We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location - great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at BW Sonoma Valley. While the rooms are dated, the Inn has a overall feeling, location and price that are hard to beat. On the plus side, the rooms have fireplaces and the hotel leaves a quick-start log each night. On a cold night in December, this creates a lovely ambience for enjoying a glass of wine. The Inn also has a wonderful courtyard in the center with a heated pool and spa. Most rooms seem to have a view of the courtyard, with some also having a balcony.

The Inn recently (well since the last time I was there) started offering a free breakfast. This still needs some work. The breakfast is held in one of the meeting rooms at the Krug Center (a short walk from the main building) with too few large round tables and marginal food. On the second day, the mayhem in the room was so overwhelming that we opted to go across the street to the diner for breakfast.

The Inn is located about a block from the Sonoma Plaza, and all it's wonderful restaurants and tasting rooms. It's across the street from a shoping center with a nicely stocked Whole Foods Market for those who would like to put together a picnic. The Inn also rents bicycles, along with a suggested route, for those who want to wander a bit further sans car.

Overall, I'll definitely return to the BW Sonoma Valley Inn for the great location-price combination.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    433
    149
    52
    31
See reviews for
208
567
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

The setting was a little like an apartment complex, but in a pleasant way. Our room was clean and bright with a sliding door onto a patio area. Inside there was a fireplace with fuel already there for a nice cozy fire.

I liked the outdoor spa, which had good jets and sat right next to a steam room. The steam room doesn't get going until you turn the lights on and wind up the timer, which gives a perfect opportunity to take a little dip in the spa or pool.

We had a group rate, so the price was quite good. As the title indicates, the walk to the town square was only a block and a half. This place wasn't the most luxurious if you are there to pamper yourself, but the location is great and the rooms are more than adequate.

Room Tip: We had a handicap room, but the single level apartment like setting made all the rooms accessible an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloMe-oTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our room at the Best Western in Sonoma. Being just a couple of blocks from the town square, it is in a terrific location. While it is not as fancy as some of the other inns and hotels in the area, it is far less expensive and good value for the money. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a standard king with balcony and fireplace, and were happy to find that we had a seating area in the room as well. The only downside was the smell of smoke from the fireplace was overwhelming. Although we are not dog owners, some will be pleased to know that there are also some pet friendly rooms available.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevermindCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was our first time here and my wife and I were very pleasantly impressed.

While this is not a five star hotel it is, for the most part, a clean and pleasant place to stay at a very reasonable price.

We stayed in the back part of the property in one of the king suites with the jetted tub. The suite was very large and we enjoyed the stereo (don't forget to bring your own cd's). There aren't a lot of views from the deck but it is still nice.

The good;
Price/Location/Suite Size/The Bed

The bad;
Suite was located directly above the breakfast serving area and every time someone entered or exited the room you could hear the door slam.
We had mold along the ceiling in the water closet area.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Jack London Suite directly above the breakfast serving room. Choose one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a perfect hotel for a nice relaxed holiday. Rooms were awesome and spacious. Close to many restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank housunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay in Sonoma. The value was really good. Great location, really close to the town square, very nice to walk around town. Some good restaurants in the area. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The fireplace was a nice touch as was the morning breakfast delivered to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This place was awesome. We crammed 4 people into the room already on a really good deal and they were so accommodating. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I asked for extra towels - they sent up straight away. I wanted glasses for wine - they made it happen. The rooms were clean with a fireplace. They had a whole bunch of extras such as the spa and pool. Next to the spa was a cute fire pit that gave such a delicious smell. They had free coffee, tea and hot chocolate 24/7 and a free breakfast (with waffles and fruit) and tv with a great selection of film channels.
This place was a short walk to the center square and across the road from wholefoods. So we were in heaven. I personally think Sonoma is way better than Napa and i would recommend this for people that want some creature comforts dont need a big name with a lot of ritz.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findjoshgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing