We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonoma retreat”
Review of Sonoma Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoma Chalet
Ranked #5 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sonoma retreat”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights in this rustic (Indian Room) B&B, feeling transported to a simpler, less complicated time. Joe made us feel at home, and the very nearby (short walk, much through a lovely park) town center of Sonoma completed the sense that we had entered a time warp and emerged in the 1960s -- but with better restaurants and finer wines. Breakfasts thankfully included a delicious croissant, which I preferred to have rather than the sweeter pastries offered. Breakfast fresh fruit was also quite good, as were each day's hard-boiled eggs. We would gladly return for the total experience of this place and this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here and it was perfectly located. Joe's land seems like you are in the country but it is 5 minutes from the Plaza. The room was large and Joe was a perfect host. We stayed in one of the rooms and it was delightful.

The fruit at breakfast was always so delicious. Wish the pastries could have been less commercial. But truly an excellent B&B and we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Sonoma Chalet is a lovely, quirky B&B located close enough to the plaza to be convenient, yet far enough away to give a sense of seclusion and some pretty views of nature. We arrived during the recent heat wave (it was 113!) and I was a bit concerned about the temperature of the upstairs Indian Room. Thankfully, Joe was thoughtful and put on the air conditioner before our arrival so the room was comfortable. The room had a cute small balcony attached where we were able to relax with some wine once the sun started to go down.

Breakfast on the patio in the mornings was beautiful, and delicious (fresh fruit and a selection of local pastries, in addition to the standard cereal & fruit options). Compared with the cost of other hotels and B&Bs in the area, this place is a fantastic deal. Clean, nice setting, great breakfast, and Joe was a terrific! The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is the spotty internet connection and had to ask for the password (I really like when there's an info card of some sort in the room telling you basics like internet password and breakfast times). Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kell821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very personal and friendly Service.
Cottages are well designed and pretty romantic.
Perfect for a Long Weekend.
Very nice breakfast.
Tranquil place with very nice views, Only 5 minutes drive away from sonoma downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustinoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had friend visiting from overseas, decide to take them to Sonoma, so glad we book Sara's cottage in this charming B&B, I grow up in the city, so I'm appreciated any nature surrounding, you feel like you away from the city but its only less than 5 mins drive to the downtown area!
The owner Joe is such a nice friendly man, you don't feel like you rent his property, it's very casual way to stay there, he trust you and not so many "rules" to apply! And the breakfast he prepares with warm thoughts!
It's not a place for you if you prefer 5 stars hotel, but you gonna fall in love here if you need a quite place and away from the city!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage will be better choice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is the kind of B&B accommodation I often struggle to find in the US: simple, charming, great location (in this case surrounded by meadows and wildlife, but still near the town), and with character. We really loved our one night stay in the Farm Suite and wished it could have been three. This place is perhaps not for those seeking the latest modern conveniences (although this isn't to say it is shabby), but is a great choice if you're looking for a romantic spot to explore Sonoma. The host was also very welcoming and knowledgable, and we enjoyed a lovely (and relatively healthy - except for the pastries!) breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

At first, I missed the luxuries of a Marriott Resort but then I appreciated the peaceful surroundings. We stayed at Sara's Cottage and grew to appreciate the antiques as it gave you the feel of being at a family relatives cottage house. In one review, I read that one individual thought it odd that no one was here to greet him upon arrival. At first, I thought it was odd too but then you begin to understand that this is what adds to the charm...as it is very casual and serene. We enjoyed breakfast, meeting Ruth and relaxing at this laid back B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturelover5940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.0 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
An Inn 2 Remember
An Inn 2 Remember
#2 of 11 in Sonoma
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Chalet

Property: Sonoma Chalet
Address: 18935 5th St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-5610
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-style farmhouse and country cottages in Sonoma Valley's Wine Country. Three cottages and four rooms with fireplace or wood stove, decorated with antiques, quilts and collectibles. Situated on three acres just blocks from Sonoma's Historic Square. Continental breakfast served on the deck overlooking a 200 acre ranch or in the privacy of your own cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoma Chalet Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing