We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine country as it should be”
Review of Robert Hunter Winery - CLOSED

Robert Hunter Winery
Attraction details
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wine country as it should be”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We randomly received a recommendation to visit Robert Hunter and it turned out to be the highlight of the trip. Kurt gave a highly entertaining tour while regaling us with stories if his life and life in the wine business. The wines were delicious and the setting made everything taste even better. If you can secure a tour, you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smaller is better!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We recently visited Sonoma/Russian River Valley. A private tour of Robert Hunter Winery was arranged for us first thing Saturday morning. We enjoyed a tour of the beautiful grounds, the history of the winery given by Kirk and the tasting of four wonderful wines, in the comfort of a living room setting. Definitely the best tour of the trip. We joined their wine club and expect to travel back here from the east coast for a member party in June!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My daughter and I visited the Robert Hunter Winery on October 25, 2012 and enjoyed ever moment. Kirk was great in giving the history of the winery, giving us background information about the wines made at the winery and telling us all about the beautiful gardens of the winery. It was relaxing and we were actually in Mr. Hunter's home during the wine tasting. This is one of the best places to visit in Sonoma and another reason why I will visit again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Netta996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best winery we visited”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Not the traditional vineyard at all. You will visit the beautifully kept home of Robert Hunter and enjoy a relaxing tasting along with a discussion about the life of Robert Hunter and the previous owners of the property. Kirk took us around and it is the only truly memorable vineyard we visited.

Add to that the quality of the wine- phenomenal. We left with a case and are excited to share with family on Thanksgiving.

You won't regret going.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tour and tasting in Sonoma”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Out of our whole stay in Sonoma, the tour of the Robert Hunter vineyards and wine tasting was our favorite. We booked our tour just a day in advance, and ended up being the only two in our tour group which made it even more personal -- as if tasting in the Hunters' private home wasn't personal enough.

We enjoyed the perfectly manicured gardens and the pretty views over the vineyard before heading inside to taste the wine selections. Kurt was a great host and spent almost 2 hours over a number of amazing wines with the two of us.

I'd highly recommend visiting Robert Hunter for both the gardens and the wines. Make sure to plan ahead since reservations are required.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewsbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert Hunter Winery also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing