wonderful. The room we had was huge with two comfortable twin beds (not an easy thing to find, we discovered, if you are doing a girl's getaway trip). The cooking demo was amazing - the local celebrity chef had a great rapport with the audience, and the witty owner of a local vineyard (Ravenswood) provided explanations of the wine during the pairings. He even pulled out an '84 reserve from his cellars to share with us. One note of caution, they give you a LOT of wine to drink at these. Four glasses of wine and a cup of port later, we were very happy that we didn't have to drive anywhere! If you enjoy cooking, I HIGHLY recommend this. Even if the person with whom you are travelling doesn't cook, the evening is entertaining enough for everyone to have a good time.

Stayed: September 2005
7  Thank Phinneywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews