We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Harvest Moon Cafe

Harvest Moon Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest Moon Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 124 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Napa Street
Description: We are a small family run business on Sonoma's square. We have seasonal patio seating as well as a cozy dining room.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate here based on a recommendation from a local. We were very impressed, and we don't impress easily. Doesn't look like much, in fact you'd easily walk right by - don't. They have a very talented chef and the food quality was outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    114
    51
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at a Rock Concert”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Finding the Harvest Moon Cafe is a challenge in spite of its location across from the square in Sonoma. Our reservation was honored. We were seated next to a table of about 20 who proceeded to get drunker and drunker and noiser and nosier ... rising, finally, to the db level of a rock concert. Very disconcerting.

I usually don't order steak, but did. It was excellent. Other ordered fish. All were quite pleased with the food.

The service was slow. The restaurant seemed to be lacking one or two servers.

Worth a visit if you are not in a hurry and have a high tolerance to noise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We read really good reviews before making a reservation for dinner. We sat outside and the ambiance was really nice out in the back. It seemed a bit stuffy inside so we were glad we were not in there. A few of the wait staff were super nice but our own server didn't get to our table in a reasonable amount of time. Another server took our order instead, and proceeded to serve us throughout the evening. She was nice enough, but not overly attentive or pleasant. When I had finished my glass of wine, she took my glass but did not ask me if I wanted another glass, which was odd. The menu was very small. There were not many choices for dinner. Our appetizers were good, but I ordered fish for dinner and the dish was very salty....too salty for me to eat, actually. My boyfriend's ribeye steak was alright, but nothing to write home about. Based on the reviews, we were expecting a better dinner, and honestly, were somewhat disappointed. Maybe it was just an off night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Niman Ranch Ribeye was outstanding”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The difference between a cook and a chef is the ability to take any dish and create subtle but distinctive flavors that make it special. This restaurant has a great chef. The Ribeye in particular was outstanding and save room for the Cherry-Chocolate upside down cake. Only con was a rather high $18. Corkage fee but at least they let you bring in a bottle from a day at the wineries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rusty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“again..”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

once again we had to go back to Harvest Moon and have the steak and Pinot Noir wine. Had the wine at servers suggestion and WOW....the perfect paring.
These folks are the best.....thank you Nick and Jen

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest Moon Cafe also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Harvest Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing