We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, average hotel”
Review of Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonoma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good price, average hotel”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Pros:
-Location - location of the hotel was great - you're right off the square in downtown Sonoma and can walk to restaurants, shops, wine tastings, etc.
-Price - we originally booked it because of the location and wanting to be in downtown Sonoma and finding a hotel that was under $300 (I think we booked for $250 for a Friday night).
-Room - size of room was good - pretty generous room and a good size bathroom. Also, for as old of a place as it was, it was pretty clean - didn't feel too dingy.
-Breakfast - not a ton of options, but you get the restaurant to yourself and you can have coffee/tea/juice and food includes cereal, yogurt+granola, bagels or toast, fresh fruit.

Cons:
-Noise - you get warned when you book a room and when you check in that there will be noise as you're situated above a bar/restaurant. So can't complain as I was fully warned. The noise level was pretty loud (banging of pots/pans and talking) until late at night, but was able to fall asleep despite the noise. And the noise began again in the kitchen around 7am on Saturday morning - not too bad, but got a little worse around 8am. I think it we went to Sonoma in the summer, I definitely would not stay here as people might be out later b/c of the warm weather. Also, I would more likely consider staying here during the week instead of a weekend.
-No elevator - didn't both me, but just warning you if you're older or have a big suitcase.
-Parking - no dedicated hotel parking, just spaces out front which are 2 hours limits from about 9am-5pm (free), although I think there's another lot somewhere not too far if you want to park during 9-5 for longer than 2 hours. It worked for us as we parked around 5pm, and left before 11am the following morning.
-No internet - was a little surprised that they didn't have wireless.

Not sure if I'd stay here again - I think if the price was right, maybe, but next time, I might be willing to spend a little more if it got me a nicer (and quieter) place. But not bad given the options.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    42
    7
    0
    9
See reviews for
11
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Me and Hubby stumbled across this lovely old hotel with outside tables with candles where we sat down for an hour with a glass of wine. Friendly staff, very interesting decor which tells you about the history of the hotel, we enjoyed our pit stop immensely and would love to go back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We booked a one night stay after a day of wine tasting so we could enjoy the Sonoma square and extend our wonderful day in the wine country. We loved the room! The noise of the bar only lasted a bit and died down about 11pm. We'll be back for sure. Also loved the restaurant and brought dessert back to the room.

Room Tip: Room #4 is the best with a sun room however it's right over the bar, so be prepared for a late n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbhigbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We didn't stay at the Swiss hotel, but we had an excellent dinner there. We sat in the shady patio in the back, and though it was rather crowded the service was friendly and quick.
We liked the Italian dishes and enjoyed the lovely wines.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the hotel was great! It had a very homey feel to it, very simple and cozy. I was just traveling with two other friends, but it would be a great spot for a couples getaway, too. Definitely would go back!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated, right on the main square in Sonoma. Parking is easy, just out the back. We had a bed so large that I needed to use the steps up to it and direct access to the balcony overlooking the square. The room had a fridge, lounge area and large bathroom.

Staying right on the square and sleeping directly above a bar can be noisy. The bar quietens down not long after ten so not a problem, but the garbage trucks came round rather earlier than I would have liked.

Breakfast was fine (toast, muffins, bananas, coffee, bagels) but a little simpler than I would have expected. The kitchen effort seems to be focussed on the evening restaurant. Much of dinner takes place in the walled, heated, fairy light filled garden and I highly recommend eating here.

Expect the usual benefits and drawbacks of an old place, lots of soft towels ad hot water, some history, plenty of charm and a little eccentricity.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room upgrade and bagging the room at the front with the lounge un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a contrast to our stay at Sonoma Inn last December, where we felt as if we were staying wit a stingy old aunt in her dusty spare room, and who didn't really want us around! At the Swiss Hotel, we got a queen "room" that amounted to a suite, and everything was just fine -- fresh, well appointed and thought-out, and welcoming. We had met the owner in December, and it was his personality that made us want to give this five-room hotel a try. The next morning we were talking about his caring attention to his guests' needs with one of his receptionists, and she said, "You couldn't have a better friend than Hank." What a recommendation!

Then, dinner! God, they must have stolen their chef from one of those fancy restaurants in Yountville! Try the Rosemary Chicken, probably the best prepared I've encountered in years. Excellent service -- a well-paced, a splendid experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.9 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 18 W Spain St, The Plaza, Sonoma, CA 95476-5601
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing