We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a great place to stay in Sonoma. The rooms are nice sized, clean, and comfortable. The location is perfect for access to the square and everything in Sonoma. No need to spend a fortune to sleep in sonoma. Very sweet location and great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divecxak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

We just got back from 3 nights at the BW. We had a deluxe king with a garden view. The room was very dark having nothing to do with burned out lights which were fixed promptly . There is a very large heating/air conditioning unit which is incredibly noisy when turned on. The shower has a shampoo/gel dispenser. However I didn't find out that both were empty until I and my hair were thoroughly wet. I later learned they are always empty---so BW, remove the dispenser. The breakfast is unremarkable but made less appealing by the very large charmless room in which it is served. The location is wonderful for walking to the plaza for wine, dinner (do your restaurant research well in advance so you can make reservations----our favorites are The Girl and the Fig and Cafe le Haye). The young women at the front desk were absolutely lovely. But this is probably our last stay at the BW.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank nanmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 December 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for posting your review and providing us your feedback. We take this information very seriously, and will use it to improve our services. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel location and our Complimentary Breakfast, and would like to let you know that we are looking forward to some upcoming changes in the first quarter of 2012 such as new and more modern Breakfast Room nearby the Front Desk location. I hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may have another chance to provide you with a more a pleasurable experience.

If I can provide any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will do my best to assist you.

Sincerely,

Lila Beck
Acting General Manager
Best Western Plus
Sonoma Valley Inn
707.938.9200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

What a treat to check in to this Inn! Creative with the layout, the room we had was spectacular at a very affordable price. It is close to the "old" district of town so we could walk everywhere and is across from a plaza that has a Whole Foods! Good job, Best Western!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 December 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for posting your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn.

We hope that your future travel plans include Sonoma and that we may have the opportunity to serve you again.


Kind regards,

Lila Beck
Acting General Manager
Sonoma Valley Inn
707.938.9200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had to wait more than a short time to check in at reception as the client before us had a lot of queries and room arrangements to sort out. The gentleman on reception apologized for the long delay and upgraded us to a suite to compensate. The suite was separate from the main complex i.e. swimming pool etc being located in a separate block; our room was on the second floor above the meeting rooms. A pleasant room with a large bathroom with a large hot tub with half doors above that opened onto the bedroom. The room had a small balcony which looked out onto the street; we didn’t have any noise issues.

Breakfast was laid out in one of these smaller meeting rooms, it was ok, a reasonable selection but a bit chaotic when it got busy.

Very convenient location for visiting the area, being within walking distance of the Sonoma Plaza with its many shops, restaurants, Mission San Francisco de Solano and the Californian State Military Museum. Many other attractions are within a short driving distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandrKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our room was clean and recently remodeled/redecorated. The staff was helpful with dining suggestions, and the hotel was within easy walking distance to wine tasting, eating, and shopping. The hot tub was pretty and clean, with the added bonus of extra towels available. We had a little trouble finding the front office as there was some construction (no noise, though), but once we did we had a great stay. I would stay here again, and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NNYgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

If you don't need much sparkle and are looking for a comfortable and convenient place to land in Sonoma, this could be the place you. Set in a very convenient location just a block from Sonoma Square, it puts you within a short walk to restaurants and shopping, yet far enough away from the crowds to give you some solitude.

Don't expect a grand welcome for the lobby area is a bit drab and unexciting, and we were not greeted with the ear-to-ear smiles or inspiring introduction we are accustomed to. There is a coffee counter near the registration desk, though powdered creamer is all that is offered which pretty much defines what you can expect throughout. No frills.

Although cozy, the style and amenities are simple at best. The rooms are clean but are a bit dated with a 90's Mission-style look. We stayed in a Junior Suite which is spacious and offers a living room area, oversized jacuzzi and fireplace with a complimentary Duraflame provided. The suites are in a separate building across the parking lot, through an iron gate to its own courtyard. It's more charming in this part of the property, but if you have any trouble climbing stairs, it would not be wise to stay in this building since all rooms are on an upper level without elevator access. You'll have to carry, or should I say pull (I pack heavy), your bags up a large flight of stairs, (but hey, you could consider this part of the trip a great workout if you don't have any back trouble, or a hotel you'll never forget if you do.)

Once inside, it's pretty simple. Older tile floors, standard carpet, and hotel-grade furniture. One small closet blocked by a nightstand kept us living out of our suitcases. The bathroom had great space and could be beautiful if redone. The tired-looking cabinetry, crooked, sink faucets (the levers pointed north, east, west and south) but most of all, plastic shampoo dispenser glued to the shower wall reminded me of something you would find in a cheap motel. NOTE TO MGR: I would suggest some Downy in the wash cycle since I felt as if I was getting a combo towel and loofah in one.

I must say, it was enjoyable to have our breakfast on our private balcony which faced the morning sun, but there is no view here. You're on a commercial street facing residential businesses. Breakfast was included in our rate and not tooooo disappointing since there were homemade Belgian waffles, but the rest was very ordinary with packaged oatmeal, high-sugar yogurts and boxed cereals. (Diabetics beware!) The plus is that there's a diner right across the street for a more extensive breakfast selection, along with a Whole Foods which is ideal for picking up some healthy snacks for the room or to prepare an assortment of cheese and crackers to take on the road for a day of wine tastings.

Although just average in style, service and amenities, it's clean and comfortable and could be more affordable compared to some of the other hotels in the area. Though I would take time to run a price comparison first.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainlandhulagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 October 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations and that you were not greeted with a warm and cheerful welcome. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for all guests in the future. We also welcome request and suggestions at the property level while guest are here and we are sorry if luggage assistance was not offered and that our half and half creamers were not displayed in a manner that was visual.
In our lobby area we offer freshly brewed Starbucks Coffee, and freshly brewed Ice tea with an assortment of both Half and Half and non dairy powdered creamer to satisfy all types of guest. We are happy that you enjoyed the fresh Belgian Waffles while you were with us and wanted to let you know that we are looking forward to some of the changes coming up in January in our Complimentary Breakfast Department such as a hot breakfast sandwich, and nonfat yogurts. I hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may have another chance to provide you with a more a pleasurable experience.

If I can provide any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will do my best to assist you.

Sincerely,

Lila Beck
Acting General Manager
Sonoma Valley Inn
707.938.9200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel is ideally situated for anyone wanting to explore Sonoma, the valley or even the whole of wine country. The pool is perfect to cool down on a hot Sonoma afternoon, and the hot tub is open until 10 to relax after a hard day's wine tasting. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and there's a great selection at breakfast. All in all, it's a good base for exploring the area-the only negative thing I could say is that maybe the rooms need a little TLC as it may be time for an update. In terms of restaurants, I would HIGHLY recommend the Girl and the Fig off the main square as this was the best meal we had on our whole 16 night California trip!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
205 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £86 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing