We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tito made it a great experience!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gundlach Bundschu Winery

Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Ranked #9 of 99 things to do in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As the oldest family-owned winery in California, we specialize in making distinctive estate-grown wines and sharing them and our property in a warm, fun, unpretentious manner.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tito made it a great experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first winery stop in Sonoma and our favorite for sure! From it's beauty, to the fabulous wines, to the great attention we received from Tito! It was top notch, informative and fun all at the same time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DosLozanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    65
    27
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You have to pay for service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a winery passport, so the tasting at Gundlach Bundshu was free. But that meant the staff didn't really care about us. They were engaged in conversations with the other patrons, and answered questions, but we didn't get much help. Most wineries have some information on the history, but we couldn't find any, so we wanted to ask questions. No such luck. The grounds are beautiful and they have a nice picnic area. The wines are indeed very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place, great wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This winery is well located, closed to downtown Sonoma. The area is fabulous and their wines are the best my sister and I tasted during our two weeks trip in California. The service is very good and you cannot leave without buying one of their bottle! Just learning how to pronounce the name of the winery Gun-Lock-Bun-Shoe render the experience memorable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecile633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
884 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,765 helpful votes
“Fun Place Even In The Rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The day we went to Gundlach Bundschu it was raining! Everything was fresh and green around the winery and the mustard was in full bloom in the vineyards. We had been here before and really enjoyed the high quality of wines. We tasted 6 different wines and enjoyed them all. The Zinfadel was especially nice here and our server was very informative about the wines we tasted.

When it is not raining, this is the perfect winery for a picnic as there are several tables set out around the winery and also a couple of Adirondack chairs in front of the lake there. :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon
Level Contributor
257 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the hills of Sonoma!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This winery has a 155 year history and was fun to locate along lovely old roads and by ways of Sonoma on a really beautiful piece of property. I was surprised to find it! Their wines are EXCELLENT and my favorites were the Pinot Noir and Cabernet Franc. Perfect couple outing. Romantic, bring a picnic. There is a cave tour and barrel tasting Thurs.-Mon. @ 2:30 p.m. for $20 a person. WELL worth it (reservations needed) I had a heck of a time figuring out HOW to pronounce this place, then the server handed me the brochure which showed a gun/lock/bun and shoe = Gun-lock-bun-shoe = Gundlach Bundschu! How fun is that? The winery is lovely. Great history and still owned by the family that started it. Their Merlot is ALSO very, very good.
I could have spent far longer there, but was limited. Just a lovely, scenic part of Sonoma to the east.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gundlach Bundschu Winery also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gundlach Bundschu Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing