We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schellville Grill

Schellville Grill
Ranked #39 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“cute place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stopped in for lunch on Monday. My only disappointment is they had run out of fish and chips. So I tried the veggie burger. It was good and I left satisfied. Would go back and try the fish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    14
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Absolutely terrific barbeque restaurant. Casual, lovely patio, right off the highway near the town of Sonoma. The owner is VERY serious about his barbeque, his meat (organic), his home-made herb rubs (also for sale), and taking good care of his customers. We were there for lunch on a Monday (during the week, only open till 2:00). We ate on the patio. Beautiful and quiet and sooo good. Had the tritip barbeque sandwich and delicious onion rings. Wish I could go back and try the chicken, pulled pork, prochetta and chicken. Bought some of the rubs, but am sure it won't be as good. This is a place not to be missed. Also, seems that they sell from a stand in the parking lot on the weekends when business is booming.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susanb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BBQ Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very informal location on the south side of Sonoma with really good smoked BBQ and burgers. Local beers on tap and wine as well. Indoor and outdoor seating and a very friendly staff. Service was a bit slow due to wait staff receiving OJT, but they tried hard. Reasonably priced.
Looking forward to their new Austin, TX location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deano65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Barbeque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you have spent any time in wine country, then you know many of the restaurants are nothing short of Over-Rated. Before you dismiss me as a fake, hear me out. My wife and I spent last August on a BBQ crawl. We visited Texas,Oklahoma,Tennessee,Arkansas,Missouri, you get the picture. While nobody does everything great, most do at least one item that will blow your socks off. At Schellville, that item is the Tri-Tip Sandy. I had a great conversation with Chef Matthew about his methods and the meat he uses. He is serious about BBQ and so am I.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Simple and good.
Relaxed back deck.
Food selection was limited but very good.
Service/ staff were Super nice. Good beers on tap.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PabloLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schellville Grill also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Schellville Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing