We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2008

In July we did a three-week tour across Western US (Wyoming, Montana, Califoornia), and among the nine hotels we stayed in, the Sonoma Valley Inn was among the best. The room was very spacious for a family of four; it had all the amenities you need (fridge, coffee machine, etc.). The hotel had a nice courtyard in which we had breakfast and it is within a short walking distance from Sonoma plaza. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The price was a very good deal for a family of four.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeeTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2008

A friend recommended this hotel after hearing about its recent renovations. She couldn't have given me a better tip for helping me book an elegant, but budget-conscious hotel. Upon checking-in, we were escorted to a beautiful room with 2 queen beds. I had requested a King, informed the front desk, and was upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite because no King beds were available. For a budget hotel, it felt very close to staying at a luxury hotel. The landscaping is beautiful, it's in the heart of Sonoma, within walking distance to local restuarants, the Plaza, and the bike trail. Save your money for purchasing wines! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beeloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

I stayed here with my little dog. It was the best. The front desk knew the name of my dog and greeted us every day. The courtyard was wonderful. We were able to get food at Whole Foods across the street and eat outside with the dog. Everything we wanted we got promptly. Very nice place expecially with a dog. There was even an area in the back with grass and poop bags.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We've stayed at this hotel twice. It's certainly not fancy, but the inner courtyard/pool area is nice. Both times we've stayed in a ground floor room with direct access to that courtyard, which was much appreciated on our most recent stay during a heat wave. But the best part of the hotel is probably the location since it's within easy walking distance of downtown Sonoma's shops, restaurants, etc. We've also stayed at the nearby Inn at Sonoma-- a nicer hotel with a FAR better breakfast but no pool there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nenyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

This hotel needs a big freshening up, both in decor and management. We were in Sonoma for a wedding and a block of rooms were reserved in advance for wedding guests. We stayed at the hotel for four nights.

Once we had our reservations, our intitial contact with the front desk was by phone to try and find transportation from San Fransisco airport for some of the elderly wedding guests. The staff could not have been less helpful if they had tried, given that we subsequently learned that there was a door to door shuttle twice a day. Their indifference did not impress us. The hotel does not have an elevator (not their fault ) and when we asked if they could switch a room for one on the ground floor for our elderly friends, they were told that it would be an upgrade and a price increase. No effort was even made to help them get their bags to their room. We carried their bags and helped them up the stairs while the front desk staff stood and watched.

Our room was perfectly acceptable. It was clean, with decent amenities - the bed was very comfortable.

Housekeeping was as described in a previous review - not much - the bed was barely made each day - one day the pillows were put back on the bed, the next day they were on the couch when we came in. One day all the lights were turned on while we were out? The housekeeping staff were individually very pleasant, just badly trained.

The front desk staff as a whole were not friendly nor helpful in the least - with one exception; a lovely young lady named Kendall.

We did not use the pool area, but it looked very nice. There was a pool, sauna and a hot tub, and at night the was a patio fireplace with a fire.

Skip the less than appetizing room service breakfast and head over to The Hungry Bear across the street for a real breakfast.

The best thing about this place is the location; two blocks from the main square and the center of town where there were lots of fun restaurants and shops.

We would not recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I've done my fair share of traveling over the years, and this place had the worst housekeeping of any hotel that I've ever stayed in! They didn't change the sheets, just made the bed (there was no option like a card requesting "no sheet change" that I've seen in other hotels so they can save on water). I got toothpaste in the sink, which was not cleaned up; they didn't clean out the tub after my showers; and one or more towels/washcloths/bathmats were missing on a daily basis. I had to call down to the front desk after I got back to my room late one night and request the missing linens. Also, I had a light bulb burn out on the night table; I had to go to the front desk 2 days in a row to get it replaced. The Continental breakfast was just OK. Some people might like the fact that it's delivered to your room, but since they do it that way, you can't get anything hot like toast or waffles. Overall, it was a convenient place for me to stay, but I wouldn't highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smilepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Average hotel lodgings. Stayed in room with 2 queen beds on ground floor. Rooms were clean and well-kept.

However, certain staff members need to be retrained in customer service. There was a mixed-up with the breakfast order and when it was promptly brought to the staff member's attention, was abruptly told "I'm very busy now; I only deliver what my schedule says; and I'll get back to you when I done with my deliveries". Later, received call from same staff woman who insisted that she only delivered what was on her schedule despite the fact that an error had been made (on their part). Instead of acknowledging that possibility that the order had been recorded wrong and offering to immediately correct the problem in a pleasant manner, she bickered with me some more before reluctantly and unprofessionally agreeing to remedy the situation. Would probably not stay here again, and less likely to recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank SceneItAll_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £76 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing