We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, informative, great wine”

Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Ranked #9 of 101 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As the oldest family-owned winery in California, we specialize in making distinctive estate-grown wines and sharing them and our property in a warm, fun, unpretentious manner.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun, informative, great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Cave tour was excellent, comfortable small group, entertaining, experienced guide, lovely casual grounds, pretty picnic area - we learned GunBun is the oldest winery in Sonoma remaining in original family ownership --- Go!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    67
    29
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go on the vineyard tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I specifically put Gundlach Bundschu on our Sonoma itinerary because of the vineyard tour - I was looking for something more than just another wine tasting, and that is exactly what you get. There is a lot of history to this place and real "family-owned" pride. Our guide was Rob Bundschu, who took a group of us out in the vineyard in a safari-like vehicle. We learned a lot about the grape growing & harvesting process and Gundlach Bundschu is particularly interesting in this respect because they grow more different types of grapes than your average place of its size. I honestly wasn't blown away by the wine itself (though my husband enjoyed it - different tastes!), but the experience was really something to remember.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the GunBun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A visit to this long-time family-owned winery is a must. Their wines are some of the best and after my first tasting at the winery five years ago, I joined the Club. Twice a year I look forward to receiving shipments of delicious reds. Many of my friends have since visited and have joined the Club. Try a bottle of the cab or cab franc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beefboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A unique twist on wine country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Toured here with a group (about 20-30 people) and it was soooo fun! I'm not sure if it was because there was so many of us but we had the whole place to ourselves! I had previously been to Napa (the dark side lol) and it's just a very different vibe. Classic and informational but still with a twist! We went on the trivia tour which was awesome! Staff is extremely fun and easy going! This is the place to ask questions if you have them! There are a lot of other unique tours offered and I hope to go back soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank IllySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

There are many wineries to visit in Sonoma and unless you have an unlimited amount of time, you can't see them all. This winery has it all. Great wine to sample, great chocolate in the tasting room in a comfortable setting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gundlach Bundschu Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gundlach Bundschu Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing