We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”
Review of Sonoma Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonoma Chalet
Ranked #7 of 11 Sonoma B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Allpine, CA
27
Reviewed 6 February 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Sonoma Chalet last September and we wanted to share our wonderful find. We stayed in the Farmview Suite, which is upstairs and is filled with antiques. We left all our windows open all evening and never slept so good! We usually stay in B&B's and this was the most quiet inn we have ever stayed in. The chalet is tucked up against a quiet hillside, next to a pasture but still within a few blocks of downtown Sonoma. I loved watching the deer in the yard every evening. We ate our breakfast on the patio facing the hillside pasture every morning. The room was kept spotless and the host and his helpers were so friendly. We stayed the balance of our vacation in Napa, but on future trips to the wine country we will stay at the Sonoma Chalet, it was more affordable and way more quiet than our usual Napa B&B.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2005

This was a nice spot considering the prices in Sonoma. I would stay here again but it's because of the other prices in Sonoma. The decorating was described to me by a friend as rather "tired" but hey, the bed was very comfortable, pillows very nice and the bathroom roomy. Breakfast - continental but the fruit was fresh and delicious and the coffee very good.

We had a great time in Sonoma!

5  Thank korybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2005

I was hesitant about this place because of the strange looking pictures on their website, but we had a great night in the Farmview Suite. The chalet has a couple cottages for rent as well as some rooms. The Farmview Suite is a very large room that has a full/queen bed, fireplace, couch, and small bathroom. We paid $150 for one night (asked if they could waive the two night minimum). The furniture is old, but in a good way, I guess. It doesn't look cheap or tacky (any more than any other b/b). Breakfast consisted of mostly continental stuff, but tasty and served with a smile. I would recommend this place. It's also centrally located, which was nice.
We ate at Girl and Fig, food was good, service was horrible. Probably depends on the server. I'd recommend the food though.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jgogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2005

We stayed at the Sonoma Chalet on our honeymoon. A B&B in Sonoma. They have several choices of rooms

We stayed in the 600 sq ft Sara's Cottage. Set among the eucalyptus trees, it looks like the Beverly Hillbilly's (before "moving to Beverly") on the outside.

On the inside it's all red western cedar, stunning shabby chic furnishings, oriental rugs. (The sofa is shot and most of the other furniture is too-part of the shabby chic appeal--it is clean though.) A/C is an old window model--Throw me back! There is an old wood burning stove.

We are seasoned travelers--(200,000 air miles some years) and we have never found a better European style featherbed anywhere. It was awesome. You will not want to leave this bed!

Bathroom is an old style. There is a Clawfoot tub. Great for soaking! Be careful if you choose to shower--the base of the tub is narrow and makes footing challenging when it's soapy! Kinda cool to shampoo your hair while looking out the window to see General Valejo's Ranch (now a state park).

Although you are in Sonoma it feels like you are way out in the country.
Sit on the plank front or side porch, have a bottle of wine, watch as darkness comes, so do the deer!

Very convenient location westside City of Sonoma location, just steps to the bikeway, adjoins Gen. Valejo's Ranch (state park with open fields) very private and quiet. We have stayed in four different locations in Sonoma, this is our favorite!

16  Thank DublinGemologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajaWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le bungalow Leslie, un peu cher, est très agréable, spacieux, doté d'une petite cuisine, d'u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zurma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.1 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.3 mi away
Sonoma Creek Inn
Sonoma Creek Inn
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Bear Creekside Inn
0.8 mi away
The Cottage Inn & Spa
The Cottage Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Sonoma
801 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Oak Inn
Hidden Oak Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Chalet

Address: 18935 5th St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-5610
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sonoma
Price Range: £90 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-style farmhouse and country cottages in Sonoma Valley's Wine Country. Three cottages and four rooms with fireplace or wood stove, decorated with antiques, quilts and collectibles. Situated on three acres just blocks from Sonoma's Historic Square. Continental breakfast served on the deck overlooking a 200 acre ranch or in the privacy of your own cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonoma Chalet Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing