We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Harvest Moon Cafe

Harvest Moon Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest Moon Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Napa Street
Description: We are a small family run business on Sonoma's square. We have seasonal patio seating as well as a cozy dining room.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Based on a recommendation from a local we made reservations to eat the Harvest Moon, however the local let us know you have to sit on the patio for the best experience. The inside seating was wide open however the patio was full so there was no opportunity for early seating. once seated in what felt like a comfortable backyard setting under a few strings of lights we enjoyed a great meal and ambience. Even with the full house we never felt like it was crowded, as the service and staff were outstanding. Our favorites were the Broadway Farms Tomatoes and Cucumbers app and the Grilled Niman Ranch Rib Eye.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    113
    49
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Missed!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our Dinner was excellent, except for one big disappointment.

My Wife ordered the Southern California Red Snapper. It had a strong Fish Smell.

Bread, Salad and other items were excellent.

We sat outside, which was special.

Service was Friendly and Efficient.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 264Raymond264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate here based on a recommendation from a local. We were very impressed, and we don't impress easily. Doesn't look like much, in fact you'd easily walk right by - don't. They have a very talented chef and the food quality was outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at a Rock Concert”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Finding the Harvest Moon Cafe is a challenge in spite of its location across from the square in Sonoma. Our reservation was honored. We were seated next to a table of about 20 who proceeded to get drunker and drunker and noiser and nosier ... rising, finally, to the db level of a rock concert. Very disconcerting.

I usually don't order steak, but did. It was excellent. Other ordered fish. All were quite pleased with the food.

The service was slow. The restaurant seemed to be lacking one or two servers.

Worth a visit if you are not in a hurry and have a high tolerance to noise.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We read really good reviews before making a reservation for dinner. We sat outside and the ambiance was really nice out in the back. It seemed a bit stuffy inside so we were glad we were not in there. A few of the wait staff were super nice but our own server didn't get to our table in a reasonable amount of time. Another server took our order instead, and proceeded to serve us throughout the evening. She was nice enough, but not overly attentive or pleasant. When I had finished my glass of wine, she took my glass but did not ask me if I wanted another glass, which was odd. The menu was very small. There were not many choices for dinner. Our appetizers were good, but I ordered fish for dinner and the dish was very salty....too salty for me to eat, actually. My boyfriend's ribeye steak was alright, but nothing to write home about. Based on the reviews, we were expecting a better dinner, and honestly, were somewhat disappointed. Maybe it was just an off night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest Moon Cafe also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Harvest Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing