We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss a Tasting at this Vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Robert Hunter Winery - CLOSED

Robert Hunter Winery
Attraction details
Gray, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss a Tasting at this Vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

One of the vineyards we visited during our honeymoon in 2012 - stunning gardens, great views, casual atmosphere and some of the best Pinot and Brut de Noir in the valley. This isn't just a tasting - it's an experience and event and we highly recommend calling ahead to schedule a tasting. Excellent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 576joeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
319 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“This tour is unlike any other winery tour in Sonoma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

By appointment only. $25 advance to hold a spot. A very intimate tour of the Robert Hunter property on Arnold Drive, a few minutes from Sonoma on the way to Glen Ellen. I say "property" because I never saw the winery or winemaking operation itself. Instead, we met and walked through the garden, behind the Hunter home, on a bluff overlooking the vineyard, learning about the plants. We then headed to the pool area before ending up on the patio for wine tasting. It's a beautiful setting. There were 8 guests and our guide Kirk. We tasted four wines - a champagne, Chardonnay, Pinot and red blend. All were good, especially the first 3. The pours were generous. Kirk regaled the guests with various stories. Perhaps a bit self-promoting but mostly all in good fun. It was a very casual and intimate experience and nice way to meet fellow travelers. I ordered
some wine and may join the wine club.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

the gardens are amazing the views are wonderful and the wines are Splendid, if you like wines in the French style then this is the place for you to visit. You feel like you are strolling thru a friends garden then partaking of wine on their patio. The Champagne is one of my favorites in the Valley, served very chilled while enjoying the company is quite a treat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Gardens, great wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Really liked this vineyard and the historic perspective from the guide/business manager. A very intimate experience, with the widow of the late Robert Hunter stopping in to say hello during our tour. The gardens are historic and the plants are carefully curated from the mistress of the house's private plant collection. Was on the expensive side for tasting, with $25 tour/tasting fee which was not waived with the purchase of several bottles, but the pours were certainly on the larger side during the tasting. Be prompt; Kurt called us when we were turning onto the drive at exactly the time of our appointed tour (we were there within 4 minutes of our start time at 10 am). He told us he would have begun the tour without us had anyone else been present for the tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stop to this small producer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Made an appointment based on past reviews. Great stop! Kurt was a gracious host and took his time to explain the history of the vineyard and the landscaping around the house. Also great chards and sparkling wines. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doverho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert Hunter Winery also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing